We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$235
US$191
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donard Hotel(Newcastle)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherryhill Lodge(Newcastle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Sona House(Newcastle)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meelmore Lodge(Newcastle)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
155
9
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
9
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelpful tipslocal sitesexcellent hostsquiet streetslieve donardfamily holidaybreakfast was excellentfew minutes walkstayed nightstown centreenjoyed our stayulster fryfrancismournesmountainsaccommodationhouse
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Colm and Frances were excellent hosts. The Amble In was awesome, in a fantastic location on a very quiet street. The large clean room was excellent, breakfast made to order was a nice touch. Good centralized location for travelling around a very picturesque part of Northern Ireland. Our hosts helped us tremendously with their knowledge of what to see while we were there. Recommend the Amble In to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bmgray50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Manager at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your fantastic review, we are glad you enjoyed our company and your visit to Newcastle. We are glad you felt rejuvenated after your short stay the weather was just perfect for your few rounds of golf. We look forward to meeting you again and thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B for your accommodation while visiting Newcastle.
Kind regards Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We stayed at the Amble In several weeks ago, so apologies on being so late with the review. An absolutely fantastic little B&B set on a quiet street in Newcastle, a few hundred yards walk from the main street. Rooms were modern and exceptionally clean, with plenty of space, beautiful bathroom and very comfortable bed. Hosts Colm and Frances are really friendly and helpful (we even had the pleasure of meeting some of their family and beautiful grandchildren). Breakfast was really good and, all in all, I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Newcastle in general was fantastic, with lots of good restaurants and lovely pubs. My wife and I had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend, made all the better by Colm and Frances. Will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BelfastKirker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Manager at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your fantastic review, we are glad you enjoyed our company and your visit to Newcastle. We try to go that extra mile to ensure you get what you expect from your visit. We look forward to meeting you again and thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B for your accommodation while visiting Newcastle.
Kind regards Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

my husband and I spent two nights here and wish it could have been longer, the room was spotless, and breakfast delicious., colm and frances could not do enough for us. it is not surprising that their place is busy. Will definitely be going back

Room Tip: all rooms are a good size and it is very peacefull at night
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janicemaclean61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed three nights with Colm & Frances at the Amble In B&B. The friendliest accommodation of our travels. Our room was spotless clean and the bed comfortable, the tea/coffee making facility in the room was a welcome nice little touch. We would definitely recommend Amble In B&B in central Newcastle. Thank you so much Colm and Frances for making our stay so comfortable and welcoming. We will DEFINITELY be back!

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Manager at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your fantastic review, we are glad you enjoyed our company and your visit to Newcastle. We are glad you felt rejuvenated after your short stay. We look forward to meeting you again and thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B for your accommodation while visiting Newcastle.
Kind regards Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This is my 2nd time staying at the Amble In B&B while enjoying a family holiday in Newcastle, County Down. My family and I have been going on a summer break to Newcastle for at least a decade now and never have we stayed in the same place twice in a row, until we experienced the Amble In. We knew we'd be back a second time and we will certainly be back next year also! The B&B is situated approximately 1min from the town centre of Newcastle with a incredible view of the Mountains of Mourne right at the doorstep. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with the use of free WiFi - Excellent value for money!! The hosts, Colm and Frances, will make you feel right at home throughout your stay and will advise on tourist attractions around the area of Newcastle. I would recommend the Amble In B&B to anyone and we will certainly be back for a third time next year!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Manager at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your fantastic review, we are glad you enjoyed our company and your visit to Newcastle. We are glad you felt rejuvenated after your short stay the weather was just perfect. We look forward to meeting you again and thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B for your accommodation while visiting Newcastle.
Kind regards Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews