We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Visit”
Review of Old Blackfriars

Old Blackfriars
Ranked #62 of 688 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great time in the old Blackfriars bar, went in for drink and booked table for meal for next evening, Bar staff and food great, would definately recommend, special mention to Karen and Holly for their top class service

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidpM7347ZX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Old Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

hi there, cheers for all the stars, glad you had a good time and I look forward to seeing you again. Karen and Holly are always stoked when they get a mention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cannot fault this place at all. Food was lovely, service was great and quick. Shout out to the staff, especially Karen for being very patient and accommodating. Will definitely be back and would recommend to friends and family.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank KelseyW611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Old Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thanks for the great review, Keren loves getting a shoutout, it's always a welcome confidence booster to my staff, look forward to seeing you again and your friends and familly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Consistently good - food, service & wine (a little disappointed that Big Earl Malbec is no longer avail at Bellhaven pubs but replacement is almost acceptable)

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Old Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Lin, thank you so much for your lovely 5* review - I’m so pleased we can look after you consistently well!
I hope we see you again soon.
Thanks, Jen
P.S. I also miss the Big Earl, but the La Pradera isn’t bad!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2021 via mobile

visited for a meal , lovely food , good varied menu. Staff all helpful and really friendly. Good atmosphere. Have been there several times over a number of years and always excellent.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank susanmJ835FO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Old Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

Hi Susan, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely 5* review!
We really pride ourselves on making our guests feel welcome and providing great food. I’m so pleased that was your experience with us.
Thanks again Susan, we hope to see you again soon!
Jen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2021

Visited Aberdeen 17/6/21 stopped into beer garden and was refused service as only 3 out of 5 were eating. Poor service do not recommend going here. Took our custom to La Lombardo's across the road who know how to treat customers properly.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Q9223XWjohng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Old Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

Good Evening,

I’m sorry you feel the service was poor, we pride ourselves on our great service.

However, we are a pub, not a restaurant, and due to that we are not permitted to have children on the premises unless the purpose of the visit is for a meal.
As not everyone in the party was eating, it is against our alcohol license.

La Lombrada is a restaurant, and are therefore subject to different licensing laws than we have to uphold.

If you wish to discuss this further, please email me personally on jenmilne.gm@greeneking.co.uk

Regards,
Jen Milne
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Blackfriars also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Old Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.