We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor overall”

The Captain’s Table
Ranked #6 of 44 Restaurants in Fraserburgh
Description: Family run restaurant with the menu focus on local fish and seafood. Fresh, local, personal service and a warm welcome awaits you.
Restaurant details
Description: Family run restaurant with the menu focus on local fish and seafood. Fresh, local, personal service and a warm welcome awaits you.
Reviewed 29 June 2018

lobster pot was very dry , steak under cooked and sent back twice, chips then cold and requested more by that steak was now cold. redeeming element was desserts. Fish portion was extremely small. Portion size over all very small and price very BIG.
Was so looking forward to seafood restaurant in northeast but very very disappointed.
Staff were friendly..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mary123greig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Owner at The Captain’s Table, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for taking time to review our restaurant. We believe you were part of a party who visited us recently - either that or you had 2 main courses. We did our best to rectify the things that you felt were wrong at the time and also gave a complimentary drink to your party.
As for the portion size and price we have had hundreds of customers visit our restaurant and there have been few if any that i can recall have mentioned that our portion size is small, however we take your comments on board and our kitchen will be notified that you used Trip Advisor (and Facebook I believe) to make us and thousands of others aware of our shortcomings. As for the price , as you said, we are the only seafood restaurant within a 26 miles radius and we use fresh, locally sourced excellent quality fish and seafood which we buy in at market price. To continue in our business and continue to offer the dishes that we do, we have to account for other overheads which need covering in a small business including our staff (who give excellent table service) we feel our pricing structure reflects this.
We hope you will accept our apology and try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

My parents went for dinner and loved it. The restaurant was very busy, so I’d recommend you book in advance.
The menu changes daily as it depends what’s in the market that day they were told. A lot of the sauces are home made. Horseradish sauce was great! My father isn’t a big seafood fan but he really liked it!

1  Thank A10KJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Owner at The Captain’s Table, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we are very glad that your parents enjoyed their visit.
We look forward too welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Went for dinner to this newly opened restaurant in Fraserburgh. Had the baked lobster pot for a starter (a wee bit dry for my taste) followed by an amazing halibut dish with lime and coconut cream. The langoustine cocktail also looked wonderful! They change the menu daily depending on what is available locally. Would highly recommend a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank asti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Owner at The Captain’s Table, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Your star rating and comments are appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M, Owner at The Captain’s Table, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Captain’s Table also viewed

Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire
Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire
 
Rosehearty, Fraserburgh
Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire
 
Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire
Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Captain’s Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing