We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveller rating
424
42
6
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
424
42
6
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house french toast first class the owner local knowledge welcoming hosts shared bathroom two nights short stay breakfast was excellent twin room made us feel b and b harbour scotland accommodation abbey
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 488 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Fortunately the weekend weather was one of the best of the year, so the good view from Suite 1 over looking the Harbour was outstanding. Less than a stone's throw and right beside one of the best 'chippys' in town. Michelle & Brian are wonderful warm hosts who are obviously enjoying welcoming the select few into their home/business. Their breakfast matches the rest of the superb surroundings with my gluten free options easily catered for and you will start your day with a smile if not a spring due to the variety available. Oh yes, 2 sets of binoculars to borrow in Suite 1 for evening better views over harbour & sea and after many years of travelling, the super king size best is one of the best I have ever slept in. I will bring my wife to stay next time for more than this one night solo trip.

Room tip: Suite 1 is the most expensive however, the best !
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Colin_I_Coles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian Lloyd, Owner at Harbour Nights Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Thank you Colin, many thanks for the wonderful and well crafted review, we always appreciate the time taken by guests to write a review. We are really glad that you enjoyed the fantastic weather and great location. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to Harbour Nights some time in the future. Brian and Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021

This property sits right on the harbour front. Ideal to access all the fabulous fish merchants around selling Arbroath Smokies, and the wonderful restaurant The Old Boatyard. The Abbey is a short walk or drive away too.
The hosts in this property , Michelle and Brian , were totally welcoming and truly delightful. The decor is modern but still in keeping with the feel of the property, which I believe is 16th Century. Very welcoming hallway leading up to a spiral staircase with the most incredible bannister. Our host Michelle led us up on to the second floor, room No 3 and talked us through the facilities available, breakfast ordering etc. This room has private facilities, fresh decor, comfortable bed, all the bed linen and towels were crisp white and very clean. Even a Lindor chocolate on the pillow!
After a very comfortable nights sleep we were ready for breakfast. OMG.... wonderful!
It was like being attended to in a 5 star Hotel and the quality of produce and table setting didn’t fall short of 5 star either. Smokies on the menu too for breakfast, a real treat.
Highly recommend , this B&B will delight you.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Q6239VObarbaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian Lloyd, Owner at Harbour Nights Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

Thank you for your fantastic review. We really appreciate the time taken by people to give us well written positive feedback. It was a pleasure being able to host you both at Harbour Nights, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thanks. Brian and Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021

We booked one night and wished we had stayed two!
What a fabulous spot. The renovation of this wonderful guest house is superb. The new owners are clearly passionate about their wee project. Everything about our staycation was faultless. We shall definitely be back as soon as we can but I have a feeling that once 'one of Scotlands best kept secrets is out', it's going to be difficult!

Thank you Michelle & Bryan ( can you arrange the weather next time :-))

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian Lloyd, Owner at Harbour Nights Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2021

Thank you for your wonderful review and positive feedback. It was a pleasure to meet and host you both, and we look forward to seeing you on your return to Harbour Nights some time in the future. Hopefully next time you will have better weather. Brian and Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021

Harbour Nights Guest House (Bed & Breakfast) is now under new ownership. Michelle and Brian were fantastic hosts that went over and above to make our stay a memorable one. We spent 3 nights here and the service and food was top quality. They were very accommodating and more than happy to cater for vegans (highly recommend the Scottish porridge which was a nice sweet treat for us). Conveniently located for visiting Dundee or Aberdeen. We hope to visit again soon.

Room tip: Clean and tidy
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank angelamN3838ZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian Lloyd, Owner at Harbour Nights Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thank you for the lovely comments and the time you have taken to give us a fantastic review, very much appreciated. It was great meeting you both and thank you as we really enjoyed catering for the Vegan diet. We look forward to seeing you again. Brian and Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

The new owners have gone out of their way to upgrade this gem on the harbour front.

Newly decorated throughout to a high standard. Breakfast freshly made to your spec. The suite was fantastic and well worth it. Michelle and Brian couldn’t do enough for us. They have definitely put a lot of thought and effort into wanting the best for the clients they are catering for.

Having only 3 rooms they are able to give a service second to none. They chat to you and make you feel like you’re at home. Rooms tidied and beds made for your return and chocolates on the pillows. The whole place was immaculate.

We will definitely come back here when we return to Arbroath. This bed and breakfast has ticked all the boxes.

Thanks guys we had a great time, even if the weather wasn’t the best

Room tip: Book early
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank izzy195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian Lloyd, Owner at Harbour Nights Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Thanks Izzy. It was a pleasure hosting the both of you, and we really appreciate your kind comments and the time spent with give your great review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, hopefully with better weather. You were right, the sun came out the second you drove away. Brian and Michelle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews