We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$182
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Elderslie Guest House(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corran House(Oban)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
160
86
35
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
86
35
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnespresso machinel occitanel'occitane toiletriesbluetooth speakerbose sound systemstation hotelyoga matrecently refurbished hotelrain showernice toiletriesfew issuesno air conditioningferry terminallarge bedroomfabulous hotelharbour frontperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Oban is tiny and location is not much of an issue no matter where you stay. This hotel has been recently renovated and the rooms are modern and comfortable. Ours was equipped with a Nespresso machine. The bathroom was good, but the shower was small. The front desk staff were accommodating. The elevator was out of service (new one being installed), but staff helped with our suitcases. The rooms are well appointed. We avoided breakfast because the reviews were critical. In general, highly recommended. In rating the Perle, you must consider that Oban is not New York or Paris.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midwest_attorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perle_Oban, Perle Oban Team at Perle Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Midwest_attorney,

That you for your review of The Perle Oban Hotel!

We are so glad to hear that our recent renovation and accommodating staff impressed you during your stay. In regards to the breakfast, we have been working hard to improve our offerings and service and believe we have a lot to offer in this department. We hope that if you stay with us again that you will be able to sample this.
We take great pride in our little bay town and find it wonderful to be able to escape the hustle and bustle of the big cities. We agree that we are not New York or Paris but we love Oban just the same.

Kind Regards
Perle Oban Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is right in the middle of the town. That’s the good and bad point. Good point very convenient to go right out of the hotel to restaurants and ferry. Bad point like our weekend it was holiday in Scotland and people were getting loud and drunk. It was a warm weekend and windows had to be open due to no air conditioning. However hotel was very accommodating and moved us to a different room that was less noisy. Restaurant in hotel was ok service was bad. Took a long time to get food. Met the owner on Day we checked out she was very apologetic and was very understanding. If you like city feel vs B&B stay here.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank kevh938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perle_Oban, Public Relations Manager at Perle Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear kevh938,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the noise from people outside had an impact upon your stay but glad that you were happy in the end. The building is a Victorian building that cannot unfortunately have air conditioning installed, but when there was a bit of a heat wave we did offer fans to all of our guests which keeps the room at a lovely temperature even with the window closed. Sorry to hear that you felt the service was not up to scratch in the restaurant. this is surprising to hear, but I have passed this on to our Food & Beverage Manager. We hope to see you again and hope you had a lovely stay in Oban.

Best wishes,
Perle Oban Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is in a great location, close to all Oban has to offer. Our room had an amazing view, however, it was very small and impossible to have two open suitcases and move around the room. The hotel has recently been upgraded. These changes include new bathrooms and soft furnishings. There is no operating lift, and no offer of assistance with luggage on our check in. Seems a porter is only available late afternoon. Request for laundry service was met with a curt “ no” as this service is only available for guests in suites. Laundry services and porterage are basic services expected in a hotel, surely.

Room Tip: Rooms are overheated. A room with a view allows for windows to be open, road side is noisy.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jen-en-vacance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perle_Oban, Public Relations Manager at Perle Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear jen-en-vacance,

Thank you for your review. Delighted that you enjoyed your view and location. Some of our small double rooms are cosy but this is a part of the character of the building and despite the size we have all the best amenities in all rooms including L'occitane toiletries, bluetooth Bose speakers and Nespresso machines. However, if you have any problems with a room or anything else, we can always fix the situation if you raise it with us at the time. Our lift is currently being replaced with a brand new one, and being a 100 year old lift there have been some issues, but we are doing our best to get it completed as quickly as possible. Our porter is available until late afternoon, and beyond that our receptionists will always offer to carry luggage to and from rooms. Laundry service is a special service that we offer to our Suite and Junior suite guests.

Kind regards,
Perle Oban Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

+Clean room, cozy bed, quaint historic hotel
+L’occitane products
+Central location (can walk everywhere including Oban Distillery, restaurants)
-Street parking (only free overnight and Sundays)
-Noise from outside (people drinking) and from other guests in the hallway
-Elevator not currently working
-Breakfast not included

Likelier 3.5 Stars based on my perceived value of this room

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nycmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perle_Oban, Public Relations Manager at Perle Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear nycmeow,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and the amenities in the room, as well as the location.

Sorry to hear that your stay was impacted by noise from outside. Being a city centre hotel there can sometimes be noise from other tourists, but often the noise does not go on late and only a small number of our rooms are affected by this. If you had raised this issue with us at the hotel we would have tried our best to better accommodate you. Our lift is in the process of being replaced by a brand new one and will be completed within the next couple of weeks. Breakfast is included in the standard B&B rates but we do also offer 'Room only' rates which is a reduced rate for those who do not wish to have breakfast.

Best wishes,

Perle Oban Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the price we paid, we expected more. The hotel has been refurbished, but, this is possibly the only thing this has going for it alongside the central seafront location. Our room was small and didn’t have all we needed for a comfortable stay. There was a lack of shelving/space to put toiletries in the bathroom, and definitely not enough room to move around comfortably in either the bedroom or the bathroom. The bottom of the bed was almost touching the wall (which also had the television on), there was nowhere to store both suitcases easily, the kettle was stored in a cupboard which made it a pain to use and everything seemed a bit crammed in. There was a hairdryer provided which was sticky (yuk) and therewas also an iron/ironing board if needed. Whilst the toiletries provided in the room were nice, they just took up space and got knocked over constantly. As mentioned, the hotel doesn’t have air con which can make it uncomfortable overnight, as the rooms do get warm. The information guide in the room has lots of gleaming spelling errors which doesn’t give a particularly good impression either.

One big problem for us was the lack of lift, which it seems, hasn’t been available for us for months. Whilst we were there, there was no work done on the lift, which suggests it isn’t being sorted at all. The stairs are uncomfortable to climb as they have an extra soft carpet on them and there are two flights to climb per floor. We were unaware the lift wasn’t in use until we turned up. We did have someone take our suitcases to our room after we had left them at reception prior to check-in (although, both pull-along handles on our cases did not work from this point onwards, so we’re assuming they were dragged up the stairs by these rather than being carried which hasn’t pleased us at all).

As breakfast was included, we chose to eat here before going out for the day. The menu advertises a ‘Full Scottish Breakfast’ but this isn’t the case - the only Scottish item available is a potato scone. The range of breakfast items catered for mainly overseas guests rather than British guests, and they were really pushing the ‘make your own’ muesli as there was such a wide range of dried fruits/seeds etc. The breakfast room itself was nice and bright.

Whilst we would definitely visit Oban again, we would not stay at this hotel. It’s in a fantastic location with lovely views, but it’s too expensive for the little you get.

Room Tip: I’d recommend a sea view room
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SparklyStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews