We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$69
View deal
Booking.comUS$74
Hotels.comUS$69
PricelineUS$74
Official Hotel SiteUS$83
TravelocityUS$69
Destinia.comUS$100
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,036)
Filter reviews
1,036 results
Traveller rating
277
414
182
72
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
277
414
182
72
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view self drive coach trip restaurant staff public areas an upgrade sea front weekend break third floor tea and coffee fantastic views oban bay shearings lounge scotland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,036 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2021

A great hotel to stay in... with excellent staff and really good food in the restaurant. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless, I would certainly stay there again when visiting that area. The town of Oban in a fab place to base oneself too.

Room tip: The view out front is certainly stunning.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Davidguest_2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki Glen, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2021

Dear Davidguest_2021,
Thank you for sharing your review. I'm pleased to see we ticked the box throughout and you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your comments to the team and we hope to welcome you back to the Great Western again in the future.
Kind regards
Vicki Glen
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2021 via mobile

Fantastic hotel with warm and welcoming staff, nothing was too much trouble. Room was lovely, very spacious and spotless with most amazing views. Bar has very relaxed and friendly atmosphere again with fantastic views. Breakfast in the morning was just the best … highly recommend this hotel and all the staff and will 100% be returning .. soon!!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank catrionac309
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki Glen, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2021

Thank you for sharing your review. It certainly reads as if you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Great Western soon.
Kind regards
Vicki Glen
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2021 via mobile

Was meant to be away for night to celebrate our engagement. Called after booking room about parking and was told not to worry there were plenty of spaces. When arrived after long drive was told parking full. A few minutes later that a spot had been reserved. This morning when went for breakfast found had not been put on list for breakfast. Staffs customer service seems to be "will talk to someone " rather than actually deal with issue or complaint. After finally getting breakfast it really wasn't worth the money or the effort. The only eggs available were fried and had been in the bain marie that long that could have been used to fix a puncture, the haggis balls dry and the lorne sausage the same. Really not impressed today with this hotel which is a shame as had a lovely stay before. Poor customer service and below par food. Would also point out can take a while for anyone to answer the telephone at hotel will keep going to answer machine.

Room tip: Check parking
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pumpkinhead007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki Glen, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2021

Dear Pumpkinhead007,
I'm sorry to see you were disappointed with aspects of your stay. The service you describe is certainly not the standard we aim to offer. I hope you may consider staying with us again especially after an enjoyable previous stay.
Kind regards
Vicki Glen
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2021

Absolutely disgusting. Bar area very run down with tables falling apart. Then I checked my room omg !!!!!!!!

Pubic hairs on bed! Carpet disgusting! Room 19 . I checked back out immediately and staff didn’t give a ****

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank V9091HCjamesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki Glen, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2021

Dear V9091HCjamesm,
I'm sorry for the negative experience you had in our hotel. The issues you raise have been discussed with our housekeeping team and standards training re-addressed.
Kind regards
Vicki Glen
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2021 via mobile

Just home from 2 nights here. Was a surprise to find the Xmas Dec's up so early but they were lovely and added to the atmosphere. Hotel a little rough around the edges however room was clean and comfortable, breakfast good and the real gem is the staff - they couldn't do enough for us. We hope to return next year.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vacation02048776684
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki Glen, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2021

Thank you for sharing your review. I'm pleased to see we ticked the box throughout and you enjoyed your short stay with us. I will be sure to pass your comments to the team and we hope to welcome you back to the Great Western in the future.
Kind regards
Vicki Glen
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews