We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$147
View deal
Priceline
US$155
View deal
Destinia.com
US$139
View deal
Expedia.comUS$147
Hotels.comUS$147
getaroom.comUS$165
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
190
180
110
83
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
190
180
110
83
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view executive room coach trip breakfast and dinner every evening oban bay the hotel is clean lovely view sea front scotland promenade drawers ferries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

Stayed at the Muthu Alexandra Hotel in Oban for 2 nights with my husband and 6 month old baby.
We arrived and were told our room would be in the row of ‘apartments’ at the back of the hotel which the only way to get to is through a horrible car park with a huge shipping container. We weren’t aware that this would be our room and have since checked our booking confirmation which does not say we would be in a separate part of the hotel which isn’t even connected. The garden area of the apartment was full of weeds and looked very tired. The room itself was ‘ok’ again, decor very dated. Some minor issues like dust on tables and bed however bathroom was clean and fresh.
If you want a drink in the sunshine in the early afternoon, don’t bother as the bar doesn’t open until 2pm. The furniture in the outdoor spaces is very tired and a lot of the tables don’t have glass tops and some chairs are on their last legs (literally).
Breakfast was a buffet style, staff were friendly and helpful.
All in all, an ok stay however hotel in some serious need of modernisation to justify the money we paid.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MrsW95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2021

Wow.
An amazing stay.Very pleasant welcoming by receptionist .We stayed here 3 nights after arriving of the ferry from Barra .Comfortable bed and pillows. Helpful and friendly staff. Covid arrangements were very good. Excellent breakfast . Good swimming and relaxing steam room.Overall fantastic stay .Would come back definitely .
Thank you for the lovely stay and amazing atmosphere

Date of stay: August 2021
Thank Julia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2021

Like the last time I came, I was greeted by a warm welcome and a pleasant receptionist. I was in a room that had a view of the parking . Unfortunately I was not able to grab a room with a sea view. Swimming pool is open and it was an amazing swim and a steam room .I can only say Thank you .Wonderful vacation, wonderful staff .I will definitely be back.

Thank you

Room tip: sea view off course /
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilija D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2021

We booked a suite to celebrate a special anniversary. Our suite was on the ground floor with glass front. It was a very hot spell and no attempt had been made to make the room habitable, the temperature in the room was unbearable. We asked at desk and a very small fan heater was put in the room which made no impact at all! The service at dinner was chaotic and the food was not to the standard expected. Hotel is greatly under staffed! When checking in we were asked to book a time for breakfast and when we came for breakfast there were at least 20 people waiting to gain entry to the dining room and no movement for 15 mins, people were also standing at the breakfast buffet with empty plates in hand awaiting food being brought out from kitchen. We left without breakfast! We have emailed twice to air our grievances but not surprisingly, no response! This was a costly visit to a shambolic hotel!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ejanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

Disappointed with the room allocation,which was round the back of hotel this building resembles a butlins 1960 holiday camp,on entry a new carpet was evident but the furnishings where minus handles shower temperamental in the morning,no phone in room,pillows lumpy,front door would not close properly staff friendly enough not enough car parking,breakfast adequate not real value for money paid.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews