We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$171
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oban Youth Hostel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corran House(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Backpackers Plus(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$57
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
29
45
54
68
144
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
45
54
68
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbit datedlounge bara wee bitshort breaksaunaferriesloch
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2015

The Lancaster has a convenient waterfront location, a swimming pool and provides a good breakfast served by cheerful staff. That's it. Expect junk shop furnishings, dirty carpets, stained pillows, makeshift shower cabinets, broken fittings, worn cutlery: testament to decades of under-investment and botched D.I.Y. Banister remains broken. Oban Health & Safety Dept must be sleeping on the job.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linkscres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

The staff were friendly and warm but the rooms seemed dated and tired. Service was slow and sporadic and meals were provided at the table all at different times. The hall outside our room was smelly and the hotel felt like I was in an episode of George & Mildred! The breakfast was reasonable and the view from the hotel was spectacular. However, it just seemed a bit, well, hodge bodge. It could have been awesome with a little more effort.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank bigsmileygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Yes, it's old...but it's clean and comfortable and the staff are fantastic. Stayed two nights and we wish it had been longer. The room was clean, bed comfortable, toilet and shower cubicle tiny but adequate with sink and mirror in the bedroom. Plenty of public rooms with comfortable seating and gorgeous views, good breakfasts and well-stocked lounge bar. Some lovely old pieces of furniture throughout. Best part of all is the staff...everyone was friendly and helpful, and the owners are justifiably proud of their hotel and its history. If you are fussy and you want everything to be immaculate and shiny, don't stay here. If you like older and quirky, this is the place for you.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

It's horrible.
Ancient old furniture that missed the link between" antique" and "junk", overcrowding the room..but it is clean, the old chipped doors and skirting make it look bad!
The same happy breakfast folk cleaned our rooms, the public bars and to my horror when I tried to change an order from fried to scrambled egg .... washed dishes in an old sink!!!
No dishwasher..is that still allowed?
The plumbing here is well dodgy cant flush and brush at same time ?
i feel so sorry for the staff reading these reviews.
There are only ever about two or three of them keeping the old girl running.
Trading on past glories in the 1960's with an old rubber hose wont do it but the nice lassies working for you might.
Hope you pay them well or at least buy them handcream for the washing of 100's of greasy dishes in a sink... my wife would kill me.

Room Tip: The place stinks of fried fat? animals? dirty guests? Who knows...it smells of some kind of neglect yet beds and rooms were clean?
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2happyhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Dated ,depressing,,dirty rooms with junk furniture ..it is an insult to charge £74 for one of those double rooms...if it was not the fact that we arrived late evening and paid before we had seen the room we would have gone elsewhere...

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Millieparkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews