We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$147
View deal
Expedia.comUS$172
PricelineUS$155
Hotels.comUS$172
eDreamsUS$147
TravelocityUS$172
CheapTicketsUS$172
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,257)
Filter reviews
1,257 results
Traveller rating
361
436
271
123
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
361
436
271
123
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath sea view parking is limited first floor double room lovely view bay rear waterfront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,257 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2021 via mobile

Lovely hotel.Stayed in room 3 with the most fantastic views.Room was spotless with the added bonus of a spa bath.Location was great and staff were very accommodating and cheery.Breakfast was delicious with both hot and cold options.Overall a great visit 10/10

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sommer170806
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western Muthu Queens, Other at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Dear Sommer170806
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent vacation with us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel. We are glad to know we were able to exceed your expectations and you have enjoyed all the services and experiences our hotel has to offer.

We hope to see you back very soon!

Kind Regards,
Muthu Queens Hotel Reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2021

Had a 3 night stay at Muthu Queens in Oban and rarely come across such polite, accommodating staff. The room was spotless, jacuzzi bath a treat and breakfast lovely. There were some serving issues with breakfast on our first morning (which we did not experience) and complaints made by other guests.

However, the staff quickly did everything they could to remedy this by sending letters to guests informing them of a buffet style service the following day and a refund. Extremely professional!

The breakfast staff continued to smile, work hard and do all they could to please guests…even the tricky ones! Perhaps some of these guests need to try waiting tables to understand the challenges…this may help them to be more respectful and polite next time.

A special mention to Andreé for the lovely breakfast service, Klaudia for running around and serving as many people as she could, as quickly as she could (whilst being moaned at)…and still she remained very polite. Lovely barman in the evenings too. Guarav (general manager) is lovely (as mentioned in previous reviews), smiling, chatting and very welcoming. My only suggestion would be to take the pressure off of your breakfast staff by rolling up your sleeves and helping them! Dish up the bacon, serve the tea and toast or help in the kitchen. A good manager mucks in and helps!

My final EXCEPTIONAL mention has to go to the reception staff. Jurgita was extremely welcoming and helpful while Aleesha went above and beyond to help us with various requests. Lovely chat about Mull and Calgary Bay ☺️. The staff are an absolute asset to this hotel and are working extremely hard at this difficult time. Please visit here and acknowledge how well they are doing. Well done Muthu Queens

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel, Other at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2021

Dear Sharon F
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent vacation with us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel. We are glad to know we were able to exceed your expectations and you have enjoyed all the services and experiences our hotel has to offer.

We hope to see you back very soon!

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2021

Because of Covid I am trying to not be too negative but!
Room allocated was horrendous. Very small and overlooked a flat roof which was littered and filthy.)
Reception guy reallocated another room which was excellent, (Marine Suite)
However no bar or restaurant facilities were available. Said we could go a 5 minute walk to there sister hotel for breakfast. I don't think so!.
Lots of building work going on which also did not help.
The only plus here is the location.
At the moment this really is a motel not an hotel.

Because of COVID I want to give this place a 2nd chance so we are going back at the end of August when, I AM ASSURED, things will be sorted.
I shall review it again then.

Room tip: Marine suite has great views and is large
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GlendevonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel, Other at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2021

Dear GlendevonMike

We apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay, your opinion will be taken in to account to help improve our service.
Once again we apologize and we hope you give us a chance to change this in your next visit.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2021

Booked on walk in, given good rate and great room. However transpired there were major plumbing problems - room 46 - very noisy. Mentioned to reception and although I did not ask to be changed room the receptionist Alesha offered me an upgrade to room 47 at no extra cost.
This is how customer service should be done, all contributing to an excellent stay.
Thoroughly recommend this hotel and commend Alesha for her outstanding customer service.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western Muthu Queens Hotel, Other at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2021

Dear dave c
Thank you so much for making Muthu Queens Hotel your choice for vacationing and for the time you took out of your day to share us your feedback.

We are thrilled to read that we were able to meet your expectations and have shared your comments with the entire team as we know these will mean a great deal to them.

We look forward to serving you again, ensuring in advance our utmost commitment to making your next stay a memorable one.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2021

Worst ever experience in my whole life, and i’ve been in so many hotels around the world, from budget to luxury, but this was just HORRIBLE from A to Z.
First, we arrive to the hotel 9PM and they give us a room that was not prepared !! A little reminder we are in the middle of a pandemic, how can this happen!!?? I can just imagine how clean are the rooms…
To try to fix this issue, we were offered an “upgrade” and changed to another hotel of the same brand (MGM, who knows this horrible chain!?) the Muthu Alexandra Hotel, located around 300 m away. The lady mentioned a family room with sea view as a way to compensate for their mistake. But when arrived to the other hotel we were offered a room behind the parking, smelly, dirty, outdated, horrible indian decoration…i would qualify this as far below of the typical motel you could find in a US highway that you would pay a few dollars for a night while travelling as a budget youngster.
I came back to the other hotel and made a complain but no one cared.
A truly disgusting experience at MGM pigsty place.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 319ajy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western Muthu Queens, Other at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Dear 319ajy,

We apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay, your opinion will be taken in to account to help improve our service.
Once again we apologize and we hope you give us a chance to change this in your next visit.

Warm regards,
Muthu Reception Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews