We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$207
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corran House(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$126
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
24
23
8
1
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
23
8
1
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort cutbusy roadsmall roomtown centrestay there againtescoscotsiona
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2018

This B and B is not quite how the pictures depict it. It is VERY close to the road and crossing to get to the sidewalk on the other side is dangerous! It is very close to the village centre making it an easy walk...other than crossing the road!

While the home is clean there were some other issues. The bedroom door was extremely hard to open and close because it rubbed on the carpet. The room was small, but that's ok. However, the bathroom was very small with no where to set your toiletry bag or anything else.

The internet connection was very poor. We were able to connect for only a few minutes at a time and then not at all. When you are travelling so far from home, your connection is critical.

The biggest thing for us was the hostess. We had stayed at another B and B the night before and were welcomed like long lost friends. Not here! We felt like we were intruding! We met the owner but not her husband...very cool (almost cold) welcome. And when we left in the morning, it felt like she was glad to see us go! Running a B and B, the human element is as important as the accommodation. Therefore....

With so many B and B's to choose from in Scotland, I would not recommend this one. Definitely not for us.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We spent a week in the cottage on-site. The Scots are known throughout the world for their warm and friendly greetings. Ulva got it half-right with a lukewarm and unfriendly greeting.
The cottage was in good condition although quite 'foosty' as we say in Scotland, it didn't seem quite fresh. But it had a nice garden at the back and was very quiet, comfortable and warm with good facilities. Also quite close to the town centre which was only 15 minutes walk away and the supermarkets (Tesco, Aldi and Lidl) were even closer for self-catering .
But the cottage wasn't very child-friendly with a glass panelled hall door, a glass table under the TV and no baby gates on offer. Plus outside there was no pavement to the only pedestrian crossing so you have to cross a busy road to get to the pavement on the other side.
All through the week our hosts were very reserved and made no attempt to engage. wth us or make us feel welcome. Nevertheless we enjoyed a great week in Oban and the cottage was just fine. Everything went well until our last day.
Unfortunately we got our dates mixed up and honestly believed we were leaving on the Sunday. We got a ring at the door on the Saturday to remind us to check out that morning,
Despite our apologies about our mistake the attitude of the owners was obnoxius and rude. We received more contact with them that morning than we had the whole week. They harassed us to get out and when I explained we had two toddlers with us which was delaying our unplanned packing and departure they retorted "put the kids in the car".
Overall we had a pleasant week but our departure left a bad taste in the mouth. Terrible customer service from a pair of old miseryguts. .

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

When we arrived it was offered to choose between a room inside the house, or the Garden room (a small building in the garden, maybe used earlier as an annex). We took the Garden room, which was OK, though the bathroom was really small. Also it felt humid so we need to use the heater. The bathroom would need refurbishment.
Next morning we left the room before 10 (check-out limit) and we stood till approx 10:15 in the "lobby" to check our emails etc., but we felt as the host wanted to see us gone as fast as possible. The internet connection was very poor in the Garden room, though in the main residence the internet run perfectly.
For the breakfast, it was good quality, but the service lady attempted to collect the plates before we were done, which is very rude.

Room Tip: in case you can choose, do not take Garden room
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Titiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Was very comfortable, clean, convenient to walk to town. Breakfast was wonderful. We were only there for one night but would definitely stay there again. Would recommend the 3 isle tour to Mull, Staffa (amazing!) And Iona. So worth it!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cindyloowho1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Arrived after long drive and we're greeted by the owner, shown round and all going well until we got the dog out of the car. On seeing the dog her attitude changed to being unpleasant and then told us the dog couldn't play in the cottage garden despite advertising as being pet friendly, one of the main reasons we booked their cottage. Our holiday was ruined in the first ten minutes by an unfriendly and unpleasant host who did not acknowledge us during the entire week oof our stay. Not recommended at all

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahamch9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews