We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
99
61
17
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
61
17
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house owner sarah private sitting room charming house charming b b steep hill local attractions walking difficulties top floor few minutes walk old house oban bay two nights warm welcome breakfasts were excellent short stay very pleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Not sure how this property got all these stars. if you like under cooked breakfast served by a batty lady and stay in dirty rooms this is for you. I could not wait to leave the place. I say spend a few pounds more and stay somewhere else. This stay was worsen than a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mathboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and I booked the Roseneath guest house for our 10th wedding anniversary. Was a warm welcome. Any information you needed was on hand . The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous. Fried eggs were perfect. The views from our room over looking oban bay were stunning. Would recommend to any one to book the Roseneath.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mcshoogles73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Initially, I wasn't sure I had found the right place. My husband and I traveled to Scotland for our honeymoon and we were looking for something quaint and homey in Oban.
Let me tell you what, this was one of the most memorable places we stayed. The rooms were just that - homey and relaxing. The host was the best part. You know the saying that when in Scotland, you'll find amazing Scottish hospitality and with it, a good story? That's what we got. I looked forward to her nice homemade breakfast in the morning and her stories. Hearing a good one over steaming blueberry pancakes with some of the best black pudding (yes, you heard me, black pudding and it was GREAT!) made my morning. Thank you for the amazing stay. My husband and I will be back in Scotland in this lifetime, and we hope you are still around when we do.
Slainte mhath!
-Kiara and Cam MacDonald

Room Tip: Double Bedroom with 4 Poster - this was a great room!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Very comfortable, and very good value for money, with a helpful proprietor. The guest house is well situated for people using the ferry port. I was staying for 2 nights in the middle of a long hillwalking trip and stayed for 2 nights. It was ideal for my needs.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trimarc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The room was very spacious with a beautiful bay window looking over the harbor. Our host was very nice and helpful. Our tour was cancelled due to the bad weather so our host suggested many exciting alternative activities. We decided to go site seeing and the day turned out okay despite our tour being cancelled.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisAMetcalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews