We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$77
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Burt's Hotel(Melrose)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Station Hotel(Melrose)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
County Hotel(Selkirk)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
116
55
18
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
55
18
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hoteleildon hillsfamily runamazing buildingindependent hotelcourtyard barfood was lovelyabbotsford housepotatoesold buildingvenisonfine foodbehind the scenesflights of stairsunique architectureloved the eggs benedictwedding meal
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Having visited the hotel on many occasions we attended a function there on saturdau and spent the night.
Rooms were great and massive compared to the normal modern hotels. Seating rea, bed, large bathroom. Old fashioned in style but fully functional, nice change from todays modern type hotels.
Bar prices great and nobody will be riped off. Food was excellent and good selection at breakfast.
Staff extremely helpful in all areas.
Recommend it for a short break.

Room Tip: We had a good view
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Calcutta Cup weekend 2016 and, as it turned out, what a splendid choice as a base for our foray to Murrayfield for the match. Our choice for the weekend was inspired if more by guess work than calculation.
Kingsknowes sits at the end of an unprepossessing housing estate on the southern edge of Galashiels. However don’t be misled because the hotel itself is a lovely, old country house tastefully decorated in a combination of Scottish and English styles…just right for its position in the Borders.
Our room was superb. Spacious, spotlessly clean, well equipped and with a view over the River Tweed to the Eildons to die for. Indeed the Sunday morning sunrise was worth the trip alone without the rugby. Special mention must be made about the bed, so big I needed a search party to locate my wife.
The staff could not have been more friendly, attentive and helpful. They really could not be faulted.
My evening meal draws the only adverse comment and even then it is certainly more a comment than complaint. My starter of pheasant breast with black pudding was indicative of just the heaviest of touches in the kitchen; the pheasant was just too dry but the black pudding the best I can remember tasting. My main course of beef medallions followed a similar vein with the overall result marred by the beef being just slightly too well done. My sticky toffee pudding dessert was everything such a pudding should be…excellent! My wife’s prawn starter was again on the overdone side but her fishcake main course was a masterpiece. Don’t misunderstand, the meal was very good but could have been even better with a lighter touch in the kitchen. Convivial companions made for a super evening enjoyed by all.
This is a first rate hotel which deserves much more praiseworthy reviews. We hope we have started an avalanche of them with this one. Truly excellent and highly recommended

Room Tip: Views to the south towards the Eildons are superb.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArthurGrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

We had a family meal here and was expecting it to be really good as it's a beautiful setting for a hotel. Food was good and a good choice of menu unfortunately the waitresses were poor and very slow in all areas. This let the experience down but we will return and let's hope they have improved their skills and service next time.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Family meal for 5 adults and 2 kids. Booked and ordered in advance. The Hotel was extremely busy but they had plenty of Staff on including a meet and greeter at the front door. Meal and service excellent and great value for money. Also really good atmosphere in the cocktail bar where many people ended up after eating and could have stayed all day if allowed !

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

The kingsknowes is an old mansion house converted to a hotel. Wonderful large rooms, a peaceful quiet location and wonderful staff. We arrived early as we wanted to go to Edinburgh for the day and checked in. We enquired if it would be easier and quicker to go to Tweedbank or Gala for the train as we would be walking. The lovely staff took us to the station at Tweedbank and instructed us to get off at Gala as we could get a taxi from there easily , which we did. Breakfast was top quality and of course included haggis, delicious! We even requested fresh milk for our morning coffee in our room and was delivered with a smile. Only problem was the poor WiFi connection in our room, but was ok in the bar.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jillykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews