We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$144
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenaldor House(Dumfries)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Dumfries Villa(Dumfries)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberdour Hotel(Dumfries)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$77
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ferintosh Guest House(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
48
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssummer housesteamboat innlocal pubsolway firthfamily kitchenlovely hostsone nightloved our staycomfy bednight staylovely locationb and bsusanporpoisescaravanscrummyabbey
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for the second time on 16th April 2016. Brilliant once again. Lovely rooms and great service. The view from our room was beautiful. Breakfast was delicious. Very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Will definitely be back :-)

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016

I visited on 5th April for one night, and was amazed at the location; you couldn't be closer to the coast. On entering the property we were met with a warm welcome from the owner, and shown to the rooms. The owners of "The Old Shop" have an amazing attention to detail and everything is of the highest quality.

The location is beautiful, and we had wine in a summer house at the bottom of the garden just feet away from the water. The rooms are so comfy and surroundings peaceful and quiet, I had one of the best nights sleep I've had.

Breakfast the next morning was superb, with lots of choice and cooked in front of you using fresh local produce.

All in all, I'd love to go back and I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Piano_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Fantastic B&B with great hospitality comfy bed, spotlessly clean,breakfast excellently cooked and plenty of it .... we have already told Susan to expect our phone call to re-book a longer stay .... we might have picked the wrong weekend of weather but not the B&B to go too even our two Border Terriers gave The Old Shop a "Woof" of approval so anyone looking for a true dog friendly accommodation this is the place for you .

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tabbyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

So many things to say about this place. First of all it's a home and you feel like you are in someones home, it's warm and welcoming. We stayed in the downstairs bedroom which is pretty, comfortable and had everything we needed (including a little fridge). The breakfast is great with good fresh and locally sourced food. Susan and George are great hosts. My husband proposed to me in the Summer House (the original one before it got blown away in a storm) and one year later we are celebrating with a bottle of Champagne in the new Summer House which has even better views of the Solway if that's possible. The place is quiet, you have the beach to yourself to go and look for the many fosils just laying around. We love it and will be back again, probably on a future wedding anniversary. Oh and the Steamboat Inn served the BEST fish dishes we have had all year (and we have been to many different countries and places in that time). It's worth the trip alone ! Thank you Susan and George, we will be back !

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Stayed in this lovely B&B with my partner last weekend for one night. The shop was built in 1842 and has been a drinking house in the past. Our room was wonderfully furnished with quality bedding and lovely thick towels in the bathroom ( i said i'd mention them Susan!) We were lucky to have the room with the sea view. Breakfast was a traditional Scottish one, fresh fruit salad (so good) cereals, preserves, toast and a fried breakfast including Haggis. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Double room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 625lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews