We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The magic of the Solway Firth”
Review of The Old Shop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Shop
Ranked #16 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 May 2016

A brilliant find! An exceptional welcome and hospitality. George booked us in for a Saturday evening meal at the Steamboat Inn, cooked fabulous breakfasts and treated us as if we were visiting family.
The garden room on the ground floor was furnished to a high standard and very comfortable. The newly-built summer house, next to the sea defences, allowed us a panoramic view of the Solway, while keeping us snug.

Room Tip: King-sized on the ground floor. Sea views upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for the second time on 16th April 2016. Brilliant once again. Lovely rooms and great service. The view from our room was beautiful. Breakfast was delicious. Very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Will definitely be back :-)

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016

I visited on 5th April for one night, and was amazed at the location; you couldn't be closer to the coast. On entering the property we were met with a warm welcome from the owner, and shown to the rooms. The owners of "The Old Shop" have an amazing attention to detail and everything is of the highest quality.

The location is beautiful, and we had wine in a summer house at the bottom of the garden just feet away from the water. The rooms are so comfy and surroundings peaceful and quiet, I had one of the best nights sleep I've had.

Breakfast the next morning was superb, with lots of choice and cooked in front of you using fresh local produce.

All in all, I'd love to go back and I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Piano_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Fantastic B&B with great hospitality comfy bed, spotlessly clean,breakfast excellently cooked and plenty of it .... we have already told Susan to expect our phone call to re-book a longer stay .... we might have picked the wrong weekend of weather but not the B&B to go too even our two Border Terriers gave The Old Shop a "Woof" of approval so anyone looking for a true dog friendly accommodation this is the place for you .

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tabbyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

So many things to say about this place. First of all it's a home and you feel like you are in someones home, it's warm and welcoming. We stayed in the downstairs bedroom which is pretty, comfortable and had everything we needed (including a little fridge). The breakfast is great with good fresh and locally sourced food. Susan and George are great hosts. My husband proposed to me in the Summer House (the original one before it got blown away in a storm) and one year later we are celebrating with a bottle of Champagne in the new Summer House which has even better views of the Solway if that's possible. The place is quiet, you have the beach to yourself to go and look for the many fosils just laying around. We love it and will be back again, probably on a future wedding anniversary. Oh and the Steamboat Inn served the BEST fish dishes we have had all year (and we have been to many different countries and places in that time). It's worth the trip alone ! Thank you Susan and George, we will be back !

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
14.3 km away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,104 reviews
16.3 km away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
16.5 km away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dumfries
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
20.9 km away
Southpark House
Southpark House
#1 of 2 in Locharbriggs
129 reviews
16.3 km away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Shop

Address: Carsethorn, Dumfries DG2 8DS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: $114 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Shop 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Old Shop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing