We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$70
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$146
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberdour Hotel(Dumfries)
US$74
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cathy's B&B(Dumfries)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
48
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteamboat innsummer houselocal pubsolway firthfamily kitchenlovely hostsone nightloved our staycomfy bednight staylovely locationb and bshort breaksusanporpoisesscrummyabbey
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

Had the most lovely time at this wee secret place! Away from all the city traffic its a quiet relaxing break! Room was very cozy and spotless clean! Very comfy bed. Just a very relaxing feeling overall! Susan and George made us feel so very welcome in there home breakfast was amazing! Cooked right in front of us. Soon as you step out the door your right on the beach! And the views r simply stunning! We will return again! Thanks so much we had amazing time seeing all the castles and sweet abbey is a must!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank joolywooly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Spent our thirtieth wedding anniversary here. What a gem. Lovely hosts. Very tasteful rooms. A beautiful summer house over the road next to the beach. We loved it. Quiet place. A pub serving very good food just a walk away. All in all perfect.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lambkinlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

A brilliant find! An exceptional welcome and hospitality. George booked us in for a Saturday evening meal at the Steamboat Inn, cooked fabulous breakfasts and treated us as if we were visiting family.
The garden room on the ground floor was furnished to a high standard and very comfortable. The newly-built summer house, next to the sea defences, allowed us a panoramic view of the Solway, while keeping us snug.

Room Tip: King-sized on the ground floor. Sea views upstairs.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for the second time on 16th April 2016. Brilliant once again. Lovely rooms and great service. The view from our room was beautiful. Breakfast was delicious. Very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Will definitely be back :-)

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016

I visited on 5th April for one night, and was amazed at the location; you couldn't be closer to the coast. On entering the property we were met with a warm welcome from the owner, and shown to the rooms. The owners of "The Old Shop" have an amazing attention to detail and everything is of the highest quality.

The location is beautiful, and we had wine in a summer house at the bottom of the garden just feet away from the water. The rooms are so comfy and surroundings peaceful and quiet, I had one of the best nights sleep I've had.

Breakfast the next morning was superb, with lots of choice and cooked in front of you using fresh local produce.

All in all, I'd love to go back and I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Piano_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews