We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My two year-old daughter was inspired by a strong female STEM role model”

Dundee Science Centre
Ranked #32 of 116 things to do in Dundee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explore the wonders of the science. Immerse yourself in over 80 hands-on, fun and interactive exhibits. Experience one of our exciting live science shows. Relax over a coffee or browse our range of gifts at Dundee Science Centre - a fun and exhilarating experience for the whole family. Open 10am to 5pm, 361 days a year.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took my two year-old daughter to Dundee Science Centre recently, and Mairi there spent fully two hours doing experiments with her, including with tuning forks, ‘painting’ gas giants with shaving foam, and even laparoscopic surgery. The new music-focussed exhibits currently installed are fantastic, and I’m so grateful my kid was exposed to and inspired by a strong female STEM role model. She’s still talking about Mairi days later, and spontaneously said that she was “like the lady at the science centre” when doing experiments the next day.

1  Thank chrisphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundeeSciCentre, The Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Christopher,

Thank you for such a lovely review. Mairi is fantastic with all visitors coming into the centre and I completely agree, it's very important to have strong female STEM role models for the younger generation. It's great to hear your daughter had a great time at the centre and is still talking about her visit. I'll be sure to pass your kind words onto Mairi!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
The Visitor Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"animal handling"
in 5 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 12 reviews
"rainy day"
in 12 reviews
"all ages"
in 18 reviews
"fun afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"few hours"
in 10 reviews
"year olds"
in 4 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 11 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 5 reviews
"soup"
in 4 reviews
"member of staff"
in 3 reviews
"robot"
in 19 reviews
"cafe"
in 68 reviews
"experiment"
in 14 reviews
"csi"
in 5 reviews
"exhibition"
in 31 reviews
"myths"
in 4 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just had my son's 7th birthday party here and it was fab. The staff were warm and welcoming and had lots of enthusiasm. The kids enjoyed the CSI activity and exploring the new music exhibit. The food was good and nothing was too much trouble. We felt very well looked after; they even cut up the cake and put it in the party bags for us. Well done party team! :)

Thank princesspeach123567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundeeSciCentre, The Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi princesspeach123567,

Thank you for such a lovely review. It's great to hear that your son enjoyed his birthday party at the centre with all his friends!

I'll be sure to pass on your kinds words to the party team - I'm sure they'll be thrilled to hear you all had a good time.

Kind regards,
The Visitor Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Having paid car park then entered the building to find half of the building was being changed. No notice in the car park to advise this when asked for refund of the car oark, was told it had nothing do do with them. Poor way to treat vsitors to this facility

Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundeeSciCentre, The Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Bill F,

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience when visiting the centre recently. Unfortunately, the surrounding car parks to the centre are operated by Dundee City Council which means there isn't anything that we can do in relation to this issue.

In regards to our 1st floor renovation, we are currently in the middle of developing our Medical Marvels exhibition. We have tried to bring as much as possible down from the existing exhibition for the public to engage with as well as our different visitor engagement activities that our staff carry out throughout the day.

I will be sure to pass your comments onto a relevant manager.

If you’d like to discuss this further with us, please do not hesitate to contact us on 01382 228800 or staff@dundeesciencecentre.org.uk

Kind regards,
The Visitor Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Half of it is being refurbished so it takes away the experience..staff are excellent but I feel price should be reduced to reflect less choice and space

Thank Gav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundeeSciCentre, The Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Hi Gav G,

As you mentioned, our top floor is currently under construction for our new Medical Marvels exhibition we have however brought down the existing exhibits to the ground floor and for this reason the admission prices have remained the same. Along with our hands on exhibits we have a number of different shows that run throughout the day for the whole family to engage with.

I will be sure to pass your comments onto an appropriate team member. If you wish to get in touch to discuss further please contact us on 01382 228800 or by emailing us at staff@dundeesciencecentre.org.uk

Kind regards,
The Visitor Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Didn’t plan on coming here but the discovery museum doesn’t open until later in the day and we were really impressed! Wasn’t to pricey. Was very hands on loads to see and do there was a student in from the university who did games with the children and we particularly enjoyed the myths and medicine show by Michael our son loved it and so did we!

Thank bb2016bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DundeeSciCentre, The Visitor Services Team at Dundee Science Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi bb2016bb,

Thank you for a lovely review. We're glad to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves and the shows - I'll be sure to pass on your lovely words to Michael.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
The Visitor Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dundee Science Centre also viewed

 

Been to Dundee Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing