We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Duntrune House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Dundee
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
77
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostsst andrewsdetox retreata real home from homebroughty ferrybarriealisontay
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The Duntrune House in Dundee, Scotland, is a B&B located about a mile out of Dundee. It has the atmosphere of a small castle, with grand rooms, high ceilings, a grand staircase and a lovely entrance, but it is also warm and cozy. The Graham room is quite large; apparently it was the master suite at one time. All rooms look out into the fields. Breakfast is very good and I would highly recommend having at least one dinner there. The owners bring in a chef who prepares a gourmet dinner. The most wonderful thing about the Duntrune house is the husband and wife team that run it. They are most welcoming and warm. Also nearlby is Glamis Castle, the castle where the recently deceased Queen Mom grew up. Definitely worth the tour.

Room Tip: Graham suite is the largest room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BklynNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We strongly recommend Duntrune House as a Bed & Breakfast in Scotland. Convenient to the Castle Tour, St. Andrews and Edinburgh. This B&B is a delightful combination of staying in a Scotish manor home, a stay with friends, and a gourmet tour. Dinner is well worth the extra as they bring in a special chef. The rooms are alive with antiques and the decorating has been exquisitely reconstructed. The owners have taken painstaking care of this house. The grounds are peaceful. You may need the help of the owners for directions but with that, it is not difficult to find. Just minutes out of Dundee. Such a peaceful place is well worth staying several days.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelDude10535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed at Duntrune House for a week. My wife and me had a vast room overlooking the garden with a grand view reaching from Dundee and Braughty Ferry till St. Andrews on clear days. Our son had a smaller room (sharing the same view) which was also quiet ok in size with en suite facilities and all other amenities both rooms shared.

But the best part of that B&B is the hospitality and the cordiality of the owners of the property. Barrie and Olwyn did everything to make our stay as pleasant as posiible starting every morning with a delicious cooked scottish breakfast, providing information and tips on sightseeing or dining out, and being helpful in any aspect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apkat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We were so warmly welcomed by Olwyn and Barrie. They seemed to truly enjoy each guest. They are quite knowledgeable about places to visit, and they helped us plan memorable days. The house is huge and beautiful, if a bit cluttered. The best night was when our hosts made a fire for us in the fireplace. We had dinner one night, which was prepared by Matt, their chef. It was the best meal we had in all of Scotland! We were very pleased with our stay at Duntrune House.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteMountainsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Very Spacious rooms and wonderful hospitality from Hosts Olwyn and Barrie Jack.
Lovely country setting but only minutes to Broughty Ferry and Dundee.
Mary & Kevin,NZ

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews