We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Highland Experience Tours
from US$70.75
More Info
from US$382.06
More Info
from US$53.77
More Info
from US$233.48
More Info
Reviews (5,211)
Filter reviews
5,211 results
Traveller rating
4,334
549
131
97
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,334
549
131
97
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glen coe loch ness day tour isle of skye scottish highlands driver guide his knowledge great trip beautiful country photo opportunities company lochness castle legend tales
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 5,211 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positives - tour guide was lovely, very knowledgeable and dealt with an unexpected diversion. The coach trips were full of interesting commentary and stories.

Negatives - COVID nightmare, the coach was small and crammed with people with only a few empty seats, mask wearing not enforced past the pre travel briefing, not a single passenger window in the entire coach which just seems ridiculous even pre-covid. The heat vents never seemed to turn off so it was uncomfortably hot next to the windows. If someone there had covid, we now all definitely have it.

The stops were far too short, the longest stop at loch Ness we enjoyed because we didn't get on the cruise so we had time to sight-see and wonder along the beach. If we had got the cruise there would maybe be 10 minutes either side to look around, glad we didn't get on since it left late and came back early anyway.

Other stops in the town's/villages were barely long enough to grab a coffee or explore the town. The little stops to sight see and take pictures were nice however.

Overall we felt the magic had fizzled out by loch Ness and I think if the time we spent traveling up and around Inverness after that stop was instead given to us as free time at the town's we stopped off at, it could've been a slightly more pleasant experience. But the nail in the coffin was the lack of covid safety measures, a small coach crammed with people without a single window and no true social distancing in place I can't recommend.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank rozzawills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceTeam, Manager at Highland Experience Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour with us.

We're glad you enjoyed the information provided by your driver-guide.

On our tours, as you state, we advise everyone to keep a mask on whilst in the vehicle, in our pre-tour information sent to customers and during the safety briefing before our tours start.

We also provide hand sanitiser and regularly wipe down all touch points. When customers board, we ensure people are sitting in their bubbles so you aren't sitting next to someone you don't know.

The tour covers a lot of Scotland but we try to include a mixture of short and longer stops so you can experience as much of our stunning country as possible.

Kind regards,
Highland Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Definitely give this experience a go if visiting Scotland. The value that you get for the price you pay is astounding. A 12-hour day packed with intriguing stories and anthems. Many stops along the way for facilities, lunch, photos and an the option to cruise Loch Ness. The tour guide, which was also the driver, proved to be incredibly knowledgeable and engaging. The views in themselves are enough to make this trip worthwhile.

One couple seemed to be more interested in what sounds the coach was making, than in the actual tour, even pulling out a sound metre on their phone at one point. What a shame.

1  Thank Fearless36941156929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceTeam, Manager at Highland Experience Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad you enjoyed the stories and music shared throughout our tour to accompany the stunning views.

We hope to see you on another tour soon.

Kind regards,
Highland Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was the best thing we've done while in Edinburgh. The tour guide was very knowledgable and loved the tour as much as we did. Absolutely worth every penny. I recommend 100%

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank F5809BCrobertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceTeam, Manager at Highland Experience Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello!

Thanks for your wonderful 5* review - we are very glad you had a great time and our tour was the best thing you did whilst in Edinburgh!

Kind regards,
Highland Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

While the tour guide was knowledgeable and kind, she was boring. The bus was crowded (told 16 guests when there were 21), a rattle trap and very noisy, uncomfortable and the sound was AWFUL! The speakers buzzed and the volume varied wildly. Theme music was undiscernable. The "cruise" on Loch Ness was a rip off; very short and crowded. It was 12.5 hour day packed full if time on the bus and a few stops on the road side to snap photos. The first stop in Calandar was too early and everything was shut tight. The last stop was in Piltchary and was too late and everything was shut tight. We stopped in Fort William only long enough to get take away. The driver and the guide are the same which seems very dangerous. She would stop talking in heavy traffic, which is reasonable and safer, bit not what you expect on a tour. Very disappointing.

1  Thank stacyf368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceTeam, Manager at Highland Experience Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago


Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We're glad to read your guide knowledgeable and kind. You would have been on one of our 32-seater vehicles, which with 21 passengers would allow for distancing.

This tour is fairly long due to distance of over 500km that is covers within the Scottish Highlands. Most people request to see Loch Ness due to the mystery of the monster and the popularity of the loch. To be able to see Loch Ness in one day, it does require a bit of driving to reach from Edinburgh. Our itinerary is designed to allow short photo opportunities with lengthier comfort stops and attraction stops. We try to ensure driving time on the tour is no more than 2 hours at once so you can get off the bus as frequently as possible.

Our route covers the two main routes through the Highlands and includes the Cairngorm National Park, Loch Ness, Ben Nevis, Glen Coe, the Rannoch Moor. These places are always highly enjoyed by our passengers and receive lots of positive comments.

Although, you do spend a large amount of time travelling on the bus for this tour, it is for the intention of covering a large distance in one day and to be able to see as much as possible of the beautiful Highland scenery during the journey. Perhaps our 2-day Loch Ness Shore Experience would have been a better option for you as this allows for more time off the bus and an overnight stop near Loch Ness to really enjoy the Highlands of Scotland.

Thanks again for your feedback, we are constantly looking to improve our tours and as part of our customer experience review will include your valuable feedback.

Kind Regards,
Highland Experience Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

That was a great trip! Murray, our tour guide was fantastic. We stopped twice in two different towns and twice in the highlands. We had a really lovely time. FYI Loch Ness boat trip wasn’t included in the price of the tour. It was £16 for adult, £14 for kids - would strongly suggest taking some cash if possible, otherwise I’m sure your guide will stop over at the nearest atm.

1  Thank NikolinaAida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceTeam, Manager at Highland Experience Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Nikolina,

Thank you for your feedback. We're very happy to read you had a great time with our driver-guide Moray. We hope to see you on another tour again soon!

Kind regards,
Highland Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews