We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #69 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellence”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed in a suite which was spacious and well appointed. Thoroughly appreciated the air conditioning during the warm weather, Hotel is very close to all attractions. Most important are the staff who are so enthusiastic and professional and who all speak English. Special mention of Dominic and Ryan in the bar - great service guys. Food in the bistro was excellent. Of special note is the courtyard for a drink or a meal.

Room Tip: Take a suite with a little juilet balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 914Swanny914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your delightful review of Hotel du Vin, Edinburgh. It was an absolute pleasure to read your wonderful review and I have already shared with the teams. I must agree the team I have on board are a credit to themselves and indeed the hotel and very lucky to have such professional colleagues.

The wonderful weather has made our courtyard a prime attraction and we are lucky to have such a wonderful hidden treasure.

Many thanks again and please do come visit soon again!

Best wishes,

Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    336
    124
    57
    11
See reviews for
108
584
43
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel is an short walking distance from key Edinburgh sites such as museums, the castle and the Royal Mile. It is also a short walk from a good selection of restaurants.

The hotel decorations are modern and appealing, both in the lobby and in the rooms. The rooms had plenty of space, were clean, and had comfortable beds. This room faced the inside courtyard, and so was quiet. The room could be a bit gloomy at night due to power-saving lighting. The weather during this visit was quite warm, so the air conditioning was welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sondra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Sondra,

Thank you for your review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted you had a lovely stay with us and found the hotel to be very appealing. I trust you had a great visit to the UK and made the journey home safe.

Best regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed in the studio suite for a weekend away in Edinburgh. The location of the hotel is convenient, while still being tucked away enough to provide peace and quiet. The overall decor of the entrance and main lobby is inviting yet refined. We found our room to be nicely equipped - the bed is very large and cozy, and there was also a nice seating area with comfortable and classy leather covering. There is a complimentary Nespresso machine in the room, which I think is appropriate (yet still appreciate) when paying this range of room price. The bathroom was the highlight of the room. There is a proper spacious soaking tub and an excellent monsoon shower. My primary focus is typically on a well equipped bathroom and Hotel du Vin did not disappoint! I would recommend this hotel for a weekend or special occasion treat.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CKC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear CKC21,

Thank you for your lovely review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and that you enjoyed the facilities on offer.

I do hope you had a lovely visit to Scotland and maybe have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed as part of a sunday night deal - you pay £75 for the room on the proviso that you spend another £75 in the restaurant.

The hotel is centrally located, and we were able to drop our bags off in the morning and they looked after them whilst we visited the city. Our standard room was a little on the small side, but big enough for the two of us. The bathroom was again a little small but had everything you needed and we didn't feel crowded. The room was simple and stylish in decor. The bed was comfortable and the monsoon shower amazing. Good TV and hairdryer. didn't use the ironing board etc but they all looked allright. Lovely toiletries and fluffy towels with good quality bedding.

Great selection of teas and an espresso machine in the room with complimentary capsules. The minibar fridge was stocked with a (predictably) pricey range of snacks and drinks, although the selection was good and the prices no more than you would have paid elsewhere given the location. The fridge had a bit of extra space so we were able to store our breakfast drinks.

The ambiance in the restaurant was lovely, with options for pre- and post- dinner drinks in the whisky snug (as cosy as you would hope) or upstairs bar. The food was delicious. If it hadn't been part fo the room deal we would have thought it a bit pricey but given the room promotion, location of the hotel and quality of the food it felt worth it. We had tempura oysters (£3.95 each), asparagus and hollandaise (£6.95) and scallops (£9.95) to start. For mains, roast duck and rock bass (both £17.95). Side dishes were an extra £3.95 each. Amazingly tasty food with delicious drinks. The service was great and the evening felt like a luxurious but relaxed treat.

Reception service was variable - the night porter and staff at 6:30am were informative and helpful. The daytime service experience was a little more chaotic - they initially mislaid the keys and our luggage - but friendly nonetheless.

well worth a visit, especially is you get a deal!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear HannieJ,

Thank you for lovely thorough review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro, Edinburgh. It was an absolute pleasure to read how you enjoyed your stay and making full use of the hotel facilities.

Thank you also for your lovely comments regarding your dining experience in our Bistro and you got to make the most of the menu and various options available. We do pride ourselves in offering great fresh food, that is tasty and memorable.

I am sorry to read the reception experience was a little chaotic on check in, I do envisage this being a one off as we have taken on several new team members.

Thank you once again and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had stayed at the Hotel du Vin in Glasgow and I'm afraid the one in Edinburgh suffers by comparison. The best part of our stay was the bar and whisky room. Found the service and breakfast in the restaurant to be lacking. The layout of the room was a bit too interesting for our taste: the shower and bathtub are located in the bedroom. And the actual bathroom (toilet and sink) stank of mold. Another thing that might prevent us from staying here again is that there was a lot of street noise in our room (might be better at the back).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. If you prefer a conventional layout (with the bathing facilities separate from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Jennifer M,

Thank you for your review of Hotel du Vin, Edinburgh. I am sorry to read your stay did not live up to your expectations. Each of the Hotel du Vin are very unique and different from each other. The hotel in Glasgow is our only 5* property, hence the dining experience and setup was different from us here in Edinburgh.

The majority of our rooms have the lovely roll top baths in the room and separate monsoon shower area's. I do appreciate that this is not to everyone's tastes, however our standard rooms all have private separate bathrooms, although a little smaller from the other room categories.

Thank you for your lovely comments on the bar and Whisky Snug area's and I am delighted you made use of both these rooms.

Regards,
Michael Musgrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#46 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#39 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $290 - $639
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing