We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated; Rushed Service”

Miller & Carter Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #138 of 2,452 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: Located in the heart of the city, we are the perfect place to stop and unwind after exploring the wonders of Edinburgh Castle. Our cosy interior will make you feel right at home, ready to treat yourself and indulge in one of our 30 day aged Scotch beef steaks. Once you've tasted our hand-cut, 30-day aged Scotch beef you'll soon appreciate the care of our farmers, the exacting standards of our butchers and the passion of our chefs. Don't just take our word for it; book a table and decide for yourself.
Reviewed 14 August 2021

Second visit to this restaurant after an excellent experience first time round. We last went in May for my husband's birthday. Unfortunately our chateaubriand wasn't cooked as ordered but this was quickly rectified and we had no complaints. The waitress asked if we were celebrating a special occasion and it was a nice touch to get a complimentary sorbet with "Happy Birthday" piped on it. We made another visit for my birthday (August) and had a completely different experience. Table booked for 6.15 - drinks, starter and mains all done before 7pm! Talk about express dinner - it was quicker than McDonalds, and we felt so rushed rather having a nice relaxing evening. Asked the waiter to give us some time before dessert. 10 minutes later he asked if we were ready to order our dessert. We had pate to start with, same as last time, which was very good. Husband had ribeye, which was average, nothing special, but the onion loaf was as hard as a brick and had obviously been sitting under the lights for some time. This was sent back and a replacement given. I opted for the salmon, which was reasonable but had the most weird sauce ever. I was a bit disappointed that the waiter didn't ask if we were celebrating anything special and felt that he just wanted us served and out as quickly as possible. Will not be making a return visit, I am sure there are better restaurants in Edinburgh than this where we can have a nice relaxing meal at a reasonable price.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Janey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Janey D, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that your experience was not a more positive one. We will feedback your comments to the Kitchen team, and they will use this as an opportunity to improve. We do pride ourselves on providing our guests with personable yet efficient service. We are more than accommodate to a pace which is more comfortable for yourself and your guests if aware. We do consider us again in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 2,321 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

We were sceptical as we had a poor meal in another M&C but friends recommend this restaurant and we were not disappointed.
We had a small booth which was a lovely private table. The waiter gave us excellent, honest advice about the food and drinks menu.

We had 2 different steaks. Both excellent quality and perfectly cooked. They came with chips, sauces , onion loaf and lettuce wedge. All great and very filling!!! My husband considers himself a steak connoisseur and he was mightily impressed.

Definitely give this place a go- we have been converted!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank JaneGNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Janegnewcastle, thank you for your praise and kind comments about our team. We are delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

Fab visit the other nt here . Great service by our server Alex she was just so professional and engaging with us . Food was just so lovely and a great atmosphere in the place will definitely be back .

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Diane M, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Miller & Carter Edinburgh City! We will pass along your feedback to Alex - we are positive she will be thrilled. Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2021

There are 5 in our family - Grandparents, Parents & Grandchild.
This means that 5 times a year Grandad pays for a family meal at a good restaurant! (I do get a prezzie when it’s mine admittedly). So this was one of those occasions and a return visit, having enjoyed our previous visit, also under Covid Regs
Signing in the track & trace didn’t go well before we got in, so we resorted to using the laptop, with staff typing in the details.
Service was as expected with water and drinks quickly produced.
Our ‘starter’ was just Garlic Bread. A bit of a family tradition/joke since the small person was about 3 and, having asked for a piece of mine, stole the next piece off my plate, since she liked it so much. The Children’s menu has it as a starter so she got her own 4 portions, the adults having 2 shared servings (with & without cheese) This didn’t last long, being beautifully soft, aided by the small one who having polished hers off, stuck into our platefuls as well.
We had Salmon, Chicken, T-bone and the Special offer 16 oz Steak for me – it was MY birthday after all – child reverted to Mac’n Cheese.
Decent portions, the only problem was the miniature saucepan of sauce with our steaks. My steak came on a flat wooden board. So, in trying to cut the first slice (with a fearsome looking steak-knife) the handle of the sauce and my left wrist got together and poured half of the sauce in my lap!!
Our waiter arrived quickly with a damp cloth and extra napkins for the clear up!! The family just rolled around laughing their heads off.
Once normal service was resumed, we carried on enjoying the food immensely.
Bill arrived quickly when requested
Looks like it may become one of our regular haunts, despite my liking for trying different places. I’m a great believer in the Golden Rule i.e. He who has the gold makes the rules. But it’s apparently a 4 to 1 vote for going back

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eLaReF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Elaref, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us this review. It is fantastic to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your family meal with us. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2021

Really great day out with friends and great food and service from M&C. Staff and atmosphere was great

Date of visit: August 2021
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Miller & Carter Edinburgh City Centre also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Miller & Carter Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.