We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riot of colour and first-rate service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #30 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Riot of colour and first-rate service”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

While not a great location for those planning on nursing a hangover (the jazzy juxtaposition of vibrant colours and patterns on walls, beds and floors perhaps proving too challenging) this centrally located boutique hotel permits ready pedestrian access to the main tourist spots in Edinburgh while also handy for business people. Friendly welcome from kilt-clad bellhops and an efficient reception. Breakfast is better than most places though some more fresh fruit would be welcome. Room selection will turn on what you are after - while the internal rooms (necessarily) offer no view it does mean you don't get the street noise so, if that bugs you (and the nearby Espionage nigghtclub and bar on Victoria Street can be a source of streetnoise, especially on weekends, make sure to be specific about "quiet" being important or pack the ear protectors. On our most recent trip we were in a 5th floor suite which appeared to have triple glazing so we faced onto George IV Bridge but avoided the noise while getting great views across the Old Town rooftops and down to the Forth. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Victoria Street will get late night noise on weekends as revellers from the Espionage n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARDNAHOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,810
    657
    212
    62
    42
See reviews for
306
1,564
99
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I visited Missoni yesterday for drinks after a wedding that I attended at the registrars office just over the road. Staff were very pleasant all either wearing the Missoni Tartan or casual matching t-shirts....a refreshing change to the same old boring black shirt and trousers combo. The bar itself is very swanky, lighting subtle yet not dark and just a really nice space to be in. Good doo with a good selection of quality drinks on offer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fawzia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

So pleased I found this place. The staff could not be friendlier, the facilities are great one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. I love the rainforest shower / wet room, the free movies, the rooms are modern and very comfortable. I would recommend and would come back to Edinburgh just to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Great location, excellent service, lovely staff and of course rooms in delightful Missoni fabrics. Two items of cleaning a day included and free soft drinks. This is simply the place to stay. Even the restaurant is good. Simple but good italian with a great wine list.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richb0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My Husband booked this hotel for a surprise getaway and he made a super choice! It is very Italian! slick design and very trendy. The staff are all completely professional and the service was second to none. We had an executive room (434) which was lovely, floor to ceiling windows with a nice view over the city. The mini bar was included much to my dismay as I am 6 month pregnant! Hubby made the most of it though! The breakfast was amazing!! I had Eggs benedict with Smoked salmon both mornings and it was delicious! The buffet was lovely too. All such lovely fresh fruit and cold meats etc. The staff at breakfast were excellent and the service was quick but you never felt rushed. We sat and pondered over the papers and the whole vibe is very relaxed. We are in the restaurant Cucina on our first evening, well that is a seperate review in itself but in a nutshell, the service and staff were excellent, but I felt the food did not quite match the price tag.

The room facilities were excellent and I cannot fault this hotel! Some hotels of this standard have quite snooty staff but every staff member we met from reception to bar and restaurant were professional yet very friendly. Super location, great facilities! If you can spend a little more it is worth every penny! Thanks to my hubby for a good choice!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizzyladylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
957 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,293 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $269 - $822
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing