We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
US$713
View deal
TripadvisorUS$713
Booking.com
eDreamsUS$713
FindHotelUS$714
Agoda.comUS$715
StayForLong
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,794)
Filter reviews
1,794 results
Traveller rating
1,180
255
149
128
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,180
255
149
128
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the secret garden old rectory inner sanctum turret suite breakfast hamper restaurant with rooms royal mile four poster bed bottle of champagne roll top bath main restaurant sitting room sister hotel cooked breakfast visiting edinburgh yogurt gothic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,794 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2021

Starters and desserts, amazing. Main course ok. Be aware that everything is charged even bread and water. Check the drinks menu prices. Don’t be like me. Ordered a house white and they brought the most expensive house white for £16 a glass. We later found out there are cheaper alternative house white.
Check all prices before you order anything. Service was what was expected form a place like that. Not coming back. Lost my trust.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank BellaDiva18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 November 2021

I've been a little tardy with this review; we last stayed in July. However, I have eaten here many times over the years and stayed a few, so feel very well-qualified to review it.

There is simply nothing like 'The Witchery'. The whole experience is extraordinary. If one is simply eating, then the restaurant is magical, the food is truly wonderful, the service faultless and the ambience unique. Make sure that you book a table in the 'Secret Garden'. The Sommelier is always on hand with wine recommendations that won't require a mortgage...

If one is also staying in what one can only describe as gothic luxury, the experience is heightened. Don't eat breakfast in your suite; if you are across the road, walk over to the restaurant, where breakfast is served by candlelight amongst red-leathered opulence.

The Witchery has been part of Edinburgh's fabric since 1979 and is my favourite restaurant with rooms in the world. That's no hyperbole; there is simply nothing like it anywhere.

A good night out here will cost you well into four figures. If you're like me, saving is needed, but we plan to go once a year & sample each suite for Anniversary celebrations.

I urge you to do whatever you need to do so that you can visit. You will not be disappointed.

Room tip: Try each suite!
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SteveHS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 October 2021

Stayed here so many times over the last 10 years. Every suite is perfect, immaculately presented and just stunning.
The location is fabulous, pretty much next to the castle.
Staff are really friendly. No place like it. Stayed in the Guardroom this time, very quiet and a huge suite.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2021 via mobile

To say the Witchery is atmospheric is an understatement. The dark timbered room, candle-lit and bedecked with mini pumpkins set the stage for a wonderful evening. Every mouthful was an explosion of joy. The service was very friendly and the surprise anniversary dessert was that "going a little bit extra" that made this a must go dining experience when visiting Edinburgh.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2021 via mobile

3rd time and it does not disappoint!
Indulgent , sexy , expensive and not for the faint hearted or penny pinchers !
This is old school glamour , style and story - you get what you pay for !
Not for kids , not for those who want cheap and cheerful, not for those who have forgotten to have fun . Life is short , come and play here if you get a moment to be decadent !

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Thorbsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews