We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow a real eye opener.”

The Real Mary King's Close
Ranked #8 of 393 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Hidden beneath the Royal Mile lies Edinburgh’s deepest secret: a warren of hidden ‘closes’ where real people lived, worked and died. For centuries they have lain forgotten and abandoned…until now. Visit Edinburgh's most famous Close, which makes Edinburgh's Hidden History unmissable.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This visit was very interesting, the girl who took the us round was brilliant, upbeat and made the visit very very interesting with lots of historical references. Great Great Great.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank M787PLjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"chris t"
in 651 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 1,307 reviews
"underground streets"
in 152 reviews
"ghost story"
in 253 reviews
"living conditions"
in 195 reviews
"great tour"
in 609 reviews
"edinburgh's history"
in 182 reviews
"tour takes"
in 123 reviews
"royal mile"
in 680 reviews
"hour tour"
in 171 reviews
"great insight"
in 128 reviews
"visiting edinburgh"
in 248 reviews
"old town"
in 278 reviews
"plague"
in 601 reviews
"agnes"
in 124 reviews
"lloyd"
in 151 reviews
"century"
in 530 reviews
Filter

1,574 - 1,578 of 15,040 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

It was short, but an interesting look at how people lived in the 16th to 19th centuries. There were children on the tour and they were quite scared and I can’t blame them. If you are claustrophobic this is not the tour for you. You also cannot take photos for security reasons since it is under a government building. I would recommend this.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 94seeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We found this bit of hidden history, and it was an unexpected window into the past. A bit tourist enhanced, but the walk thru a pretty much antique, untouched part of the 1700's city was a real find, much enjoyed and worth the cost.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank jimpQ2490OE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Great guide who was so enthusiastic telling really interesting stories about the close, well worth visiting but limited availability so book in advance.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank C8rd1ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Everything in Edinburgh seems to shut down early, so I was looking for something to do on a Friday night. I came across Mary King’s Close and thought I’d give it a try. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I’m SO glad I went. I thought it might be a bit spooky but it was actually hilarious! Our guide (Rob I think?) cracked jokes through the whole tour and had us in hysterics. It was very informative and showcased real people, instead of focusing on the royals like most other tours in the city. Not to be missed!

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank Lyndsay3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Real Mary King's Close also viewed

 

Been to The Real Mary King's Close? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing