We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, comfortable room, friendly staff, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #101 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I stayed for one night at the Royal Leonardo Hotel near Haymarket in Edinburgh when I was in town on business. The hotel was comfortable, a couple of minutes' walk to Haymarket station and local bus stops, the staff were friendly and helpful, the food and coffee were GREAT and, importantly for me, the WiFi was strong. I needed to do an early check-in, which the staff at the front desk arranged for me without any problem. There are many lovely restaurants, cafes and bars in the area. A great base from which to explore Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 108 of 3,028 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

On arrival at this busy hotel the staff were friendly and efficient. Well impressed with the bedroom. Huge comfy bed, large tv, loads of storage, safe, homely and beautifully decorated.
Did not eat at the hotel as quite expensive but light bright dining room. So many lovely restaurants close by.
Also within easy walking distance of Princess street. We will be back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRHEdinburgh, General Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Jackie,

Thank you for your great feedback, the team will be really delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind Regards
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights with 3 others and we all thought it was a very good hotel indeed.
We had a deluxe double which was lovely and spacious, and although the road outside was busy we couldn't hear it which was great.
I've taken a star off as the shower was pretty useless and as it's over a bath I had to practically stand on the taps to catch the water.
When they did the refurbishment it was the ideal opportunity to replace the baths with walk in showers rather than keeping the old Premier Inn fittings.
The pillows were the worst I've encountered, although the bed was comfortable It's no use if you can only get broken sleep.
The breakfast was excellent, but again fell short because half the items are not re-stocked! 2 mornings there was no bacon and another morning there was bacon but no eggs!! Travellers have mentioned this before on trip advisor but it seems this hotel doesn't respond to feedback.

Overall it was an impressive stay and we loved the staff and the city as we'd not been before.
Would I stay again? Not sure as I didn't get much sleep or bacon!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gjfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRHEdinburgh, General Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback, it is really important for us to see our hotel through the eyes of our guests. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team to enable us to make the improvements that would have allowed you to give us 5 stars! I do hope that you will return and allow us to show you the changes that we will implement.

Kind Regards
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in this hotel for two nights. Great hotel and very clean. Good sized rooms and bathroom. Good location, lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Edinburgh Castle was about a 20min walk. I would stay in this hotel again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRHEdinburgh, General Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Natalie,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us including the new rooms and great location. I look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind Regards
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Hotel has recently been renovated. Rooms were clean, had lots of ports for charging phones, tablets etc. Parking is available at reduced rate for hotel guests. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a little weak for the price. Easy walking distance to Edinburgh Castle. Overall, good and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineD20162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRHEdinburgh, General Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your feedback onto the Restaurant Manager regarding breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind Regards
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,335 reviews
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#79 of 151 in Edinburgh
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#97 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,258 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,631 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $87 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing