We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad press”
Review of Amarone

Amarone
Ranked #384 of 2,435 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: Situated in the heart of Edinburgh New Town on the corner of George Street and St Andrews Square, Amarone Edinburgh is the perfect venue for a meal with business colleagues or friends. Our striking restaurant offers the cool ambience of a contemporary Milanese restaurant and pizzeria dining experience.Our bustling bar carries a wide range of the finest Italian wines, Prosecco, Champagne and an Italian inspired cocktail list. It's the ideal location to meet friends pre and post dinner, to take a break from a hectic shopping trip, or to wind down after a hard day at the office. Located in the former safe, the “Vault” private dining room is perfect for special occasions, meetings, or to enjoy a cocktail master class with one of our bartenders. The Vault is suitable for parties of 12 to 32 people, with a maximum of 20 for the cocktail master classes.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Appreciate this place has taken a hit recently over its service
I can honestly say i found nothing wrong with the service rather the reverse
All staff were very keen to help and provided excellent service coupled with excellent food.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clement231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The DRG, Marketing at Amarone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Clement231! We're really glad that you enjoyed your visit! Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Team @ Amarone Edinburgh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 2,913 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The menu options were as expected for this type of venue and the food quality was acceptable but the overall experience was mitigated by long waits between courses and the inexperience of the staff.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Branton1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The DRG, Marketing at Amarone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good evening,

I hope this finds you well.

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We really appreciate it as it helps us keep our standards high and highlights areas where we may need to improve.

We apologise that the overall service tinted your visit with us, I have passed your comments onto the General Manager. Unfortunately we are very short staffed and have serval new starts who are currently undergoing training. This is perhaps why we did not deliver our usual standard of service you normally would when dining in our restaurant. However, we feel confident that service will be back to it's normal high standard very soon

If you wish to make a future reservation, please fell free to book it through catrionao@thedrg.co.uk and we will make sure that you are well looked after.

Kind Regards,
Team Amarone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went there for dinner with my partner. We had pizza, pasta and a couple of drinks Al Fresco. There were a few issues like food arriving before the drinks, pasta not very warm, cocktails not made 100% right, a table for 3 next to us extremely loud BUT, the Server FELIX made our experience simply amazing.
I' ve been Restaurant Manager for almost 10 years in Glasgow and I know very well what good service and customers experience should be and I can say you that Felix is a Super Top Server, who has been able to turn an experience that otherwise would have been very poor into a fantastic one, and believe me when I say that that was such impressing.
Extremely polite (a bit over-apologetic but still so nice and lovely), extremely professional and totally customers focused, making sure every table was fine, despite the kitchen and the bar didn't make his job any easy at all.
Well done Amarone for having what I truly believe is a Master of hospitality, someone who makes your place a 5 stars straight away.

Thank you so much Felix, you made our night.

Ivan and Laura

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank InfinityGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The DRG, Marketing at Amarone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review!

We'll make sure to let Felix know how well he dealt with your table!

Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Team @ Amarone Edinburgh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a nice meal, the restaurant it very big and was very busy so it was quite noisy. Overall worth visit.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Hoopey1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The DRG, Marketing at Amarone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you! We're really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!

Team @ Amarone Edinburgh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All three of us loved everything about the restaurant, the service, ambience, price and most importantly the food were all fantastic. Unfortunately couldn’t take photos as the food didn’t last long enough.

Great value: 1, starter, 3 mains, 2 large and delicious glasses of wine and 1 soft drink came to £66

Only negative is we were too full to try the deserts which looked amazing

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank clairebP5888BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The DRG, Marketing at Amarone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon!

Thank you for your lovely review! Its great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Team @ Amarone Edinburgh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amarone also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Amarone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.