We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Ranked #37 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Residence Inn.
Location is good, 15 min walk into the city, 5 min walk to supermarket.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, and offered good service, going out of their way to book tours and advice for our short break.
Rooms were bigger than expected, and comfortable and clean.
The breakfast provide was not fancy, but sufficient and within expectations.
However, they have a very limited menu for other meals, and the soup I ordered tasted like it came from a can.
Overall, a good hotel for 2, but would not recommend for children.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your considered comments.

We are delighted you were able to make good use of our great location and spacious suites. Our team are always keen to ensure you enjoy you visit to Edinburgh.

Kindest regards,
Colin Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,005 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel is well located in Edinburgh. The rooms are spacious, staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I recently spent five nights in the Residence Inn and thought it was a terrific value. The hotel is conveniently located - 5 minutes walk from the University of Edinburgh, 10 minutes from the Royal Mile, and 15 minutes from Princes Street. Basically, almost all of Edinburgh's major attractions are close by. The hotel's amenities are good: free wifi throughout, a complementary breakfast (including pastries, yogurt, eggs, breads, and sausages/bacon, large, nicely designed rooms, and fresh cookies every afternoon. I also found the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. My only negative comment is a minor one: the light for the bathroom also controls the alcove where the sink is, so if one has to get up to use the facilities during the night, there's no way to avoid turning on a light that might wake up other occupants of the room. One more benefit - there's a Sainsbury's Loal (small supermarket) and a Starbucks roughly one minute from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffLinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your considered comments.

We are delighted you had an enjoyable week and were able to make good use of our great location. Our team are always keen to ensure you enjoy you visit to Edinburgh & the 'cookies' are delicious.

Kindest regards,
Colin Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed in a few marriotts and given this is new we thought we would try it.

The rooms are modern and fairly spacious. The bathroom is very small with no bath and to be honest you wouldn't want to be staying in the room with someone you don't know well. Positives: Good location, friendly staff and a decent breakfast
Negatives: too hot, water temperature for the shower was a bit erratic and took ages to get hot, the room wasn't cleaned. We went out at 10:15 in the morning and got back at 16:45 to find it hadn't been cleaned! They turned up at about 17:30 ...which was a bit late in the day. We got an apology and told it had been a busy day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Impssupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your considered comments.

We are delighted you were able to make good use of our great location and spacious suites.

We continue to work on areas that may ensure your continued enjoyment.

Kindest regards,
Colin Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in early March as a weekend break away with my partner.
The location is absolutely perfect, it only took us 15 minutes to walk from Edinburg Waverly train station to the hotel - all the main attraction are within easy walking distance. Also, there are lots of nice pubs and restaurants nearby.

We found the hotel itself very clean and modern. All of the reception staff were friendly and only too happy to help. We were offered maps and info at the front desk on first arrival and staff always offered a smile and a 'hello' as we were coming and going.

The hotel room was lovely. Immaculately clean with everything we needed - TV, desk and chair, an armchair and a small kitchen area as well as a bathroom. The room was always cleaned and made up in the mornings. We never used the kitchen area as breakfast was served from 7am - 11am and then we ate out at the great restaurants nearby. I will agree with others that the dining area is small, but this wasn't a problem for us and we always got a seat straight away and never saw anyone having to stand and wait either. There is a nice selection of food at breakfast - hot and cold.

I found the bed to be comfortable - you can request foam or feather pillows. Room temperature was perfect as we kept the radiator on low. Noise was at a minimum through the night as the hotel is situated off any busy roads.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone needing a place to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your considered comments.

We are delighted you were able to make good use of our great location and spacious suites. Our team are always keen to ensure you enjoy you visit to Edinburgh.

Kindest regards,
Colin Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#60 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,634 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,336 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $131 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn By Marriott Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing