We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of positives and a couple negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #36 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

There are a lot of positives on this hotel:
- Very friendly and helpful staff
- Great location for visiting Edinburgh
- Free, full breakfast
- Saintsbury Local just around the corner
- Microwave, dishwasher, and refrigerator in room
- Tea, coffee, water, and a couple cookies refreshed daily in the room

But there are a couple negatives:
- At breakfast, they were very slow to refresh the food and coffee and it is very, very busy after 830am
- The maid service was spotty; the same dirt was on the floor three days running
- The mattress was very tired and was shaped like a "W" with dents worn into each side

I enjoyed our stay and as long as you remember this is a Residence Inn and not a Marriott, I expect you would too.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 72,850,007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj C, General Manager at Residence Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear 72850007,

Thank you for sharing your review from your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh.

I am pleased that you enjoyed much of the hotel and the facilities plus recognized our team for their efforts. I also take on board your comments regarding breakfast as this is something we monitor very closely to ensure that the offerings and quality meet or exceed our customers’ expectations.

I am disappointed to learn the issue with cleanliness and mattress and can assure you that we have reviewed your feedback and taken learning's on board and implemented corrective actions.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 220 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016

The facility is brand new. Right from Room to Bed to Service, everything was wonderful. Fantastic Breakfast and even better Service! The staff are superb and so Cordial. I loved it here. Most importantly, it is at a great location where you can just walk to all the attractions and as you walk you can cover more attractions on the way. Another very big plus point is, Sainsbury (grocery shop) is right next door! You can fill up whatever you want for the next day's trip. Couple of great restaurants next door. Nanyang has great food. Marriott's own menu if you dont feel like dining out is not bad either.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajnvij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj C, General Manager at Residence Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear rajnvj,

Our team here is extremely delighted to review your excellent comments about our hotel and we very much appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you really enjoyed the hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast selection; our Chef is very pleased to hear of your comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed you room and the in-room kitchenette facilities.

Our wonderful location indeed is an advantage for us, as we are in the close proximity of all the major tourist attractions that this beautiful city of Edinburgh has to offer.

Please do note that as you highlighted we do offer a food menu in our restaurant for both the lunch and dinner meal periods, it certainly is worth trying next time especially when it gives you the opportunity to relax and enjoy your evening time with us.

We look forward to hosting your stay in the near future.

Regards,

Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Booked here to stay as was up for a Birthday treat .

First night here bathroom tiny for the price you would think you would get more room .
Living area / kitchen ok but Lamp dirty.

Lots of maintence faults and complained and they didnt seemed bothered .

More student area clinical modern but no comfort. No air con but a fan that was useless as for comp breakfast needed to be seating is stupid area creeps into reception its not suited for Breakfast. Loved mariott liverpool but would never stay here again back to mcdonald hotels next time .

Checked out today and complained again got some money off but to me Damage was done . Should of done more .

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj C, General Manager at Residence Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Fiona H,

Thank you for choosing us to be your residence for your birthday break, wish you a very happy bleated birthday and a successful year ahead.

We are grateful to you for taking time in sharing your experience from your stay with us. Though we are of course disappointed not to have received a better score, we do take your feedback with due seriousness and in order to implement the learnings to improve consistency in our service levels.

I can assure you that cleanliness is one of our key focuses and we perform internal audits to ensure we exceed our own high standards, please be rest assured we have taken your comments on board and we will address the issue.

The building we are located in was not originally built to accommodate a hotel and hence there were some changes that needed to be made to accommodate some bathroom areas in certain rooms. We do, though have a variety room types available and have the great addition of being able to boast the kitchen facilities in our bedrooms which are on average larger than the majority of hotels in the market.

I certainly do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at the hotel in the near future.

If there is anything else I can do from my end please do get on touch with me directly and I will be happy to be of assistance.

Kind regards,

Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

A nice hotel, perfect location (ignore GPS when locating it, due to current works it took us an additional 30minutes to find the hotel). Room was great, all the items you'd need. Comfy bed. Honestly the location is brilliant, staff advised of us directions to local attractions.
Unfortunately the whole circumstances surrounding the breakfast situation let it down, having frequented various marriott hotels across the UK I was surprised that this particular hotel let the brand down. I understand it's complimentary so shouldn't complain but still. Firstly breakfast is served basically in the reception, so it's cramped and you have people checking out next to the breakfast selection. There were staff moving around, yet not clearing the tables (talking about pet snails seemed more pressing -i kid you not this was conversation of staff next to our table). There is no one to seat or take room numbers just a case of find a table. We attempted to seat ourself on the second morning, but we're asked to moved on two occasions. The member of staff tried to move us to tables that were already taken, yet the guest had simply got up to get to the buffet. When we made reference to this to the member of staff, she continued to encourage to take the seat causing embarrassment when guests returned to their table. Not sure why we couldn't sit where we had selected initially, especially when there is no one to seat you upon arriving. Various items for breakfast which was good but limited items for cooked breakfast for veggies.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj C, General Manager at Residence Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Charlotte J,

Thank you for sharing your review from your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh.

We are of course disappointed not to have received a better score and take all feedback seriously to allow us to continue to improve our service for all guests. I am pleased that you enjoyed much of the hotel and the facilities plus recognized our team for their efforts.

We are always looking to improve our performance and your feedback certainly helps. We will incorporate the learnings into the operations.

We eagerly await you next stay with us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Located in a new property called the quarter mile, this lovely little hotel made our stay very pleasant. Far better than its sister hotels in American suburbs, the Residence Inn had a lavish breakfast, room service and brands new hotel rooms with a very modern urban feel. Perfect, no fuss facility for a holiday with kids.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Kiran Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj C, General Manager at Residence Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Kiran Z,

It is with great pleasure that we reviewed your fantastic feedback. We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful time.

Thank you for highlighting the quality of the rooms and the modern décor.

We look forward to seeing you soon at our property in the near future.

Kind regards,

Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $164 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing