We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Ranked #37 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Hotel is very clean, modern and the staff were really nice. Great location, there is an NCP car park next door. Staff very helpful for the check in. You can be in the city centre in a 10-15 mins walk. Room was spacious and modern. Breakfast was really good, plenty of variety and staff on hand to tidy away dishes etc and attentive. Next stay in Edinburgh will be here.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JulesChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 239 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2016

Small hotel tucked away off the street. Expensive for a small room and small lobby. The location is near the university so if you are doing business there this may be just for you. If you are a tourist I would not recommend it. We stayed one night and then moved to the Glasshouse and still was in the Marriott system if that matters to you. Lower price, better location and much nicer facility.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sarcarja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

There are a lot of positives on this hotel:
- Very friendly and helpful staff
- Great location for visiting Edinburgh
- Free, full breakfast
- Saintsbury Local just around the corner
- Microwave, dishwasher, and refrigerator in room
- Tea, coffee, water, and a couple cookies refreshed daily in the room

But there are a couple negatives:
- At breakfast, they were very slow to refresh the food and coffee and it is very, very busy after 830am
- The maid service was spotty; the same dirt was on the floor three days running
- The mattress was very tired and was shaped like a "W" with dents worn into each side

I enjoyed our stay and as long as you remember this is a Residence Inn and not a Marriott, I expect you would too.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 72,850,007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj C, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear 72850007,

Thank you for sharing your review from your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh.

I am pleased that you enjoyed much of the hotel and the facilities plus recognized our team for their efforts. I also take on board your comments regarding breakfast as this is something we monitor very closely to ensure that the offerings and quality meet or exceed our customers’ expectations.

I am disappointed to learn the issue with cleanliness and mattress and can assure you that we have reviewed your feedback and taken learning's on board and implemented corrective actions.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The facility is brand new. Right from Room to Bed to Service, everything was wonderful. Fantastic Breakfast and even better Service! The staff are superb and so Cordial. I loved it here. Most importantly, it is at a great location where you can just walk to all the attractions and as you walk you can cover more attractions on the way. Another very big plus point is, Sainsbury (grocery shop) is right next door! You can fill up whatever you want for the next day's trip. Couple of great restaurants next door. Nanyang has great food. Marriott's own menu if you dont feel like dining out is not bad either.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajnvij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj C, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear rajnvj,

Our team here is extremely delighted to review your excellent comments about our hotel and we very much appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you really enjoyed the hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast selection; our Chef is very pleased to hear of your comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed you room and the in-room kitchenette facilities.

Our wonderful location indeed is an advantage for us, as we are in the close proximity of all the major tourist attractions that this beautiful city of Edinburgh has to offer.

Please do note that as you highlighted we do offer a food menu in our restaurant for both the lunch and dinner meal periods, it certainly is worth trying next time especially when it gives you the opportunity to relax and enjoy your evening time with us.

We look forward to hosting your stay in the near future.

Regards,

Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Booked here to stay as was up for a Birthday treat .

First night here bathroom tiny for the price you would think you would get more room .
Living area / kitchen ok but Lamp dirty.

Lots of maintence faults and complained and they didnt seemed bothered .

More student area clinical modern but no comfort. No air con but a fan that was useless as for comp breakfast needed to be seating is stupid area creeps into reception its not suited for Breakfast. Loved mariott liverpool but would never stay here again back to mcdonald hotels next time .

Checked out today and complained again got some money off but to me Damage was done . Should of done more .

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj C, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Fiona H,

Thank you for choosing us to be your residence for your birthday break, wish you a very happy bleated birthday and a successful year ahead.

We are grateful to you for taking time in sharing your experience from your stay with us. Though we are of course disappointed not to have received a better score, we do take your feedback with due seriousness and in order to implement the learnings to improve consistency in our service levels.

I can assure you that cleanliness is one of our key focuses and we perform internal audits to ensure we exceed our own high standards, please be rest assured we have taken your comments on board and we will address the issue.

The building we are located in was not originally built to accommodate a hotel and hence there were some changes that needed to be made to accommodate some bathroom areas in certain rooms. We do, though have a variety room types available and have the great addition of being able to boast the kitchen facilities in our bedrooms which are on average larger than the majority of hotels in the market.

I certainly do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at the hotel in the near future.

If there is anything else I can do from my end please do get on touch with me directly and I will be happy to be of assistance.

Kind regards,

Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,632 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,335 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $131 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn By Marriott Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing