We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Birthday Gift” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiddlers Elbow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fiddlers Elbow
Ranked #358 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Birthday Gift”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Just back from overnight stay at Fiddlers Elbow and can't praise it highly enough. Superbly located right in heart of City and great base for sightseeing etc. Everything was absolutely perfect. Staff were very friendly, welcoming and eager to please. Room had great view over the surrounding area etc, it was really large and amazing with it's chic decor / furnishings, also spotlessly clean. Bathroom was excellent with huge walkin shower plus lovely fresh white towels and great variety of toiletries. There was also a fab little kitchen with sink, microwave, kettle, tea, coffee, milk, sugar, crockery, cutlery, etc all set out on lovely granite worktop. Food both at the evening meal and morning breakfast was first class and plentiful as well as being expertly cooked. Entertainment in the evening was great from local band and singer had great voice, really made great end to the night.
Tiny minor point on the downside though was the nightclub down in the basement. Disturbance from noise of young ones coming and going went on till 3am. Double or Secondary glazing could prove beneficial here.
Without doubt would definitely recommend this "Shabby Chic" (as they call it) Hotel to everyone and we will certainly be back for possible longer stay in not too distant future.

Room Tip: Only four rooms but ALL are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    16
    13
    13
    15
See reviews for
4
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Just got back from a fantastic night here. Made to feel really welcome (thanks Grant !) . Had a lovely meal and great night of drinking and great music. Checked into our room (at 11 pm because so distracted by entertainment !) and very pleasantly surprised. Lovely big room with lovely big bathroom & walk in shower. Great breakfast in the morning - served til 12 which makes a big difference. Already looking forward to our next visit. Centrally located and everything you could ask for would reccommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Octavia72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Our stay had a lot of money off through a voucher scheme, we loved the Fiddlers Elbow and the food was great. The staff are very friendly also.
The room was fantastic and very clean and also had a small kitchen area with fridge and microwave. The only disappointment and one to bear in mind if you are a light sleeper was it is on a main road and there is a nightclub under it. It was very noisy outside in the street up until about 03.30 and this was a Tuesday night.

Room Tip: Our room was great but at the front where it was very noisy, There are only 4 rooms but maybe try an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballybee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Excellent hotel in super location, three minutes walk from Princess Street and accros the road from the Omni Centre. My husband and I stayed for one night in January and loved every minute of it, in fact we are going to book to go back as soon as we can. The room was spotlessly clean with a large comfortable bed and a smashing big bathroom with walkin shower, the hotel also provided lovely fluffy towels which felt wonderful after an invigorating shower. We had dinner in the hotel that was excellent value and very tasty, we loved the food and the bottle of wine that we had with dinner was just perfect! Breakfast in the morning was a real treat with plenty of great food to keep us going for the day. After going to a couple of the pubs on the Saturday night we went back to the hotel to see what they had on, what a night we had! there was a band on signing scottish and Irish folk music and they were truly wonderful. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of the house, reached by climbing 70 stairs. We were fit enought to manage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SadieMotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Great city centre location, opposite Edinburgh Playhouse with NCP Carpark & St James shopping centre a 2 minute walk away. On first arrival it seemed very laid back and we weren't sure what to expect. However the room(No 4) in the attic was superbly furnished, very clean & comfortable with en suite shower room. The small kitchen was an added bonus. We had a bit of a wait for dinner but since we had already seen our show we were in no hurry. Staff seemed rushed off their feet and the place was a bit choatic. Enjoyed the dinner when it came though. In the bar later the owner apologised for our wait and explained the circumstances, the chef also came to see us to apologise further which was a very nice touch. Great entertainment in the bar with a live band. Superb breakfast in the morning. All in all this is a great place to stay, the staff make you feel really welcome and by the end of our stay we felt like we had made new friends. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#97 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Broughton Hotel
The Broughton Hotel
#18 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#6 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#94 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiddlers Elbow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiddlers Elbow

Property: Fiddlers Elbow
Address: 4 Picardy Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiddlers Elbow 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Fiddlers Elbow Hotel Edinburgh
Fiddlers Elbow Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing