We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
112
56
21
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
56
21
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattic roomeasy access to public transportlocal pubs and restaurantsbus linesholyrood parkwalk into townedinburgh fringe festivalarthur's seatbreakfast was deliciousroom was clean and comfortablemain attractionsfull scottishroyal milekeysconveniencehosts
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2016

For the price we were given a real treat here. Very clean and breakfast cooked to order. Lovely people that were so helpful. I arrived very late, but that was accommodated and I felt at home and safe.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maywilson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Best thing about the Cherry Tree Villa was the location, on a quiet side street about a 20 minute walk south of City Centre. My room as a solo traveler on the third floor was awkward at best. Had a double bed placed at an angle, and I had to step over the corner of the bed to get to my luggage. Only lights in the room that worked were the lights on the stands on each side of the bed. The room had a very tiny sink, and shower and toilet were in the hall shared with another room. Shared shower was extremely small and could have been cleaner. Cooked breakfast was included, however was served lukewarm, at best. Owner lives elsewhere and this property is just an investment. It shows. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I stay in dozens of small hotels and b&b's each year and this is exactly the kind of place I like to avoid.
It's seaside landlord approach to accommodation, stuffy rooms and cheap, secondhand store furniture is dreary, disappointing and dull. In a city with splendid architecture and character, this guest house does some things right; the pre-call was welcome, the check in smooth and breakfast more than adequate, however I disliked being advised to park on the single yellow line outside - being told "you'll be okay until 8:30am". The room I had had a shower room and it's essential partner - a toilet, across a multi stepped public landing.
My room required me to descend 6 steps to the floor from the door and gave barely enough room for the bed.
A chair, set of drawers and corner mounted sink provided the furnishings and the Tv was so high and far away as to require a relay station to be observed in the bed.
To alleviate the warm and slightly dusty smell, I partially opened the sash window only to then listen to the sounds of late night cities the world over.
I couldn't wait to leave and left without my included breakfast, although this looked copious and tasty enough if my fellow guests appearance and enthusiasm was anything to go by.
Besides I had to beat the traffic warden!
If you are travelling from abroad and visiting the wonderful city which is Edinburgh, I would not say this is cheap or desirable. Caveat emptor.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Nickit7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

My dear Mum always said if you cant say something nice, then dont say anything at all, this will therefore be a short review. Positively, the proprietor is wonderful, polite, helpful, went out of his way, the location is very good, walking distance to the Uni, ideal during Festival time, standard and price of the room, left wanting, shame.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank victoriamay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I stayed in the cute, cosy single room. Not ensuite. But the price reflected this as I couldn't find anything close to the price I paid at this time of year. They cooked breakfast to order. SO I ordered 2 SLICES OF BACON, 2 FRIED EGGS AND 2 SAUSAGES EVERYDAY. As well as all the other cereals and food I helped myself to.Ha ha. Seemed a lot but they gave me whatever I requested and I was a starving traveller. They didnt mind. Very relaxed team. My kinda place. Definitely, be back there xxx

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank laddie878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews