We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place, very helpful staff and friendly Peter :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Ranked #206 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I arrived bit early but Peter was kind enough to offer me breakfast and offered me a room very quickly. Also, he offered me a bigger, more spacious room/ensuite for the major portion of my stay even though I had booked for something smaller! Breakfast is a very friendly affair with Peter and his wonderful staff genuinely making you feel welcome and nice. I was blissfully unaware until I had to vacate my 'bonus' room when someone else arrived to take it and only when I saw my original room could I see how generous this gesture really was :) Peter also guided me during my initial days and patiently answered all my queries. Overall the best way to start in a new city! I'd recommend this place to everyone :)

Room Tip: Room in the basement is where I stayed and it was simply the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simplyhema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2016

For the price we were given a real treat here. Very clean and breakfast cooked to order. Lovely people that were so helpful. I arrived very late, but that was accommodated and I felt at home and safe.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maywilson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Best thing about the Cherry Tree Villa was the location, on a quiet side street about a 20 minute walk south of City Centre. My room as a solo traveler on the third floor was awkward at best. Had a double bed placed at an angle, and I had to step over the corner of the bed to get to my luggage. Only lights in the room that worked were the lights on the stands on each side of the bed. The room had a very tiny sink, and shower and toilet were in the hall shared with another room. Shared shower was extremely small and could have been cleaner. Cooked breakfast was included, however was served lukewarm, at best. Owner lives elsewhere and this property is just an investment. It shows. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I stay in dozens of small hotels and b&b's each year and this is exactly the kind of place I like to avoid.
It's seaside landlord approach to accommodation, stuffy rooms and cheap, secondhand store furniture is dreary, disappointing and dull. In a city with splendid architecture and character, this guest house does some things right; the pre-call was welcome, the check in smooth and breakfast more than adequate, however I disliked being advised to park on the single yellow line outside - being told "you'll be okay until 8:30am". The room I had had a shower room and it's essential partner - a toilet, across a multi stepped public landing.
My room required me to descend 6 steps to the floor from the door and gave barely enough room for the bed.
A chair, set of drawers and corner mounted sink provided the furnishings and the Tv was so high and far away as to require a relay station to be observed in the bed.
To alleviate the warm and slightly dusty smell, I partially opened the sash window only to then listen to the sounds of late night cities the world over.
I couldn't wait to leave and left without my included breakfast, although this looked copious and tasty enough if my fellow guests appearance and enthusiasm was anything to go by.
Besides I had to beat the traffic warden!
If you are travelling from abroad and visiting the wonderful city which is Edinburgh, I would not say this is cheap or desirable. Caveat emptor.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Nickit7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

My dear Mum always said if you cant say something nice, then dont say anything at all, this will therefore be a short review. Positively, the proprietor is wonderful, polite, helpful, went out of his way, the location is very good, walking distance to the Uni, ideal during Festival time, standard and price of the room, left wanting, shame.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank victoriamay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,294 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#93 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
No 32 Hotel
No 32 Hotel
#170 of 394 in Edinburgh
364 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#100 of 394 in Edinburgh
293 reviews
Clarin Guest House
#131 of 394 in Edinburgh
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Villa Guest House

Address: 9 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland (Formerly Lorne Villa)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: S$87 - S$216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Tree Villa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cherry Tree Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing