We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Ranked #203 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Peter and his staff provided a lovely home base for a week at the Edinburgh Festival. We spent a week in a twin room en suite which was much more spacious and comfortable than the photos suggested. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The Mayfield location is a wonderfully quiet oasis in the city's busiest time of year, and still convenient to the bus routes into the city center - though my companion and I chose to walk to our events each day.

Room Tip: Room 8 has beautiful high ceilings with elaborate plaster work. Ground floor next to the breakfast r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brjennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

In this part of the city, there are plenty of B&B/Guest houses and they all look the same, in need of love and care - and paint and new signs etc. Time stands still, old furniture, old carpets, missing lamps. The sweetest host you can wish for and of course you get what you pay for, but still... Why not visit IKEA and spend some money on the breakfast room. Plastic flowers and interior from the 80's does not live up to the price. Unfortunately, I think this is how it looks in many of the guest houses around this area. 30 minutes walk to the city center.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enveckaisolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for our 1st time holiday in Endinburgh.
Breakfast is good and plenty. It was not best food, cheap, but ok. One product i missed and most people love it, cheese of course.
Personel are friendly, but just doing their job mainly.
It was ok for us to stay in guest house, sine we just came to waych some tv and sleep.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We spent 2 nights at the Cherry Tree Villa Guest House and found it to be a pleasant enough stay. The rooms are older but have character. The breakfast was made to order which is a nice touch. Location made it convenient to explore the city. Loved that it was walking distance to Holyrod Park and Arthur's Seat hike. One issue we had was with the exhaust fan in the bathroom. It did not have a dedicated switch so it would turn on every time you turned on the light. Not too bad except it wouldn't turn off immediately when the light was turned off. It would continue to "exhaust" for about 10 minutes...and rather loudly too. Made using the loo in the middle of the night louder than need be. Peter was very accommodating and a pleasant chap.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here two nights with my wife for our honeymoon. The owner, Peter, was very friendly. Our room was small and simple, but all we really needed was a bed and a bathroom (shared). Would recommend and would stay again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,293 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#92 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
No 32 Hotel
No 32 Hotel
#170 of 396 in Edinburgh
364 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#111 of 396 in Edinburgh
293 reviews
Sonas Guest House
#31 of 396 in Edinburgh
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Villa Guest House

Address: 9 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland (Formerly Lorne Villa)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $86 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Tree Villa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cherry Tree Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing