We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$267
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$653
US$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$248
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$276
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$109
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$271
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
20
30
15
17
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
30
15
17
60
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Booked through Groupon a one bedroom apartment. Great central location with good restaurants nearby. However, we were on 3rd floor and the stair is steep and winding and therefore not suitable if you have mobility issue. A pub downstairs and my husband was woken up by noise from people shouting outside the pub but I did not get woken up. Kitchenette has four cooking rings and an oven, toaster, kettle, fridge, washing machine and sufficient crockery and cutlery for 2 or 3 people. Clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Redphoenix76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Booked this with groupon for short break for mum and dad, bit worried when read reviews but location and setting is just like going back in time..it is really amazing..i went for the day. Apartment bit smaller than expected but lovely and clean. My mum and dad had a great break and me and my hubby would def book for break for ourselves really cultural to surroundings..wish we were staying.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chipdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights with a groupon deal 31st March. Went to Queens St to check in but this was not a problem and it does tell you about this on there website The apartment we stayed in was on the royal mile very close to the castle, excellent location.We were in room 3/1 and had to go up one flight of stone steps to our apartment which was okay. The apartment was massive it had two bedrooms one with 2 sets of bunk beds and one double room which was very nicely decorated and traditional stone walls. Th lounge had two comfy sofas and a large flat screen t.v. The whole apartment was very clean and kitchen had everything you would need to cook meals if you wanted, we only used the kettle and toaster but it was clean and modern. The bathroom was nice with the biggest bath i have ever seen it was like a swimming pool.
There were a few stains on the carpet in the lounge but this did not bother us as we were not there to look at the carpet. This was a very old building and yes it was a bit creaky and drafty but i thought this all added character to the apartment. We loved it and would definatley stay here again. Only wish we could have spent more time in the apartment as it was so nice but we were out exploring Edinburgh. Had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Our apartment was right across from the castle and central to everything that we wanted to see. However it was really hard to sleep with loads of people outside constantly yelling, which happened both nights we were there (it was a friday/saturday and there is a club just down the road.) The thin windows made it impossible to sleep. Aside from that, the only other pain was getting the keys. Having to get a taxi to one location to then get another taxi to take you to the apartment.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler20011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

After reading all the negative reviews re these apartments, I feared the worse, and nearly looked at rebooking new accomodation. Im glad I didnt !! We arrived early on the Friday morning, and the office in Queens St were only happy to hold onto our bags (free of charge) before our check in time at 3pm. They were very helpful in providing directions, and we found place very easily, only a 15 min walk from Queen Street. The location is just suberb, better than any hotel location in the city, right on the Royal Mile, at the castle end. Granted the 96 steps on the spiral staircase is tricky to negotiate with bags, but it keeps you fit for the weekend, especially as we were on the top floor. We just had an ensuite room, and it was very tidy, and a lot of ammenities, including fridge and toaster !!! I couldnt recomend this accomodation highly enough if your budget doesnt stretch to a 4/5 star hotel. The office in Queen Street were also very accomodating on departure, we had a late flight, and they again agreed to keep our bags for day FOC.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theboysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews