We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$280
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$139
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$246
US$205
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$726
US$566
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$265
US$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$192
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
20
30
15
17
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
30
15
17
60
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Our castle apartment was in a great central location right off the Grassmarket and only a five minute walk from the castle and the royal mile. Our small two bedroom was clean, convenient, and worked well for us. We had no major complaints other than the fact that the location is prone to loud pub-goers until late into the night, hindering one's sleep before midnight. However, it was a great value for such a central location in Edinburgh. Remote check-in/checkout was a breeze.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trotamundo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We booked 12 months in advance through Tartan Apartments for a four day stay, Sat-Tues and paid a deposit of 178GBP by credit card. Paid the rest, 181GBP by credit card when we collected the key at Queens Street office. On our arrival what a dismal let down not at all like the web page information, no nearby parking, closest about 6 blocks away and metred, dirty spiral staircase, musty smelling dank, tiny garret, a glorified Backpacker squat. Broken lampshade, baked on food encrusted pans, no teatowels, kitchen cupboards with no back that opened onto the piping, dingy "washhouse", no toiletries, two thin towels, cramped bedroom. Rang office and explained the situation, asked for a refund. Told by young receptionist that she could not authorise the refund but that she would get in contact with the manager and then ring us back on our mobile.Twenty minutes later she rang back saying that she couldn't contact the manager. We said that we would be coming straight back to return the key. We rang the emergency contact number. No answer. Back at the office we spoke again with the Chrysothemis, the young receptionist. She wrote a letter stating our concerns and the time we picked up and returned the key and our request for a refund. She gave us a copy and filed the original and told us the manager would be there on Monday. We rang the Hilton Airport and booked in for the next four days. When we returned to the office on Monday we were greeted by a young man. When we explained the situation he asked who did we book through. We said. Tartan Apartments. He replied. "We don't deal with Tartan Apartments." I produced the confirming emails with the Tartan Apartment address. He then amended his statement." We don't deal with them anymore!" We told him about the letter of complaint on file. He wasn't interested but asked just what was the problem. I produced our copy and read it to him. He appeared bored. We explained that the "apartment" was not at all appropriate for people of our vintage, 60 and that we certainly would not have booked it if we'd known the true nature of the place, a backpacker's garret. . . no parking, no lift. "This is advertised as an apartment in a major capital city". I explained. "One would expect certain things of an apartment in a major city. " He announced "It's a cultural thing!"
What!!! By now the atmosphere in the office was less than friendly. There was a young Spanish couple waiting there for their key while we were engaged in this diatribe about a cultural thing". Finally he offered to refund the balance of 181GBP, "rather than have a shouting match in the office." Then he announced that he couldn't do that and disappeared into another room. A short decidedly unfriendly older fellow appeared and questioned us again. Finally he said he'd refund the deposit. . . 178pounds. We shook our heads and said "No, that was not what had been agreed to." We showed him the balance receipt and he eventually agreed to refund that amount. Then he took my credit card. "I can't do it here" he said as he disappeared into the back room. Highly irregular and I'm not too sure about the legality of this action. When he returned he handed back the card along with the refund slip. It was a sordid unpleasant ordeal and left a very bad memory of Edinburgh. Thank goodness for the Airport Hilton!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Fantastic stay!!! perfect for couples and families . The homely feel was the kind of change we needed as we were tired from the soulless hotel rooms. The remote check in went in smoothy.

The location was second to none. although the check out was by 1000 hrs , The Managing Director, Scott was really helpful.

Please keep up the good work as we require people like you in the industry who actually puts his guests above all the other factors.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joydeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We had such a brilliant time despite the horrendous downpours on day 2 of the trip. The cocoons were perfect because we stayed dry.

the first night and full day, the weather had been excellent and the outdoor camp fire was ideal for a BBQ. After an evening walk in the grounds, and a relaxing spell in the hot tub, we both had a sound sleep.

I wish now that we had booked for more than the two nights.

Plenty to do in the ground and surrounding area and only a short trip into Edinburgh City Centre by bus.

Fabulous weekend all round and will be coming back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed as a couple and found the apartment perfect for our needs. It was basic but clean and tidy and couldn't wish for a better location. An easy walk to the castle and just off the royal mile.

Apartment was up a small flight of stair so if you have trouble with stairs this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryLou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews