We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent service!”

Chaophraya Edinburgh
Ranked #335 of 2,498 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$18 - US$37
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: Find us on Castle street between George Street & Princess Street, enter using the elevator just inside the entrance of the building and head to the fourth floor. Chaophraya Edinburgh offers breath taking views out towards Edinburgh Castle and out towards the Firth of Forth. A contemporary feeling restaurant inspired by Thailand, our culinary team bring together classic Thai and Thai re-imagined dishes, accompanied by a fantastic range of cocktails, wines and beers. Join us for lunch, dinner and cocktails!
Reviewed 10 April 2022 via mobile

Visited Chaophraya with my boyfriend for a birthday celebration and could not have had a better time! We arrived a little early but they were happy to host us in the bar for a drink. Once we were seated, the view was amazing and the food was delicious! Our waitress, Jasmine, could not have been nicer. She made such an effort and was so friendly and attentive. Would definitely visit again!

Date of visit: April 2022
3  Thank nimartac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica, Owner at Chaophraya Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sawasdee Ka (hello) nimartac

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and choosing us for such a special occasion. Here at Chaophraya, we pride ourselves in serving authentic Thai dishes and providing Ha Dao (5* service) to all of our guests and we are delighted to hear this was a key highlight from your visit.

I cannot wait to share your comments with Jasmine and the rest of the team and we hope to welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards
Chaophraya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (3,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 3,172 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2022 via mobile

Came here with my partner to celebrate our anniversary and we both left very satisfied!

The food was very good as usual and the cocktails spot on.

What made this experience very memorable however, was the exceptional service by Daniel. He was very attentive but not intrusive. He made sure he made us welcome and comfortable from the beggining and his service was just impeccable. 5 stars!

Date of visit: April 2022
2  Thank Alan_Kazidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica, Owner at Chaophraya Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sawasdee Ka (hello) Alan_Kazidis

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We love to hear all of our guests feedback, and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed the food and cocktails, I cannot wait to pass your comments on to Daniel and the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you back again soon for more of our extensive menus

Kind Regards
Chaophraya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2022

We booked the private dining room for a family gathering. Firstly the views of the castle are incredible as is the room. We had small kids who could play and run around the room making it a much more relaxing experience. The staff were very patient with the kids and very attentive to our needs. We all chose the sharing set menu which was great. The food was fresh with amazing flavours, the sugar beef being a highlight. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: February 2022
2  Thank trevorroll1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica, Marketing at Chaophraya Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2022

Sawasdee Ka (hello) dinesh1990

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and time in our private dining room. Our team strive to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere to all of our guests, along with providing Ha Dao (5*) service to all of our guests and I cannot wait to pass your comments on.

We are also delighted to hear you enjoyed your Palm Sugar Beef and found the dishes to be full of flavours

We hope to welcome you back again soon for more of our extensive menus

Kind Regards
Chaophraya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2022 via mobile

Beautiful views from the terrace. Cocktails to die for and the food is truly tasty and amazing. Each bite was a burst of flavours.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank LorraineB280
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica, Owner at Chaophraya Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2022

Sawasdee Ka (hello) LorraineB280

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are absolutely thrilled to hear you enjoyed the cocktails and food on your most recent visit and I cannot wait to share your comments with the team.

We hope to welcome you back again soon for more of our extensive menus and authentic Thai dishes

Kind Regards
Chaophraya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2022

Myself and my partner booked a table last week and thoroughly enjoyed it. We requested a table in the glass area and even though we arrived slightly early there was a table ready for us out there. Thank you

The Thai green curry was SO good. Pretty spicy but best Thai Green Curry I've ever had. The only negative was that our starters and mains both arrived at the table extremely quickly which made us feel pretty rushed. Our whole meal was done within 45 minutes.

We still had an excellent time and would return. Service, wine and food was really good. We would just let them know next time for a wait in between each course.

Thanks to the restaurant and kitchen team

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mp00187
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM232013, Marketing at Chaophraya Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2022

Sawasdee Ka (Hello),
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We welcome all feedback from our guests as this is how we improve our service, so I will be sure to pass your comments along to our team.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kop Khun Ka (Thank You)
Chaophraya Edinburgh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chaophraya Edinburgh also viewed

 

Been to Chaophraya Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.