We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best”
Review of Fraoch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fraoch House
Ranked #7 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay made so welcome, really good choices of breakfast but the full Scottish keeps you going all day. Room was very good bed really comfortable, Gareth was very good host always happy and pointing us in the right direction. WE WILL BE BACK......

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017

This is a great place to stay in Edinburgh, we chose it largely for location but on arrival were greeted by Gareth who could not have been more friendly and helpful. He gave us coffee and shortbread and stayed for a good time chatting with us and offering great advice. Our large basement room was as big as some suites with large L-Shaped sofa and easy chairs and plenty of storage as well as a very spacious en-suite with great shower. We really enjoyed a very hearty Scottish breakfast which being in Scotland was a Scottish breakfast (see a recent previous reviewer) and Gareth's assistant was similarly hospitable and chatty. Distracted by a work call I was agast later when I realised I had taken our room keys, which we of course posted back first class, and left clothes in one of the drawers in our bedroom which Gareth kindly posted at the first opportunity refusing to take payment and reassuring us "It happens all the time," he even said that he should have reminded us ref the keys taking blame for what was clearly my fault. A real Edinburgh gentleman, a peerless host and a fantastic place to stay when visiting this great city. Our very many thanks to Gareth and all the team at Fraoch House.

Room Tip: Basement Front Room 8 and en-Suite Very Large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank traveller9752015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Wonderful comfortable stay with my sister. We went to the Balmoral during our stay and the service at breakfast from the team at Froach House was much better!
Comfortable, welcoming and close to everything you want to see.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank silverwombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

What can I say about Fraoch House? From the moment we stepped in on arrival we were met by Gareth who made us feel welcome instantly. With a welcoming coffee and Shortbread we were given all the info we needed and also a rather nifty colour coded set of keys (a nice and clever touch!)
As for the room, it was fabulous !
Warm, clean, comfortable and spacious there was nothing we could fault in either the room or bathroom, even the breakfasts were simply great.
Cannot rate this B&B highly enough and will be visiting again soon.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Fraoch House has many great qualities such as location, public transport at the door, clean rooms, comfortable beds and delicious breakfast but probably the top quality it can boast is its host, Gareth. Gareth's personality for running a B&B is perfect. He makes time for everyone and always with a smile. I would thoroughly recommend Fraoch House. We have stayed there twice now.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stokes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,056 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 394 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#9 of 394 in Edinburgh
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#14 of 394 in Edinburgh
549 reviews
94DR
#4 of 394 in Edinburgh
576 reviews
Ard-na-said
#13 of 394 in Edinburgh
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch House

Address: 66 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: S$112 - S$236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fraoch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch House Hotel Edinburgh
Fraoch House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing