We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B with a great host”
Review of Fraoch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fraoch House
Ranked #7 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2017

This B&B was in a great location for visiting sites of interest in Edinburgh. The host was very helpful in giving us directions, tips for what to see, calling a taxi, etc. He was also quite accommodating during check-in and with regard to the times he offered breakfast---which were excellent. It was a pleasure chatting with him. The room was large, well equipped, and comfortable. The wifi was excellent, and the host provided some snacks each evening. There was also a computer and printer available for guests, and we in fact used that to print out our departure plane boarding passes.

We could easily walk the mile from the B&B to the "Royal Mile" but there is also convenient bus service (almost in front of the B&B) that we sometimes used.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lewis314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Great guest house friendly helpful staff, very easy to access the city centre on the no 11 bus outside, comfortable rooms and an excellent freshly cooked breakfast. I would fully recommend this guest house for a short leisure break!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Gareth was an excellent host, offering great advice on what to see and where to go. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable with a lovely ensuite bathroom or shower room. The choice at breakfast was excellent and the traditional breakfast was especially good with a great choice of ingredients which were very well cooked and presented. We all liked the extra touch with the small cake bites on the way into the house. The location is perfect as it is on a direct bus service into the city centre one way and to the Leith coast in the other direction. Overall an excellent B&B which we will return to in the late spring/early summer.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay made so welcome, really good choices of breakfast but the full Scottish keeps you going all day. Room was very good bed really comfortable, Gareth was very good host always happy and pointing us in the right direction. WE WILL BE BACK......

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

This is a great place to stay in Edinburgh, we chose it largely for location but on arrival were greeted by Gareth who could not have been more friendly and helpful. He gave us coffee and shortbread and stayed for a good time chatting with us and offering great advice. Our large basement room was as big as some suites with large L-Shaped sofa and easy chairs and plenty of storage as well as a very spacious en-suite with great shower. We really enjoyed a very hearty Scottish breakfast which being in Scotland was a Scottish breakfast (see a recent previous reviewer) and Gareth's assistant was similarly hospitable and chatty. Distracted by a work call I was agast later when I realised I had taken our room keys, which we of course posted back first class, and left clothes in one of the drawers in our bedroom which Gareth kindly posted at the first opportunity refusing to take payment and reassuring us "It happens all the time," he even said that he should have reminded us ref the keys taking blame for what was clearly my fault. A real Edinburgh gentleman, a peerless host and a fantastic place to stay when visiting this great city. Our very many thanks to Gareth and all the team at Fraoch House.

Room Tip: Basement Front Room 8 and en-Suite Very Large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank traveller9752015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,056 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 394 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#9 of 394 in Edinburgh
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#14 of 394 in Edinburgh
549 reviews
94DR
#4 of 394 in Edinburgh
576 reviews
Ard-na-said
#13 of 394 in Edinburgh
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch House

Address: 66 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: S$112 - S$236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fraoch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch House Hotel Edinburgh
Fraoch House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing