We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hosts make this one worth the stay.”
Review of Aaron Glen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aaron Glen
Ranked #25 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017

While everything about this guest house was just fine, what I'll remember most is how great Carolyn and Les were. I traded a few emails with Carolyn when reserving our stay and her prompt responses gave me confidence in the level of customer care we could expect. Les met us upon arrival in the afternoon and he was very personable and funny. He gave us a quick tour of the guest house facilities and our room and provided some recommendations for dinner options. We met Carolyn the next morning and she was just as friendly as Les- full of stories and insights about the area, and a great recommendation I'll mention at the end.

The couple worked the breakfast together as a team- a good range of options and one of the better breakfasts among the six guesthouses we stayed at during our Scotland trip. The full Scottish breakfast looked great and appeared to have generous portions from what I observed at a neighboring table. I was looking for something lighter after a week of eating similarly large breakfasts already, and had Eggs Benedict instead, which was prepared well by Les.

We had a triple room on the second floor which was very clean, spacious, and modern. Plenty of closet space and the ensuite bathroom had a great shower. Bed was comfortable, with clean sheets, comforter, and pillows. Wifi was fast and no dropouts. Television had clear reception. No complaints at all.

Again, Les and Carolyn make this place worth a review online. This was our final stay in Scotland after a week of travel through different areas, and we intended to drive direct from their guesthouse to our return airport in Glasgow. Carolyn took the time to ask us what were doing the morning before we left and recommended we visit the Rosslyn Chapel and the old castle ruins nearby. I hadn't researched the area since we only expected a quick stay and then drive to Glasgow, but so glad she took the time to recommend it. The chapel and ruins were only a few minutes' drive away and it was very much worth the short diversion. We would have missed that gem of a location if Carolyn hadn't been so attentive and friendly. Thanks, Carolyn!

Overall, very easy to recommend to family and friends and I'd be glad to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hans Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

My wife and immediate family have been lucky enough to stay at some pretty good B&B establishment in the past but this one definitely tops them all. Travelling from Bedford to Edinborough with a mix of 8 Italians and one Portuguese is quite a challenge to even find somewhere where we could all stay together so being offered a self catering apartment all to ourselves was already a huge stroke of luck. On arrival, Co-owner Les showed us the apartment providing us with our first WOW factor. It was immaculate with first class top brand appliances and bottomless consumables which were not only amazing but also beyond the call of duty (even an espresso coffee machine with an endless supply of coffee cartridges!).
As others have stated, the beds were incredible providing us all with much needed and comfortable sleep after exploring the wonders of this beautiful city and and its surroundings which were all within reasonable reach either by bus or car.
The owners Les and Carolyn are an absolutely lovely couple who go out of their way to help and make you feel at home and nothing seems to be too much trouble. On asking them which would be the best Haggis to buy to take home, they gave me three and refused any payment. It will be hard if not impossible to find another guest house/B&B to match Aaron Glen and in fact I have a suggestion to make to them both.....IF YOU EVER DECIDE TO LEAVE THE B&B BUSINESS, OPEN A SCHOOL FOR B&B OWNERS AND SHOW THEM HOW IT SHOULD BE DONE ;-)
Thank you both for a wonderful and memorable stay.

Room Tip: The apartments are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank EScalpello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Purpose built B&B so good sized rooms and bathrooms.
Good breakfast. Nice combination of fresh fruit and compote mixes. Good quality all around.
Beds were too soft for our liking but many people would like the cushiness.
Having the bargain priced honour bar allowed me to do a scotch tasting without driving or worrying. Spectacular idea that was lots of fun.
Lots of adapters already in the room, nicer than having to ask. Nice to have a fridge and fresh milk available.
We liked having a table available for card games and evening drinks.
It is located close enough to get to Edinburgh but not so close that you could run back and forth easily.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WithFamilyWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

The Aaron Glen is run by two of the nicest people you could ever meet Carolyn and Les. You'll feel it home from the minute you get there, and the breakfasts that Les makes are awesome! When they go by they look like they're made by a Master Chef. I really like this place, love the people, and look forward to going back next year.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank rick4stunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival , Carolyn(the owner) greated us and showed us to our room with all of the instructions we could possibly require. The rooms are impeccably clean and updated resently. The beds are best described in my wife's words "it was as if i slept on the belly of a baby goose"! I agreed that they are definatly without a doubt the softest sheets and comforters I've ever felt! Breakfast was very good and accommodating to our American tastes but offered a full Scottish menu as well.After a long day of adventuring Scotland her quiet inviting b&b was the perfect end and beginning to every days adventures! Thank you and your husband so much for making our stay wonderful!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kshirshun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#15 of 394 in Edinburgh
572 reviews
Ard-na-said
#13 of 394 in Edinburgh
377 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#11 of 394 in Edinburgh
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheridan Guest House
#21 of 394 in Edinburgh
365 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#29 of 394 in Edinburgh
124 reviews
The Hedges Guest House
#33 of 394 in Edinburgh
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Glen

Address: 7 Nivensknowe Road | Loanhead, Edinburgh EH20 9AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $106 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly guest house serving beautiful Scottish breakfasts and providing incredibly comfortable beds. Great access for sightseeing and a large off road car park. Wifi access in rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aaron Glen Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing