We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
288
18
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
18
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barrosslyn chapelscottish tabletguest houseattending a wedding nearbybus route into edinburghhonor barfull scottishamazing hostslittle touchesfresh milkedinburgh arearooms are lovelybreakfast tablehome away from homecompotebreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017

My wife and immediate family have been lucky enough to stay at some pretty good B&B establishment in the past but this one definitely tops them all. Travelling from Bedford to Edinborough with a mix of 8 Italians and one Portuguese is quite a challenge to even find somewhere where we could all stay together so being offered a self catering apartment all to ourselves was already a huge stroke of luck. On arrival, Co-owner Les showed us the apartment providing us with our first WOW factor. It was immaculate with first class top brand appliances and bottomless consumables which were not only amazing but also beyond the call of duty (even an espresso coffee machine with an endless supply of coffee cartridges!).
As others have stated, the beds were incredible providing us all with much needed and comfortable sleep after exploring the wonders of this beautiful city and and its surroundings which were all within reasonable reach either by bus or car.
The owners Les and Carolyn are an absolutely lovely couple who go out of their way to help and make you feel at home and nothing seems to be too much trouble. On asking them which would be the best Haggis to buy to take home, they gave me three and refused any payment. It will be hard if not impossible to find another guest house/B&B to match Aaron Glen and in fact I have a suggestion to make to them both.....IF YOU EVER DECIDE TO LEAVE THE B&B BUSINESS, OPEN A SCHOOL FOR B&B OWNERS AND SHOW THEM HOW IT SHOULD BE DONE ;-)
Thank you both for a wonderful and memorable stay.

Room Tip: The apartments are amazing.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank EScalpello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Purpose built B&B so good sized rooms and bathrooms.
Good breakfast. Nice combination of fresh fruit and compote mixes. Good quality all around.
Beds were too soft for our liking but many people would like the cushiness.
Having the bargain priced honour bar allowed me to do a scotch tasting without driving or worrying. Spectacular idea that was lots of fun.
Lots of adapters already in the room, nicer than having to ask. Nice to have a fridge and fresh milk available.
We liked having a table available for card games and evening drinks.
It is located close enough to get to Edinburgh but not so close that you could run back and forth easily.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WithFamilyWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

The Aaron Glen is run by two of the nicest people you could ever meet Carolyn and Les. You'll feel it home from the minute you get there, and the breakfasts that Les makes are awesome! When they go by they look like they're made by a Master Chef. I really like this place, love the people, and look forward to going back next year.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank rick4stunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival , Carolyn(the owner) greated us and showed us to our room with all of the instructions we could possibly require. The rooms are impeccably clean and updated resently. The beds are best described in my wife's words "it was as if i slept on the belly of a baby goose"! I agreed that they are definatly without a doubt the softest sheets and comforters I've ever felt! Breakfast was very good and accommodating to our American tastes but offered a full Scottish menu as well.After a long day of adventuring Scotland her quiet inviting b&b was the perfect end and beginning to every days adventures! Thank you and your husband so much for making our stay wonderful!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kshirshun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Myself and three friends stayed for two nights last weekend.What a beautiful hotel and the self catering houses are stunning.
Carolyn is a brilliant hostess and her husband cooks the best breakfast I have ever tasted.
We would certainly recommend it to everyone though she has a lot of returning guests so book in plenty of time.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ThePurrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews