We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindsay Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lindsay Guest House
Ranked #77 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

After warm recommendation from friends I was lucky enough to be able to stay for two nights at the Lindsay Guest House. My room was large and comfortable with all the helpful additions - TV/tea/coffee making; hair-dryer/toileteries - one would need. Everywhere was immaculately clean and well-cared for. Although the Guest House is on a main road there is excellent double-glazing which, coupled with the very comfortable bed, made for an excellent night's sleep.

Breakfast was delicious with a wide choice on the menu - a perfect start to a busy day.

This is an ideal location for visiting Edinburgh's delights - buses for the City stop almost outside the front door and the journey to the centre only takes 15-20 minutes.

I thoroughly recommend this gem of a place, with its helpful hosts and will have no hesitation in making a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    34
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
108
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Keith, the witty and sometimes humorous owner of the Lindsay Guest House, was helpful during my 3-night stay at the property with directions to places of interest in Edinburgh and such. He "may" seem intimidating upon first impression (well, at least to me initially), but once you get to talk with him you'll find him as quite a friendly and charming person. I also thoroughly enjoyed the conversations I had with him as I got an opportunity to learn a bit of Scottish history, culture, and daily life.

The Lindsay is located in a nice and quiet area close to buses that can take one directly to Edinburgh's city center within minutes, so it is really convenient. The single room I stayed in was clean and comfortable, as was the washroom. Breakfast was also tasty. All in all, I would say that I had a pleasurable experience at the Lindsay Guest House and would recommend it to others looking for a reliable place to stay while visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaytheCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We had a very nice stay at the Lindsay Guest House. Keith and Pamela were very helpful, we contacted them before our stay and they gave us very useful information, which saved us money and time. They were very quick in their response. The bus stop for downtown is just outside of their very nice home.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mim011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Everything about the guest house was 5 star. The breakfasts were plentiful- so much that we didn't want lunch which saved us money. I even like the haggis but loved the potato waffles!The room was huge, clean, & well-supplied with tea, coffee, cookies (biscuits) & candy (sweets). Keith was very helpful when it came to figuring out the buses all over town. Our daughter's school group was performing at the festival & we were constantly having to catch the correct bus to the University and Fringe venues. We Americans loved our stay & would suggest this B & B to anyone visiting Edinburgh!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superstarmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Brydges ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

My new husband and I are Canadian and we stayed at the Lindsay Guest House at the end of August during the Fringe Festival in Edinburgh. The place was absolutely lovely! Our room was very spacious and beautifully decorated and the breakfasts were to die for - especially the haggis :) It was a quick 25 minute walk to the centre of town, or 10 minute bus ride with a convenient stop just steps from the front door. Keith and Pamela were fantastic hosts - very friendly and helpful - they were even able to return a forgotten i-pod to us at our hotel in London. This B&B is definitely something special and I would recommend it to all. If we make it back to Scotland in the future we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.6 km away
Royal Ettrick Hotel
Royal Ettrick Hotel
#128 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.6 km away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#94 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.5 km away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#208 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#29 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.4 km away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#55 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
4.9 km away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#64 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindsay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindsay Guest House

Property: Lindsay Guest House
Address: 108 Polwarth Terrace, Edinburgh EH11 1NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): $126 - $158
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindsay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindsay Guest house is a red sandstone Victorian listed building of great character. Located in the highly desirable Merchiston area it is on an excellent bus route which takes 10 - 15 minutes to make the journey to the city centre. For the more energetic it is possible to walk along the Union canal to the city centre (approx 30 minutes). Car parking available. (No cost) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lindsay Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing