We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aynetree Guest House
Ranked #155 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2015

we had an overnight stay in this lovely Victorian House in Portobello . we were going to The Scottish open in Gullane . on arrival we were given excellent recommendations for nearby restaurants and bars on promonade with first class directions !!! We slept well in a spotless and very comfortable room with excellent amenities and lovely views of the front garden .In the morning we were offered an excellent selection of breakfast goodies . Traditional fry up was delicious !!! we were also given printed directions to drive to Gullane for golf . Thank you Brian . directions were first class !!! We would highly recommend this B/B and would be delighted to stay here again
Brian and Ella

Room Tip: ground floor front facing room with ensuite facilities was excellent and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Hi Ella, Thank you for a great review. I am so glad that the directions to Gullane got you there quickly. We are not actually in Portobello but near it. Just a small correction. We are in Edinburgh. I am happy that you both found the place spotless and our cleaner has got 30 years experience in hospitality. I know that" fry up" you mean the traditional Scottish breakfast. We grill everything except the eggs but then they can be scrambled, poached etc....to avoid high saturated fat. We try to keep away from oil and saturated fats and encourage a healthy option eg. low fat yogurt, fruit etc..See you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2015

Highlights: 10-15 min walk from Portobello beach; full scottish breakfast; option for porridge or vegetarian; tickets to main attractions available; clean and comfortable room; quiet; bus stop directly outside of b&b; 15 minute bus into town; able to leave luggage upon early check-in; good wifi

Note: check-in and check-out are fixed and prompt

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had a private bathroom down the hallway with a separate private key entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GottaLoveTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Thank you so much for a great review. I am so glad that you enjoyed the breakfast. It is "tailor" made to suit each individual and on arrival we like to get an idea of what people want eg. allergies, vegan, full scottish..etc....if we do not have an ingredient we would go out and buy it (within reason). This only really applies to people who stay longer than one night as we need time to shop for special ingredients and as we are always so busy sometimes we cannot do it at once. It is a pleasant change to walk down to Portobello beach and there is a great restaurant there called Espy and a great pub for music called Dalriada (no food in this pub). Also, Portobello high st. has some nice restaurants and is an up and coming little place. As for check in and out. We are very lenient with people checking in and they can do from 9.30 am to 22. 00 hrs. I think that this is a very good window to check in. We do, however ask people to give us a rough time of arrival as if we did not ask this then we would never have any life of own and never go out at all or shop etc..As we do not have a receptionist (this would be too costly and put up room prices) we do everything ourselves and therefore time of arrival is important to us. Check out is at 10 am but guests may leave at any time before this if they wish eg. early flights. Guests cannot stay after 10 am as rooms need to be serviced for guest arriving and it would be most unfair if the rooms were not cleaned for 2 pm for the official check in time. The reason why your room was ready and waiting for your arrival at 2pm was because the guests before you checked out on time. Rather like a conveyer belt, I suppose!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Very welcoming B&B. Brian helpful and friendly. Loved the Victorian house especially the wooden floors - everything spotless and cleaned each day. Breakfast lovely. I am not used to eating breakfast but thoroughly enjoyed it. Vegetarian catered for - no problem. Bus stop directly outside and only a short journey into Edinburgh central. Great value. Would recommend and would visit again. Thank you. Bruce and Linda

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Thank you for the great review. Yes, we love the stripped floors and as they are washed every day it keeps everything free from dust mites. Far more hygienic than carpets. You were in room 3 which was at the front of the house (the room were somebody posted a bus going by for some strange reason). I am glad that this room was satisfactory in every way. Cleanliness and friendliness and breakfast are always our strong points. I suppose, most of the important things that people are looking for. Hope to see you both again one day and good luck with your work in the museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

From the moment my family of 4 arrived, we were warmly greeted and treated like family. Rooms and house were very clean and breakfast was custom made to order. My wife is vegan and Brian the owner fully accommodated her diet needs. There is a bus stop right out front that takes you into town every 10 minutes for £8.50 all day family pass. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. Brian even sells tickets to the castle at the same price the castle does so you can skip the queue. Brian was a wealth of local information and ideas. This is a very family friendly hotel and also caters to couples. Will defiantly be staying here again and telling everyone I know to do the same.

Room Tip: Our room had a main bed and a set of bunk beds for our two children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deployedbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Thank you for your great review. Brian has always been great with children and is a real family man. As we do not get many children here (they all go to the travel lodges) it was a pleasure for him to "entertain" them. He is a child at heart. Room 2 with the bunk beds is a grand room and very spacious. I am so glad that you enjoyed his breakfast (this is all he can cook) and am sorry that I did not meet you. Regards, Anne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Stayed here in April.It is outside Edinburgh but there is a bus stop just outside to travel in to the city, very handy.The room we stayed in had plenty of space and was nice & cosy.The breakfast was great & Brian was very helpful to everyone with advice on many things.So there is nothing to complain about the stay here just

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank archiewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2015

Hi Archie, Thank you so much for the great review. I am so glad that you both had a comfortable stay and it was good to receive some Welsh folk. We never have Welsh people staying except at the rugby. Love the accent! Anne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#111 of 394 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aynetree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aynetree Guest House

Address: 12 Duddingston Crescent | Milton Road, Edinburgh EH15 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $78 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynetree Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Victorian detached guest house, with private parking for 6 cars, situated near the city centre. 5 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms except one which has a private large bathroom all modernized and refurbished in June 2006 to a high standard. The dining room has a coal fire which is used during chilly nights. Although central to all attractions including Arthur's Seat and the Palace of Holyrood; the house is peaceful, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aynetree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynetree Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing