We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aynetree Guest House
Ranked #152 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

I recently visited Edinburgh with my two friends and we stayed at this wonderful guest house. The rooms were adorable with ensuite bathrooms. The showers had great pressure and plenty of hot water. The beds were comfortable and cozy with plenty of pillows provided.

The breakfast in the morning is fantastic! They serve porridge with fixings or cereal with coffee or tea. Then there is plenty of toast with butter and jam available. Then there is juice options and milk. Then you have the option of a full Scottish breakfast, a vegetarian option full breakfast, or just your own combination of available foods. The food is prepared right then and is delicious.

The staff at this guest house are the most genuinely nice people you could ever ask for. They are gracious hosts and very helpful. They are welcoming and extremely friendly and always willing to help.

I strongly recommend staying here if you have driven to Edinburgh. If you didn't drive, there are buses right outside the door that take you to the best parts of Edinburgh so don't worry!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Hi Nicky, What an amazing review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much.I have been called many things.....but never gracious. But I shall accept the compliment!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

I booked for a king size bed room and pay less as it was clearly sold as a special offer in Agoda. Instead a few days later I was asked to pay 12 pounds more stating he mistook the price or alternatively to accept a smaller room or even to cancel the already paid reservation! I answered that I wanted the kind of room for what I've already paid. You can imagine what kind of room he has actally given to me. A small, very cold double bed room acting in a manner to let us no answer, really an humiliating experience. Very poor continental breakfast with small jam jars just "refilled" and toast, not even a croissant. Sorry but I'm not used to make others to pay for my errors and all this can be proved throughout emails I received

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Gius71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

This man was very rude but his friend was not so. Perhaps his friend could teach him some manners. He was rude to me from the minute that he walked in. He booked for a TWIN ROOM (I have the evidence) for £49 which included breakfast, car park, WiFi and en suite. .and this was for a Saturday only when Edinburgh was very busy. He complained about everything. The cold outside (we could not control that), the breakfast, the room, my face......Let us start with the breakfast. The rude one had porridge with a bowl of yogurt. Followed by toast and he refused cold ham, cheese, fresh fruit, dried fruit, nuts, eggs, cereals of which there are five or six and full cooked breakfast. But silly me, I did not have croissants! The other chap ate a full cooked breakfast with all the trimmings included. I have only just returned from Italy and they do not eat haggis for breakfast. But then, I did not go to trip advisor to complain about the establishment. He was asked on more than one occasion if he was happy with his room, his breakfast etc...and he just looked at me blankly. All my attempts to win him round fell on DEAF EARS.
Now for all the one's that we received! 1 out of 5 for cleanliness. Rubbish. If our readers would like to cast their eyes on the rating that we receive for this area they will see that we score high. 1 out of 5 for value. They paid £49 for two people with breakfast, WiFi, car park, en suite and a large twin room (the one that they booked with Agoda) and they think that this is expensive? Who is telling little lies then?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

This was our first time visiting Edinburgh and wanted somewhere just outside of the city. This was perfect for us as there is a bus stop outside that takes you straight into Edinburgh (Prince's Street). The room/s were just what we wanted and the breakfast left us full all day. Brian can arrange tours for you at no extra charge, i'd recommend the Royal Edinburgh tour which includes free entry into The Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Royal Yacht. This also includes free access to all four tour buses for 48 hours which is a must if you want to see more of the city. We ate in the Cuddie Brae for the three nights that we were there which is about two minutes away by car.
Offroad parking gave us peace of mind and there is enough room for several cars.
We'd definately stay here again.
Thank you Brian.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Duddysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2015

Hi David, Thank you both for the great review. Sorry for the late response. Thank you again for moving rooms in the emergency that we encountered with our other guests. It was very kind of you both stay in room 4 for the first night. Yes, it is great that we have plenty of space for the guests in the car park - a space for each room if the cars are parked properly. The car park is invaluable in Edinburgh when some establishments advertise " car park" and can only take two cars! I am glad that you both enjoyed Brittania on the last day. Perhaps we may meet again. Brian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We had a pleassant overnight stay in this very nice Victorian House in Portobello, very well served by several bus lines. On the arrival we were given excellent information about busses, services and all we needed.
We slept in a warm and cosy room at the ground floor with all amenities. At breakfast we could choose among a good selection of goodies in a lovely and peacfull dining room. We thank Brian and recommend this B/B. We would be delighted to stay here again. Sara and Paolo from Bologna, Italy

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PaoloF0276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Sarah and Paolo, thank you so much for your kind words. They are very much appreciated. I am so glad that you enjoyed the ambiance of our place and that you both come back again one day. Can I correct you on one point though. Our address is not Portobello. We live in Duddingston which is an area of Edinburgh east of Arthur's seat. Portobello is about 2 miles away but is a great place to visit if you want a break from the city. Brian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

We have just returned today from the Aynetree Guest House. The price is good but the room requires a little work, it's clean ish (nothing major, just a couple of tweaks), the bed is noisy, really uncomfortable and need looking at. My partner could usually sleep on a bed of nails but did not sleep much, I on the other hand am in a great deal of discomfort still and am honestly on pain relief.
On arrival we couldn't of been more impressed, Brian (we think) was so very helpful and very friendly offering advice and ideas on our stay.
The breakfast was really good, the food was delicious but the lady who served it wasn't too friendly to us (we had not complained or raised any issues at all).
You have a great product, good reviews and all the trappings of a five star review but things date, staff/owners have off days but Brian was brilliant upon arrival but never seen again.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Trev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

. Brian here. I spoke to the lady who was running my establishment whilst I joined my wife at the hospital (she became very ill during the night and was rushed to the infirmary). The lady is called Linda and she runs the guest house quite a bit when we want time off, go on holiday and unfortunately, become ill. She says that you never once complained to her when she asked if you slept well. This is very strange. Why then run to TA as soon as you get home (I surmise you took your coat off first)? I normally cook and serve the breakfast and sometimes Linda helps out and never before has she had a complaint against her. Incidentally, she COOKED your breakfast, served your breakfast and then took your money on your check-out. £60 which is £30 each minus the 15 per cent plus that agent takes leaves a mere £50 for two people in an en suite, full cooked breakfast, car park, WiFi. Amazing value for one night on a Friday. So perhaps she was under stress as she had to cook 13 breakfasts and serve them also on her own. So, this unfriendly lady cooked you a delicious breakfast and really good food but you did not mention in what way was she unfriendly. Did she say something to you that was rude or did you simply not like the look of her face? You have to clarify when telling tales about a member of staff what exactly was the problem and what was said - or not said. As for the cleanliness of the room. "clean ish". You also forgot to mention what was clean ish. Our chamber person has worked for us for 10 years and I shall not even approach her on this subject as our readers can see that clean is an adjective that is used often in my establishment. This and friendliness always coming tops. As for the bed. People like different beds. Some people like soft beds. Some people like hard beds. We cannot please everyone. As for you being on medication because of the bed. Well........I shall leave it for our readers to believe that. Now you see me...now you don't.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#107 of 394 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,005 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aynetree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aynetree Guest House

Address: 12 Duddingston Crescent | Milton Road, Edinburgh EH15 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $84 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynetree Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Victorian detached guest house, with private parking for 6 cars, situated near the city centre. 5 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms except one which has a private large bathroom all modernized and refurbished in June 2006 to a high standard. The dining room has a coal fire which is used during chilly nights. Although central to all attractions including Arthur's Seat and the Palace of Holyrood; the house is peaceful, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aynetree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynetree Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing