We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aynetree Guest House
Ranked #153 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Ayntree is a lovely little guest house. Great location just off the A1 but right near a bus stop which gets you in to the Centre really quickly. Brian and his wife are accommodating and extremely friendly. The breakfast was also lovely.

Room Tip: If you get the room with a private bathroom, I recommend taking a robe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sarahharper85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Hi Sarah, thank you for your kind words. Room 4 which is the only room with a bathroom separate from the room has two very large, thick bathrobes for use but we removed them from the wardrobe as they were so thick and heavy. They can be requested if needed. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and Brian is a great "front of the house" person. My strength lies in the work that goes on behind the scenes... "behind every successful man is a woman".....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Good old-fashioned B&B with old but functional furniture. Very nice Scottish breakfast (black pud AND haggis!). Friendly and helpful owner Brian saved us a long queue wait by booking Castle tickets for us. Very easy close convenient bus route so don't need to drive into town. Ideal for us.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for the great review. Can I point out though that the furniture is not old. It was all purchased from IKEA 3 years ago. This is not old. We bought it from here as it is sturdy and if it were to be damaged it would not cost the earth to replace. An exeption is room 5 which has reproduction furniture and very expensive. Stag minstrel. It used to be ours but we moved on to a different theme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Now I'm not saying the owner isn't nice, Brian is lovely it's just a combination of little things that make me dislike this place. Firstly, we get a shower cap but no soap and no flannels are offered either. I see these as standard offerings. They won't serve you white toast, they only offer brown. The headboard in room 5 squeaked everytime you moved! I understand that the house and rooms are Victorian themed but the bed is awful, it's low, springy and covered in a thin floral duvet.

The shower gel and hand wash were not filled up before we arrived which was a shame. The cleaner also appeared to be hell bent on moving our belongings so we had a treasure hunt finding them when we returned to the room in the evening.
Scrambled eggs are poor too but then again I'm very picky over those. Breakfast is only served from 8-9 which I also don't like. Way too expensive for what it is!!!!

The wifi though is great, although I don't know if that's just because we were downstairs and got a better signal. The breakfast room tables were laid out nicely and I like that there's music playing. The kettle is also a decent size and the parking can be tight but it's available.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank WispyFairyWings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

If I were a 9.2 on booking.com I would not even bother to respond to your pathetic points. But since I am not (and never will be) 9.2 I shall respond. We do not supply flannels and we used to but as they came back covered in sh.. I threw them all out. More hygienic to use ones hands, don't you think? If you wanted white starchy bread why not ask for it? The breakfast is served from 8 to 9 am and this is as advertised before you booked it. Do your homework! The one hour slot is relative to the six rooms. 50 rooms, over 3 hours, 100 rooms over 4 hours. etc.....all relative. Six rooms over one hour. You had soap in a little wall mounted dish by the sink. You had shower and bath gel on a wall mounted container on the shower wall. The bed is low? And.......it must have almost choked you to come with the positives in this review. Get a life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Well positioned on a main bus route into Edinburgh (20 Mins max). Accommodation was fine every hing you need for a short break. breakfast is served for only an hour but plenty of choice.

Room was clean and had plenty of bedding. Bathroom was large enough with a good shower.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Hi Stuart, thank you very much for reviewing. I am so glad that you found the place comfortable for your weekend away. We aim to please (but do not always succeed). Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We booked two rooms.
Nice accomodation with beautiful owners help and support.
We received information about how to reach the downtown festival.
Now, the best in class was the scottish breakfast!!

We suggest this place.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank silvia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Sylvia, thank you for your great review. We please most of the people most of the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#107 of 394 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,001 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aynetree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aynetree Guest House

Address: 12 Duddingston Crescent | Milton Road, Edinburgh EH15 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $86 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynetree Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Victorian detached guest house, with private parking for 6 cars, situated near the city centre. 5 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms except one which has a private large bathroom all modernized and refurbished in June 2006 to a high standard. The dining room has a coal fire which is used during chilly nights. Although central to all attractions including Arthur's Seat and the Palace of Holyrood; the house is peaceful, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aynetree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynetree Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing