We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great....”
Review of Hotel Cladhan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cladhan
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Falkirk
Reviewed 27 December 2006

Exterior of hotel not good, better inside. Room overlooked a flat roofed area which was growing some sort of fungus!! Had to keep curtains closed from arrival to departure as room next door could see into our window! Unable to regulate shower during the evening, only able to get scalding hot water. Rooms are obviously in process of being updated, bathroom ceiling patched up and awaiting painting. Very suprised to find notice on door stating that smoking was allowed in that particular room - thought smoking in all public areas in Scotland was banned?? Wouldn't stay here again, hotel is also in the middle of a council estate which we thought was strange. Only good point is that it's a 5 min walk to shops.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 245 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2006

My family and friends never actually got the chance to stay in this hotel, so we have no idea what he rooms are like or what the food is like but we did have drinks there in January 2006.... the reason being in October 2005 I booked 15 rooms for my wedding guests from Northern Ireland to stay there on Saturday 8th July under my name, JAMISON ( they were to phone and put their own name beside a room and also book other nights as they wished) as it had been recommended by my wedding reception organisers, for £45 per room per night ( a deal with The Three Kings and Cladhan Hotel). It was also in a great location for my guests, who could walk across Callendar Park, if they wanted, to Callendar House, where the wedding ceremony was going to take place. In January 2006 I upped the number of guest rooms to 25, as more of my friends and family were willing to come! We then booked a bus to take guests from Callendar House to The Three Kings were we were having our evening reception with a pick-up at the Cladhan for meal and eveing guests who couldnt fit into Callendar House due to limited numbers!

I told my guests they would need their credit card details, as you do when making a hotel booking, but i was later informed thay were never asked for it or in most cases contact numbers!!

But in March 2006, i phoned to see how many more rooms needed a name put beside it, to discover 10 of the rooms had been stroked off without my consent, noone from the Cladhan Hotel had the decency to ask me if it was ok to take back 10 rooms that noone had put their name beside yet? If they had asked i would have put names down of the older people who hadnt got around to phoning, but what made matters worse was that several of those rooms were to be left under my surname for my mum and dad, myself and my husband, my sisters, brothers, all JAMISONS!!

Well, the owner, Douglas, said that he had authorised the removal of the 10 rooms, and later tried to rectify his mistake by phoning around other hotels in the Falkirk area, while my partner and I drove to hotels and guests houses, but everything was booked up on the 8th July, a very busy summer weekend, thats why i had booked early in the first place!! Eventually we found a hotel, Antonine, in the centre of town which had 10 rooms available. But now our guests were split into two hotels and I had arranged a buffet in the Cladhan Hotel for Friday 7th, as a get together for my family and friends travelling across from NI...so the 'younger' guests had to be moved to the Antonine hotel, leaving 'older' guests closer to Callendar House in the Cladhan!

Then to top it all off, three days before my wedding, on Wednesday 5th July, I phoned the Cladhan Hotel to make sure everything was ok, when the receptionist informed me my remaining guests (15) were being moved, which I was told due to electrics not working in some of the bedrooms, yet when I spoke to one of my guests back home, she said she had been told it was due to a bus tour!!!!!! By this point I was in absolute tears, of the 15 guests, some were being moved to the Antonine, others to The Park Hotel, and three couples were staying in the Cladhan!!!!! Guests all over Falkirk!! But when I went to the Cladhan Hotel to sort this all out, as they didnt have any contact numbers for my guests, I was treated like they couldnt give a damn! I felt so let down, and just did not need this three days before the wedding. The receptionist didnt have a clue, as the 'booking procedure' consisted of a tatty old diary, which had so many scribbles and tip-ex on the "Sat 8th July", it was illegible, any wonder they didnt have a clue who was going where and who was staying!!

I confronted the manager, Douglas, about the german "bus tour" and why my guests, who were booked there for longer had been ousted instead of the bus tour, which he poorly denied, but it all makes sense now, my guests were just a one-off weekend, bus tours, if treated correctly, would come back year and year again!! I have never felt so let down by a so-called business! I demanded all my guests were moved out of their hotel, which they did, with not as much as an apology or offer of compensation! They rehoused four sets of couples in the The Park Hotel, and a 'person' there agreed it seemed likely the Cladhan Hotel were hoping to move all my guests (at £45 per room) to allow for the bus tour (£80+ per rm per night)at some point, it just had to be a day before my guests arrived and two days before the wedding!! I am disgusted at the way that hotel is being run....we cancelled the 'buffet ' and reorganised it for the Park Hotel, who were fantastic, and helped to put my mind at ease that my guests would be well looked after, which they were and given taxis for the wedding. The Antonine Hotel were also fantastic, they bent over backwards to accommodate over 40 guests and ensured my guests had taxis for the Saturday 8th wedding!! I had a fantastic day, but the Cladhan Hotel management team could so easily have ruined it.........

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
10  Thank yvonnej1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
19
Reviewed 4 July 2004

A truly 100% enjoyable experience throughout my stay!
The most prominent attribute the hotel had was the courteousness and friendliness of the staff. It is so refreshing and nice to experience service with a smile, which is so often forgotten in today's society!
The hotel restaurant is inviting and has a friendly atmosphere to rival many of the "so called" top restaurants that I have eaten in over the years.
The meals were out of this world and again I have no qualms in saying that it could easily be mistaken for “Michelin Starred” or “Rosetted” food with meticulous attention to detail. Having worked in the Hospitality industry and had the fortune to travel worldwide and stay in the best of establishments with my career I can honestly say that I haven't had such a down-to-earth and friendly experience for years.

The hotel was just meant to be a stop on the road to Edinburgh after an “inadvertently” long journey from England! But after one night I decided to stay on in Falkirk for 3 nights. I honestly would recommend the hotel to anyone passing through or intending to stay in the area.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Tagheuer40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marea B, Manager at Hotel Cladhan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyaway1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marea B, Duty Manager at Hotel Cladhan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falkirk
1.1 km away
Best Western Park Hotel
6.5 km away
Premier Inn Falkirk North Hotel
3.3 km away
Travelodge Falkirk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Antonine Hotel
Antonine Hotel
#8 of 9 in Falkirk
113 reviews
4.4 km away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
4.2 km away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#3 of 4 in Grangemouth
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cladhan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cladhan

Address: Kemper Avenue, Falkirk FK1 1UF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Falkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Falkirk
Price Range: $102 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cladhan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly & welcoming 3-star hotel situated a stone’s throw away from Falkirk High Street. Whether you're in town for business or using Falkirk as a base to explore the surrounding area on holiday, Hotel Cladhan is just the ticket! The hotel incorporates 53 en-suite bedrooms, a public bar & a friendly 70 seater restaurant that offers dinner from 5pm Monday-Friday & serves food from 12pm on a Saturday & 1pm Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cladhan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cladhan Hotel Falkirk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing