We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, friendly atmosphere and attentive staff”

Chaakoo Bombay Cafe
Ranked #24 of 2,680 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Description: The sister restaurant of Topolabamba Mexican Kitchen, Chaakoo Bombay Cafe looks forward to taking guests back in time to experience the incredible flavours, smells and atmosphere of a classic Iranian cafe. At Chaakoo, we have strived to keep the feel and experience as similar as possible, complete with a little added extra. Enjoy your visit, whether you pop in for a Chai, Bombay Slinger or Chaatinar
Restaurant details
Description: The sister restaurant of Topolabamba Mexican Kitchen, Chaakoo Bombay Cafe looks forward to taking guests back in time to experience the incredible flavours, smells and atmosphere of a classic Iranian cafe. At Chaakoo, we have strived to keep the feel and experience as similar as possible, complete with a little added extra. Enjoy your visit, whether you pop in for a Chai, Bombay Slinger or Chaatinar
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Tried around 6 dishes between two, all were amazing. We were offered some promo cocktail which was great. Great service from the waiter, Ciaran.

Will be back (many times).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank smow08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

Recommended by 2 friends , so took a friend last night.We had lovely food , chicken korma , a lamb dish , biryana, fish dish , rice , salad , julab gamin , ice cream and chai tea..All came very quickly and hot ..Staff very attentive.

    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ROSALYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Lots of good things here. Nice size dishes, especially at lunch time, where over eating really does not fit well. We had four tapas-sized dishes (three might have been enough) - the Bombay potatoes had some 'nip' to them, but the Chicken Chettinad had a smoothness to balance, while the lemon rice was succulent...best of all might have been the cauliflower-side along with the light, fruity, house salad. Liked the draft Raj Mahal beer. Good, helpful service throughout. One glitch, might be the table size! Trying to manage the various dishes, the drinks, the table cutlery, the condiments, the napkin holder...…..if you have more than 4 dishes watch out. Good lunch time fare - would go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank brewer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

A great lunch of Indian tapas that was only a 5 minute walk from Glasgow Queen Street Station for only £9.95/head. Plus there was lots of free water. I recommend the madras.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Natnotgnats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

I visited here with my wife for her birthday. We had been for food last year and at that time the food was great. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. We ordered the spiced lamb chops, Tandoori spiced wings, Garlic chilli chicken, Lamb Saagwalla, Masala fries and the Peshwiri nan. All of the food arrived around five minutes after we had ordered it. The chips were soggy and were not freshly cooked, the dishes were cold until you mixed the sauce which indicates micro heating. The lamb chops were burnt, solid and inedible the chicken pieces were dry and chalky which again indicates micro re heat. We complained and sent all of the food back. Unfortunately we had already opened the bottle of wine so that's all we paid for. This was not the greatest birthday meal for my wife. We will definitely not return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank midimanmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaakooBombayCafe, Manager at Chaakoo Bombay Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent visit. We value all feedback as it gives us a chance to improve and continually better ourselves. We're sorry to hear that you weren't impressed with our food last week.

We can assure you that all of our food is freshly made and not re heated. We're proud of the fast service that we provide, and we always have a full kitchen team prepared and ready. When you visited, it was at one of our quieter periods and this will be why the food came so quickly after you ordered. Our curries are prepared each morning and slow cooked to give the flavours time to develop and ensure that the meat is cooked and tender. In regards to the temperatures of the curries, I'm sorry that you felt they weren't hot enough. They should be served in hot bowls as this helps to retain their heat whilst you eat, and I have reiterated this to our kitchen team, but I want to assure you that our curries are always fresh and never reheated. Our lamb chops are cooked on a tandoor grill and since your complaint we have been looking in to the quality of the lamb chops we have been receiving from our supplier to ensure that in future we can provide 5 star food to all of our customers. We apologise that our food has let us down on this occasion and that this spoiled your wife's birthday.

I'm sorry to hear that you won't be returning, however our door is always open. Should you change your mind, you can email me on annie@chaakoo.co.uk and I'll arrange the booking personally and make sure you are well looked after.

Kind Regards,
Annie
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chaakoo Bombay Cafe also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Chaakoo Bombay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing