We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Central Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$208
US$174
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$195
US$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$229
US$199
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Glasgow City Centre(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$354
US$295
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$120
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$184
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,357)
Filter reviews
4,357 results
Traveller rating
1,788
1,507
647
250
165
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,788
1,507
647
250
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne bartempus restauranttrain stationchampagne centralgordon streettaxi rankhope streetjunior suitetravelling by trainlovely hotelstreet noiselovely roomstandard rooman overnight stayhaggiscentre of glasgowstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
3,860 - 3,865 of 4,357 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Great Hotel and the Staff had a great sense of humour. Location was fantastic and the rooms were lovely and spacious. We didn't have a bath, ours was shower only but that suited me fine. Was a power shower with great pressure. Lovely. All in all will definitely go back there next year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

I am delighted that the fun started as soon as you arrived at the Grand Central Hotel and that our Friendly Service Award winning staff were on hand with a great sense of humour; we pride ourselves on the high level of customer service we offer.

Thank you for taking the time to review with a top rating of 5, we are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here a number of years ago and swore we would never return, however having had a huge renovation we decided to give it another go, we were not disappointed, the hotel has been tastefully redecorated, and looks amazing, the location couldn't be better, the only down side was the champagne bar, the surroundings were lovely, unfortunately there was children running around for most of the night and I feel it should be a child free zone, also the music was far to loud and felt ourselves having to shout to be heard. Apart from that a beautiful hotel and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyshelleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

I am glad that you had chosen to return and you were not disappointed; we are very proud of what Principal Hayley has achieved with the restoration of the Grand Central Hotel.

Word of mouth is so important and I am again delighted that you will be recommending the Grand Central Hotel to others, we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here on a Saturday night with my boyfriend. The room was amazingly spacious although we were staying in one of their suites. The bathroom was huge with a very large bath and nice complimentary toiletries. The bed was also huge although there was an odd join in the middle. The room was warm and the staff were polite and helpful. We did notice some noise from the street when we first arrived but after closing the curtains we never noticed it. The only other slight fault was that the tv reception was very good but since we were only staying 1 night and going to a concert, that didnt bother us. Will be back in Glasgow in a few months and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herena13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for your top rating of 5 and for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Glasgow for a concert.

It's great to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Central and that you would definitely consider us again on a return trip; A very warm welcome awaits you;

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Very central right next to the railway station and within minutes of the shops which are excellent! Large hotel with good fascilities and very helpful staff. Had the JFK suite which was lovely and the bathroom with power shower and enormous bath incredible!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for your positive review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us!

I hope we will be able to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed at the Grand Central Hotel with my partner for a DBB birthday treat.

We found the decor of the recently refurbished hotel to be stunningly modern throughout whilst still retaining the character and charm of the train station.

Our bedroom was small but perfectly formed! The fixtures, fittings and fabrics felt very luxurious. The bathroom was very large with all mod cons. The only critique I have is that there was quite a bit of shrinkage in the bedroom/bathroom which is natural with the hotel being recently renovated; however, could do with being touched up.

You can hear the faint tannoy announcements from the train station from the bedrooms which I loved - was a reminder of the unique location.

We ate from the DBB menu within the hotel's Tempus restaurant. The food was extremely good and the portion size generous. The banana and walnut bread and butter pudding is the best pudding I've ever tasted! The restaurant itself is as opulently decorated as the rest of the hotel. The lighting, decor and music make a really nice atmosphere.

We had drinks in the hotel's Champagne Bar which was lovely - you can choose to sit within a comfortable lounge of plush sofas/armchairs or sit on stools people watching over the train station. Drinks in the hotel are quite expensive but I think that it to be expected from a 4 star city centre hotel.

The staff throughout the hotel were extremely polite, professional and helpful. A tiny critique... the staff were a wee bit too professional - could have done with showing a bit more of their personalities.

Overall a fantastic experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Dgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thank you for your positive review and top rating!

Customer feedback is very important to us and it is always pleasing to receive positive comments and thank you for your valuable feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Grand Central Hotel in the near future.

A very warm welcome awaits you.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews