We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room in very tastefully refurbished hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here in November as part of an internet deal which included, wine in room, chocolates and free champagne voucher in bar. Great value deal and hotel didn't disappoint. Queen bedded room was spacious,tastefully decorated and although it faced onto the busy Gordon Street side of the hotel (in front of taxi rank) we were not disturbed by noise if the window was closed) Good breakfast, very helpful staff!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandalGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that any street noise was not heard in your Gordon Street facing room during your stay.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,554 - 3,558 of 4,039 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

Great Hotel and the Staff had a great sense of humour. Location was fantastic and the rooms were lovely and spacious. We didn't have a bath, ours was shower only but that suited me fine. Was a power shower with great pressure. Lovely. All in all will definitely go back there next year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

I am delighted that the fun started as soon as you arrived at the Grand Central Hotel and that our Friendly Service Award winning staff were on hand with a great sense of humour; we pride ourselves on the high level of customer service we offer.

Thank you for taking the time to review with a top rating of 5, we are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here a number of years ago and swore we would never return, however having had a huge renovation we decided to give it another go, we were not disappointed, the hotel has been tastefully redecorated, and looks amazing, the location couldn't be better, the only down side was the champagne bar, the surroundings were lovely, unfortunately there was children running around for most of the night and I feel it should be a child free zone, also the music was far to loud and felt ourselves having to shout to be heard. Apart from that a beautiful hotel and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyshelleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

I am glad that you had chosen to return and you were not disappointed; we are very proud of what Principal Hayley has achieved with the restoration of the Grand Central Hotel.

Word of mouth is so important and I am again delighted that you will be recommending the Grand Central Hotel to others, we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here on a Saturday night with my boyfriend. The room was amazingly spacious although we were staying in one of their suites. The bathroom was huge with a very large bath and nice complimentary toiletries. The bed was also huge although there was an odd join in the middle. The room was warm and the staff were polite and helpful. We did notice some noise from the street when we first arrived but after closing the curtains we never noticed it. The only other slight fault was that the tv reception was very good but since we were only staying 1 night and going to a concert, that didnt bother us. Will be back in Glasgow in a few months and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herena13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for your top rating of 5 and for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Glasgow for a concert.

It's great to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Central and that you would definitely consider us again on a return trip; A very warm welcome awaits you;

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Very central right next to the railway station and within minutes of the shops which are excellent! Large hotel with good fascilities and very helpful staff. Had the JFK suite which was lovely and the bathroom with power shower and enormous bath incredible!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for your positive review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us!

I hope we will be able to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,355 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,070 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
1,488 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $129 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing