We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Welcome...Grand Room....Grand Bar...Grand Breakfast....Grand Central!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at the Grand Central purely by accident in January, because weather had caused disruption to flights and trains.

After receiving bad news from the station we decided to chance to hotel and walk straight in from the platform. Many other travellers had the same idea and a small que was forming when we arrived.

We managed to get a rate of £79 B+B at the desk with Sandy, who was very understanding about our situation. Gordon the concierge kindly took our bags to the room for us and recommended a great eatery for the evening.

Our room was spacious and nicely decorated. I did think that some of the space used in the bathroom could maybe have been utilised in the room - but these old buildings often prensent eccentric qualities like this.

We had to leave early the next morning and were forced to grab a very quick breakfast. The range was fantastic!! bacon, eggs, tomatoes, fruit salad, pastries, juices, cereals....yum!

The chandelier on the staircase is a must see whilst your here!

Room Tip: Hope Street was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USA_adventurer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

It is unfortunate you were unable to travel as planned due to train disruptions, I am however delighted that we are able to welcome you to the Grand Central Hotel instead.

Being a property first built in 1883 and a listed building, our room sizes and shapes do vary, this we believe is part of its great character.

I am glad that you were able to join us for a quick breakfast and that you found it was fantastic!

Thank you for taking the time to review, I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,558 - 3,562 of 4,046 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

The hotel is in an absolutely perfect location. As the name says it is a Grand hotel, it looks grand, the rooms are grand and it just has this certain something about it.
The room I stayed in was huge and the bathroom......I could have easily just stayed in the bathroom.
It is also quite funny to have a view out your window of the Glasgow Central Station :)
The hotel was refurbished quite recently so everything looks great!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1rjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you for your review and top rating of 5.

Our internal facing rooms which overlook the concourse of Glasgow Central Station are certainly unique and great for people watching; I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

A friend had recommended the Grand Central as it had been refurbed and I had previously tried "Champagne Central" and thought it was lovely. Upon check in we were told our booking had not gone through (we booked last minute through booking.com) we handed over our confirmation and without any fuss the receptionist checked the availiability of the rooms and unfortunately there were no double rooms left but she put us straight into a suite and I have to say it was absolutely stunning, it was massive! The staircase leading up to the rooms is hard work (we had a room on the third floor) I'd suggest the lift but the staircase itself is stunning as is the giant chandelier. The room had a giant comfy bed, flat screen tv, plug sockets at dressing table (I always find most hotels lack with plug sockets being near mirrors) and the bathroom was so clean and the complimentry toiletries included conditioner which is fab! Also, bathrobes and slippers. I will most definitely be staying again. Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: If you have the spare cash, try a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Top rating of 5 and fantastic review - Thank you!

I am delighted that you were impressed with the hotel, especially the suites; our aim is to create an outstanding experience and I do believe by your comments we have achieved this.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back and why not book with us direct next time check out our Trip Advisor homepage for promotion details.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here in November as part of an internet deal which included, wine in room, chocolates and free champagne voucher in bar. Great value deal and hotel didn't disappoint. Queen bedded room was spacious,tastefully decorated and although it faced onto the busy Gordon Street side of the hotel (in front of taxi rank) we were not disturbed by noise if the window was closed) Good breakfast, very helpful staff!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandalGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that any street noise was not heard in your Gordon Street facing room during your stay.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Great Hotel and the Staff had a great sense of humour. Location was fantastic and the rooms were lovely and spacious. We didn't have a bath, ours was shower only but that suited me fine. Was a power shower with great pressure. Lovely. All in all will definitely go back there next year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

I am delighted that the fun started as soon as you arrived at the Grand Central Hotel and that our Friendly Service Award winning staff were on hand with a great sense of humour; we pride ourselves on the high level of customer service we offer.

Thank you for taking the time to review with a top rating of 5, we are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,359 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,072 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
1,488 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $127 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing