We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed as a birthday treat or one night, had room overlooking station roof (room 406) didn't book to enjoy view so was not a problem, no noise from station announcers as previous reviews stated. Not sure if lower floors would Suffer from station noise. Beautifully rich dark furniture, comfy bed, gorgeous bathroom.
Had cocktail in champagne bar, was lovely.

Breakfast in Tempus restaurant was good, plenty choice - only criticism is it could have been slightly hotter, good choice of juices, pancake machine however was just a gimmick, 10 mins for 2 pancakes to be produced is ridiculous.
All in all lovely night away., and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from taxi ranks in hope street - apparently very noisy at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your birthday celebration at Grand Central and look forward to your return visit.

A warm welcome awaits you.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,357 - 3,361 of 4,033 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

I really liked the wide corridors and the large airy room with a very high ceiling. There were few frills (no minibar etc) but that was not a big issue for me. I also liked the Champagne bar overlooking Glasgow central train station not just for an early evening cocktail but also for afternoon tea. The airport bus was extremely handy and cheap costing only 5 pounds each way and taking only 15 minutes from the airport. They tried with the wifi but irritatingly it drops out all the time and I had to keep refreshing my credentials over and over. The breakfast was poorly managed with a slow moving queue at busy times and generally overcooked food. In fairness the chef did produce black pudding for me on request which was nice and the tasty pork sausages largely made up for the rubbery eggs.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room for extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davido357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Grand Central Hotel. Our £20 million refurbishment has brought this hotel back to its former glory and I am pleased to hear you had an excellent stay with us. I also appreciate your feedback on your breakfast dining experience.

I hope to see you visiting our Champagne Bar in the near future to enjoy some more of our delicious cocktails.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Don't bother. There are plenty of other hotels close to the station. There are no curtains in the rooms, just blinds that are quite some distance from the window - leaving an enormous gap of light. The rooms are scruffy and 2 star quality and the food is dry and hard.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Figsnfings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review.

I am disappointed to hear you had maintenance issues with our bedroom blinds. All our blinds are designed to have a blackout effect. I have past on your feedback to our maintenance team to investigate this matter further, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I do hope you decide to visit the Grand Central Hotel.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night as a Birthday treat. Hotel entrance is beautiful, we received a very warm welcome from a member of staff.[All staff were very helpful and friendly] We arrived at hotel a couple of hours earlier than our check in time in the hope of leaving our bags, but the very helpful receptionist told us that he would check if our room was ready which to our delight it was! Our room was very comfortable and looked directly on to the station,, which was great fun watching people coming and going.Not to noisy at all as i had previously read!The champagne bar was lovely! we dined in the tempus restaurant which was ok! wouldn't rush back! Breakfast was nice!
Would stay again at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carhed91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

I am delighted to hear that your sister had a fabulous birthday treat at the Grand Central hotel and would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your top rating of 5 on your review. We like to share special occasions with our guests and ensure that they have a wonderful experience.

We sit in the perfect location for our visitors to enjoy all the culture and history that Glasgow has to offer. I look forward to your next visit where a warm welcome awaits you.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at the grand central hotel Glasgow for 1 night on Sunday 1st July. We arrived at 11.15 and the guy on reception was very nice and helpful said we could check in early because our room was ready, the room was well equipped with plenty of space. We dined In the hotel restaurant and our waitress name was ' Katie' she was a lovely helpful lady with excellent people skills. Our breakfast was one of the nicest av had with plenty of range. All in all it was anEXCELLENT HOTEL and we will definetly be returning. ANNEMARIE BOND

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 925AnnemarieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

We appreciate your top rating of 5 and Katie will especially be delighted to hear of your comments.

Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,353 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,067 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,745 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $129 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing