We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Central Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$167
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$357
US$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$258
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$239
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Glasgow City Centre(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$226
US$176
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$281
US$253
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$243
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$185
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,360)
Filter reviews
4,360 results
Traveller rating
1,789
1,509
647
250
165
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,789
1,509
647
250
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne bartempus restauranttrain stationchampagne centralgordon streettaxi rankhope streetjunior suitetravelling by trainlovely hotelstreet noiselovely roomstandard rooman overnight stayhaggiscentre of glasgowstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 4,360 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Why would any hotel operator select a location for its main breakfast room which is woefully undesized for the number of guests in the hotel ? I was staying in the hotel for one night and when I arrived for breakfast I had the privilege of watching 20 people queuing up a flight of stairs, all waiting for breakfast. The staff were trying their best to get tables turned around quickly but it was clear to most guests whio had to wait that the breakfast room was simply too small.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank wormitfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear wormitfriend

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share them, Feedback is very important ,to us in order to improve the service we provide and i will make sure yours is shared with the team.

we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This is my first visit to this hotel since it has been modernised. I arrived by train and walked into the hotel straight from the station. The reception area is very attractive and so different to what it was the last time I stayed here. The whole hotel is attractively and tastefully decorated including my room. The room had every thing desirable, comfortable bed, coffee and tea facilities and a large bathroom with all requirements. Unfortunately the heating wasn't on so the room was rather chilly. The hotel is most attractive and makes the most of its position and history.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kendoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear kendoon

Thank you for your recent review and for taking the time to share it on this forum. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Booked an executive suite for a weekend getaway, the room was large with a separate lounge which we made great use of, which was the end of the perks. The large, king bed was actually two small beds pushed together with a uncomfortable seen in the middle, so much for cuddling. Also, the distant but constant drone of the train announcements left us reaching for ear plugs. Overall it was OK but not worth the price. Also, housekeeping only addressed one room making up the bed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Magg8s0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Although I'd lived in the Glasgow area many years ago, my husband was hesitant on our recent trip to drive in the areas we planned to visit--including lots of roundabouts and hedgerows.

So the Grand Central, with a direct entrance to Glasgow Central Station was a perfect location to travel to most of the places we wanted to go--and a short walk to Queen Street to pick up trains heading north. We were a few blocks from the Buchanan Street shops and restaurants. The station also had a number of shops with "grab and go" food, and there's a small supermarket across the street. Our suite had a small refrigerator. So on mornings when we just wanted something light and to get out early, we'd grab some scones or croissants the night before and just make coffee or tea in our room in the morning.

In spite of late-night activity on the street below, our room was quiet due to added double windows. Our only issue was that there was a late night Saturday evening event (just below our room on the first floor) that went until almost 3 AM. So best to ask for a suite or room not over the function rooms on the restaurant level. The front desk did give us a free night and breakfast because of this inconvenience.

Bathroom/shower were wonderful and the room comfortable. The furniture, carpet, and wallpaper were somewhat dated, but our room was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. We'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't above the restaurant-level function rooms, due to late night events on weekends.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MaryanneIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear MaryanneIrish

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share them, I was happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and took full advantage of the surrounding establishments.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

A grand old house with a lot of soul. The staff are very friendly and helpful,the atmosphere relaxed but professional. Ask for a room facing the train station as the street side gets a bit noisy. Situated in the heart of Glasgow shopping is all done within walking distance.
The only downside was not being able to open the windows and a moldy smell. There was some mold in the bathroom window. Everything else was very nice, clean and overall a great stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank islandius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear islandius

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share them on this forum, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews