We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe better options in Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The building itself is impressive and provides an element of grandeur when you enter. Check-in was quick and easy and the reception service throughout our stay was very good. The rooms were well appointed and included some useful touches like an iron and ironing board. The size of the room was okay and the bathroom very large, a little disproportionate but it is an old building and so irregular shaped room and space distribution is expected. The temperature of the room at night was difficult to regulate and at times it swung from being too hot to too cold. Not a massive problem but it did interrupt our sleep. The biggest disappointment was the noise. Again, it's an old building and therefore expected that noise will travel but the general background noise that could be heard from our room and when walking down the corridor, coming from other rooms, could have been better. At night (a Saturday) we experienced loud music past midnight that penetrated the room. We mentioned this to reception and they dealt with the problem accordingly, which was much appreciated. Would I return to the hotel, probably not. For the price I think there would be better options in a city that is very easy to get around in.

Room Tip: Avoid 452. Loud music could be heard on a Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Chris G

Thank you for your feedback, which i will share with the rest of the team, i am glad that reception was able to assist you on checkout following the issues you mentioned and that you enjoyed several aspects of your stay.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 55 of 4,039 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Why would any hotel operator select a location for its main breakfast room which is woefully undesized for the number of guests in the hotel ? I was staying in the hotel for one night and when I arrived for breakfast I had the privilege of watching 20 people queuing up a flight of stairs, all waiting for breakfast. The staff were trying their best to get tables turned around quickly but it was clear to most guests whio had to wait that the breakfast room was simply too small.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank wormitfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear wormitfriend

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share them, Feedback is very important ,to us in order to improve the service we provide and i will make sure yours is shared with the team.

we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This is my first visit to this hotel since it has been modernised. I arrived by train and walked into the hotel straight from the station. The reception area is very attractive and so different to what it was the last time I stayed here. The whole hotel is attractively and tastefully decorated including my room. The room had every thing desirable, comfortable bed, coffee and tea facilities and a large bathroom with all requirements. Unfortunately the heating wasn't on so the room was rather chilly. The hotel is most attractive and makes the most of its position and history.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kendoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear kendoon

Thank you for your recent review and for taking the time to share it on this forum. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Booked an executive suite for a weekend getaway, the room was large with a separate lounge which we made great use of, which was the end of the perks. The large, king bed was actually two small beds pushed together with a uncomfortable seen in the middle, so much for cuddling. Also, the distant but constant drone of the train announcements left us reaching for ear plugs. Overall it was OK but not worth the price. Also, housekeeping only addressed one room making up the bed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Magg8s0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Although I'd lived in the Glasgow area many years ago, my husband was hesitant on our recent trip to drive in the areas we planned to visit--including lots of roundabouts and hedgerows.

So the Grand Central, with a direct entrance to Glasgow Central Station was a perfect location to travel to most of the places we wanted to go--and a short walk to Queen Street to pick up trains heading north. We were a few blocks from the Buchanan Street shops and restaurants. The station also had a number of shops with "grab and go" food, and there's a small supermarket across the street. Our suite had a small refrigerator. So on mornings when we just wanted something light and to get out early, we'd grab some scones or croissants the night before and just make coffee or tea in our room in the morning.

In spite of late-night activity on the street below, our room was quiet due to added double windows. Our only issue was that there was a late night Saturday evening event (just below our room on the first floor) that went until almost 3 AM. So best to ask for a suite or room not over the function rooms on the restaurant level. The front desk did give us a free night and breakfast because of this inconvenience.

Bathroom/shower were wonderful and the room comfortable. The furniture, carpet, and wallpaper were somewhat dated, but our room was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. We'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't above the restaurant-level function rooms, due to late night events on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MaryanneIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme G, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear MaryanneIrish

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share them, I was happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and took full advantage of the surrounding establishments.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,356 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,070 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
1,488 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $129 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing