We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelodge at its best - value-for-money, comfortable and clean - friendly staff too. City centre and subway are easy wa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Glasgow Paisley Road Hotel
Ranked #56 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Travelodge Paisley Road, Glasgow, Scotland

We’d arrived an hour or so before our entitled entry time in the afternoon and had the choice of paying another GB£10 for an ‘early check-in’ or leaving things in the car. The latter was an easy one – we were off to visit the Kelvingrove Museum/Art Gallery and were only seeking to confirm arrival and drop of our bags. The car park outside would be equally as good – and we took the subway (the local metro) that loops around the city centre. Shields Road Station is 10 minutes on foot; fares are GB£1.40/ride or GB£4 for a day’s pass – we took the second option. Well, that made planning easier.
That said, the friendly woman at reception acknowledged our arrival and, upon request, allocated us a ground floor room (we got #85). No point in humping trolley bags up and down stairs.
We were back at the Travelodge by late afternoon – just in before the end-of-working day’s traffic, and the subway had been a delight – clean, fast and empty. Good value too.
That proved to be much the same with our experience of the Paisley Road Travelodge. Day manager and night manager were friendly, helpful and quick. This was your traditional design UK-wide Travelodge – spacious car park (no charge), two-level building, long central corridors and that ubiquitous blue carpet (complete with stains) and well-scarred wooden door jambs and scuff boards. More importantly, it was clean, functional and comfortable.
There was, as usual, tea/coffee-making facilities in the room, with a tray of extras at reception. What more could we expect? Well, good weather for a start, but that’s more difficult to organize. It had rained earlier and was raining by early evening and this curtailed our walk into the city – to eat and look-around; it’s a 15-minute walk. We got as far as the Quay – recreation, cinema, eating zone next to the Clyde.
Comfort and value-for-money are key features of most Travelodges. We’d booked in April and paid GB£37 for the night (including a GB£2 booking fee). Comfort comes from a good night’s sleep in a large warm bed and a wrap-around-duvet (sufficient for two) – the rain had brought temperatures down to 13degC (there was billboard with temperature/time in the Quay).
The bathroom worked well – lots of hot water from a shower unit over the bath. You have to climb into the bath tub and hang on to the hand rails.
Down sides? Well, nothing of any consequence. The electric jug leaked – but we reported that the next morning. There’s a wooden lip around the bench/desk along one wall that trapped the crumbs from our ‘breakfast’ and, without cleaning cloths, couldn’t be captured/cleaned up. Take care when showering and getting out of the bath tub – there’s a long drop. The elevated motorway 100m away was noisy with the window open.

Peter Steele
Glasgow
11 July 2017

Room Tip: Room #85 faced the car park & elevated motorway. Those at the back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend the TRNSMT festival on Glasgow Green. Ideal location and price for this trip. What can be said it's a fairly basic cheap and cheerful travelogue. Staff are friendly but we found all the Glaswegians to be very friendly. There isn't a restaurant at this hotel but there is a harvester, Burger King, Nando's within a 5 minute walk. But best of all, an all you can eat world buffet shares the same car park so we filled up there.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Glasgow Paisley Road Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Many thanks for submitting your review.

We are pleased to learn that your stay was overall positive and you experienced friendly staff service during your visit along with finding our hotel in an ideal location.

Feedback such as yours is invaluable and we will ensure the hotel receives a copy of your comments. Thank you again and we do hope you choose to visit Travelodge again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We use the Travel lodge a lot so I know what to expect. This hotel is tired, shabby and in great need of some TLC. The beds are in a shocking state, I would go as far as say not fit for purpose. When I complained I was told they had additional toppers I could have had if I had complained in the night and they knew the beds were not comfortable. This should be done as standard and not an afterthought. Duvets and pillows were in need of replacement. Secondary glazing didn't mute the road noise from both sides of the building. Still waiting for the goodwill voucher I was promised. Done well a Travel lodge is great however when it comes to this particular one don't waste your money and find somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Glasgow Paisley Road Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our Glasgow Paisley Road Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to the hotel. As your experience was not up to our usual high standards, may we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Service team via our website with your review to look into this more thoroughly. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Myself Andy daughter stayed here before out early flight the next morning. We had food and used the shuttle service.
Food- wasn't the best, but it was our first time staying at somewhere like this so il learn for next time
Shuttle bus, book the day you arrive and it's only £3, very prompt and no issue at all booking.
The room itself was nice, the beds, they were heavily. Best sleep I have had for ages.
The staff awesome throughout, they were literally there for every question we had. Very polite and friendly. We will definitely be booking again if we have an early flight.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jmaybanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

ideal to get around Glasgow it is near to the city centre,it has plenty of places to eat nearby.If you need a taxi the hotel has a direct line and the taxis only take a few minutes to arrive.The rooms have all you need and are clean,the beds are very comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: if you have any specific requirements the staff will do their best to accommodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
886 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
1,187 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Glasgow Paisley Road Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Glasgow Paisley Road Hotel

Address: 251 Paisley Road, Glasgow G5 8RA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#37 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $70 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Glasgow Paisley Road Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Glasgow Paisley Road Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Glasgow Paisley Road Hotel Scotland
Glasgow Travel Lodge
Glasgow Travelodge
Travel Lodge Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing