We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff excellent, food terrible”
Review of Don Costanzo

Don Costanzo
Ranked #335 of 2,552 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Don Costanzo is an Italian Restaurant located in the basement of 13 Woodside Crescent, Glasgow G3. Formerly the location of Nick Nairn's restaurant, it has been transformed into a warm, homely welcoming restaurant where you can enjoy the best of authentic, home cooked Italian cuisine. Don Costanzo was opened after the closure of The Caprese in Buchanan Street, a long established restaurant of 26 years, owned and run by Costanzo Cacace and his family. Costanzo gained the reputation of offering the best of the best to the best of the best. Clientèle from across the globe, famous and not so famous, enjoyed what Costanzo offered in the Caprese - fantastic food in a great atmosphere - and those people have returned to Don Costanzo for more of the same. Using only the best ingredients and produce, and with an impressive wine list to suit every taste, a trip to Costanzo's will not disappoint. Easily reached from both the city centre and west end with plentiful street parking and good transport links.
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is also a very nice place with a good admosphere to spend your evening. For that I would give five stars.
The food nevertheless is horrible. For example, we ordered risotto, but got served plain rice. Tomato sauce tasted like ordinary canned sauce and the meatballs were tasteless. The Spaghetti was to soft and tasted like a mild doughball.

Thank iZwerver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo1904, Public Relations Manager at Don Costanzo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Well, never in the history of our restaurant have we had someone describe our food as "horrible" . I wonder if you did actually visit or are you just trying help out one of our competitors with slanderous remarks? We know we are good at what we do, our staff are fab and our food is excellent. Everything made at the moment with quality ingredients means we are 100% confident that the food served to our customers is the best of the best. You ordered risotto and got a plate of plain rice? Never happened. Meatballs tasteless? Are you kidding me! We make some of the best meatballs you can get, we eat them ourselves and tasteless is not a word associated with our meatballs! The hours spent making our Napoli sauce to have it described as like a canned sauce, we can only assume that you are a man devoid of tastebuds. Spaghetti is always served al dente, no genuine Italian restaurant would have the audacity to serve spaghetti that tasted like a doughball. Anyway, this is all hypothetical, there is no way you dined with us, tell the truth now we thank you for your contribution nevertheless, it's raised a chuckle or two

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We go regularly to Don Costanzo's and you're always guaranteed a great night! Amazing food unlike any Italian I've tasted in Glasgow and brilliant friendly staff.
Amatriciana always a winner!

1  Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

I would give 6 stars for this place, just for the food. The selection is huge, and the quality was outstanding and prepared properly.

The place is family run, so the staff know all their dishes inside out, are super helpful and friendly.

Must-see....for you, and must-return for me!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Florian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

My partner and I had dinner at Don Costanzo on Saturday 17th June and we just wish we went sooner. We had the most amazing experience. The food was to die for, absolutely delicious, and the staff are incredible. Every one of them made us feel so welcome and it truly did feel like a real Italian experience. If you are looking for good quality food at a reasonable price, Don Costanzo will not disappoint. We cannot wait to return.

Thank Sophia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Delicious pasta and the best apple pie! Staff were so, so lovely! Wish I was staying longer in Glasgow so I could come back!

Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Costanzo also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Don Costanzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing