We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon drinks and cake”
Review of The Druie

The Druie
Ranked #11 of 66 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$38
Cuisines: Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Druie takes its name from the burn(river) that rushes behind the restaurant and always seems in a hurry to carry clear, sparkling mountain water from the Cairngorms to the River Spey. We are open daily 9.30am - 5.00pm for locally roasted coffee, locally sourced tasty lunches,leaf teas and delicious homemade cakes, with a focus on dishes prepared from lovingly home produced beef from our pedigree herd of Highland cattle,our velvety venison from the ancient forest of Rothiemurchus and seasonal produce from specialist producers, served in a relaxed, friendly environment. Whilst enjoying your coffee or lunch at the Druie, you can enjoy the exhibition of local artwork which changes each month, especially selected by Ellie, who manages the Gallery at Loch an Eilein and is also a member of Creative Cairngorms.
Reviewed 9 April 2018

This is a great spot to refuel after a walk or ride. The car park is a handy start point for trails nearby.

1  Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to write this great review - thank you. Hope to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Dropped in on good Friday for mid afternoon hot drinks and cake. Got a table no problem, but think we were lucky as it was very busy. Nice hot drinks and my scone was really tasty. Husband opted for the Easter rocky road, which was a massive slice, we couldn't finish it! Very rich - the cola bottle additions in it were a bit random, and tbh spoiled it.

Lovely wee gift shop too.

We had just arrived in the area so got a little tourist advice from the shop, though obviously it was aimed at things within the business. Bought a walking map for £1.50...and ended up getting another of the same free when parking at Loch an Eilein the next day anyway!

Thank Dizzyelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for writing this helpful review; we’re delighted you enjoyed the Druie but sorry you found the Rocky Road too rich and didn’t like the lemon jellies, (not cola bottles!). We have passed on your comments to Julie - our brilliant, very inventive baker.

Our team at Rothiemurchus Centre ‘Welcome’ Desk’ do offer visitors general Countryside information, however, nearly everyone just want information about enjoying Rothiemurchus, so at very busy times such as Easter weekend they often assume.

An Explorer card with discounts and parking for at Loch an Eilein should have been included when you bought your walks map at the Centre; I apologise, the Loch an Eilein car park attendant would not necessarily have realised you already had one and rather than ask, automatically given you another. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Wrote an average review for the Druie a year ago on Easter Monday. Decided to give it another chance today (Easter Sunday). Sadly no better.....
The rothiemurchus estate website stated that there would be no outside service on 31st March or 1st April. However after complaining about our one hour and ten minute wait for food (with two toddlers) we were told by the waitress that it’s always a long wait when outside service is on. When our food did arrive we had to send one sandwich back as the bread was stale. COME ON! How long does it take to get something right???? This is a lovely building in beautiful surroundings but sadly we will not be giving it another chance after the dreadful service and food received today.

Thank rrrosielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We are very sorry about your experience at The Druie on Easter Sunday - thank you for telling us. It was not good enough, especially to be served a sandwich that was not to the standard we would want to serve you or you should expect.

As you are probably aware the weather has been 'arctic' so we had not planned or had the staff available to offer meals outside as only the hardiest dog owners wanted to sit there. When it turned out to be such a glorious day and we had many people expecting to eat outside, rather than disappoint we decided to offer full service outside as well as inside.

One of the challenges of the outside area is that it is more challenging to manage as naturally people sit down when they see a space, so we can't stagger the orders; our kitchen space is very restricted and we were unexpectedly overwhelmed by orders for hot dishes. After nineteen orders within 15 minutes, we thought we had warned everyone that there would be a long wait so they could choose if they wanted to stay. I’m afraid you must have been one of the nineteen and we may not have started warning when you ordered.

Thank you for letting us know that your child’s sandwich had become dry waiting for the hot food to be ready, we then changed the system - we’re very sorry. Our team are incredibly committed to ensuring every customer has a really good experience which is why they remember you. They are upset that you and your family did not.

We realise this explanation does not make up for your experience but hopefully you’ll realise that we are aware of the problem and in future we will think carefully about serving meals outside as well as inside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Had lunch there on Sat 24th March. Friendly fast service. Both our meals were excellent and good sized portions. I highly recommend Julie’s Toasted fruit loaf. Have been to eat here many times and have never been disappointed. Recommended.

1  Thank lonelyplanetnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

We ae delighted you enjoyed your lunch, thank you very much for this great review. We appreciate you taking the time to write this - it means a great deal to our committed team who had a challenging weekend. We hope to welcome you back to The Druie soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

The Druie is in Rothiemurchus, just outside Aviemore. My favourite place to have lunch and coffee.

Always busy and worth a short wait for a table.

Homemade soup is good, roast beef sandwiches are amazing and lovely coffee.

Just make sure you have time and not in a rush as it’s a busy wee place.

1  Thank Cathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothiescot, Manager at The Druie, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to write this very helpful review - thank you. We try our hardest to minimise the wait and have interesting and amusing things for people to look at until they are called. So glad you enjoy the Druie and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Druie also viewed

Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to The Druie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing