We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
FindHotel
US$177
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/01/22
Etrip
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,164)
Filter reviews
2,164 results
Traveller rating
554
586
521
294
209
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
554
586
521
294
209
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soft play santa weekend wave machine aspects restaurant evening entertainment great facilities great weekend short break bunk beds cinema highlands steakhouse panto lodge reindeer snow landmark
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 2,164 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2021

We stayed at the Aviemore Hotel last week with our two dogs.
From start to finish we were welcomed by all the staff.
The receptionist always had a smile on his face (even below his mask) and nothing was too much trouble
The night reception was always welcoming even after long hours.
We were impressed by the dining room manager welcoming us by name and bringing water bowls for our dogs.
The room was large and breakfast had plenty of choice.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2021

We visited for a weekend break at short notice. Switched from a Booking.com booking to direct with hotel and saved £20 per night, which was good.

First impressions were that the hotel is a bit shabby. Reminds me of places I stayed for work 20 years ago, in style and quality. Lights in the car park and path to reception weren't working. Room was ok but shower room was very small and no pegs to hang your clothes while you're in there. No fridge, limited sockets (if you sleep on the left side of the bed you have nowhere to plug your phone in, the only place to plug the kettle in was on a bedside table, the put-up bed for a child was right below a useful double socket so that was out of action if they were in bed).

We ate at Giovanni's one night and Aspects the next. Very slow service at Giovanni's. Waited at least 20 mins with dirty plates and had to ask for dessert menu twice. Aspects was better but no sign of a kids buffet that others had mentioned. Breakfast in the hotel was fine. Hot food, toast, cereal, fruit, pastries, juice etc.

We very much enjoyed the pool and soft play. Take a £1 coin for lockers. Shame that the soft play cafe and the other play time are closed at the moment. The activity centre is the far side of the site from the Aviemore hotel so takes 5+ mins to walk over.

For a hotel in the Cairngorms so close to lots of excellent cycling country e.g. Rothiemurchas the hotel is very lacking in facilities for cyclists. There are no secure bike stores. We were allowed to leave our bikes in a store room near reception - full of laundry trollies and discarded crockery and glassware. We had to borrow a broom from reception to sweep up all the broken glass. And there was nothing to lock bikes to. The other option we were given was a locked storage room in the conference centre 5 mins away but the reception is not manned 24 hours so we didn't want our bikes to be inaccessible. Also the route around the site is set up just for cars. A bit of work to make it cycle friendly would be most appreciated.
Photos of "store room for bikes" (with broken glass), pool and soft play.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Livia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2021

Booked this hotel but changed to the Morlich. Checked in and was told we had been bumped down to the Aviemore Hotel as there was a conference on and they took priority. Really? Put into a family room on the first floor and it was disgusting. Carpet was filthy and different shades where it was worn, bed sheets dirty, the beds themselves were ripped and torn at the corners, the chair was all stained. Sagging bed. Complained and moved room. Management couldn’t care less. We were basically told that the conference took priority and they had to move us. No contact to let us know that this was happening. No apology. Didn’t even say sorry. One male manager (I forgot his name) did offer us a bottle of Prosecco. However in hindsight, they could have done more.

The new room was much better although, was covered in flies. Couldn’t sleep at night for them buzzing around the room.

On the plus side the staff were very friendly and attentive. The restaurant was excellent and the food delicious. Although a very limited menu. Breakfast was either a cooked breakfast or cereal. No meats, fish or selection of fresh fruit.

The language from the conference in the restaurant did leave a lot to be desired though.

This hotel does take bus tours so it was very very busy in reception and in the breakfast buffet.

The hotel is generally very run down and desperately needs money spend on decorating and a deep clean.

***This is definitely not a 4* hotel and the MacDonald group should be ashamed of themselves.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank colzo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2021

My husband stayed in this hotel at the end of August, while the hotel appeared clean it was far from COVID compliant. Open self serve breakfast area and many residents not wearing masks in the communal areas. As a precaution took test on returning home and immediately tested positive on both lateral flow and subsequent PCR test - so track and trace aware. Wanted to add this to endorse the comments of the other people who had similar experiences.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raf Grzemski , General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2021

Dear dorainn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. We are extremely disappointed to hear that you felt our COVID safety measures weren’t as you would have expected. We’ve actually had lots of really positive feedback in terms of how well we’re doing and going above and beyond the current guidelines. It’s certainly not what we would expect or want our guests to feel during their stay with us. Our standard practice continues to include increased levels of deep cleaning before and after guests depart, reduced contact with guest rooms whilst the guest is staying with us, COVID signage throughout our resort, cleaning stations at multiple touch points and our staff all wearing face coverings (unless they are exempt, behind a screen or outdoors). We take our COVID standards very seriously and would like to reassure you of this. I will make a point of sharing your experience with our senior management team to ensure we are making each and every one of our guests feel safe and secure during their stay with us. We appreciate your taking the time to give us this feedback.

Macdonald Aviemore Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2021

We spent a week at the Macdonald Aviemore Hotel in August 2021 with two kids under 10.

The Aviemore resort itself comprises of a number of hotels in addition to leisure and conference facilities.

The swimming pool and the soft play area for kids is fantastic. There is a slide and a wave machine in the pool and our family visited various times and had a great time.

The on site shop is fantastic and is huge for a hotel retail site.

We ate in both Giovanni's and Aspects restaurant. Giovanni's Italian restaurant was excellent and would highly recommend. Aspects also had a children's buffet which was great. The adult food in the Aspect's restaurant is variable and could be greatly improved and I'm not sure we would choose to eat here on a return visit. In Aspects the service was also very slow at times.

The interiors of the rooms and the hotels public areas were modern and clean. We stayed in a family room which had a modern interior and was comfortable.

Having read some previous negative reviews on here before our trip we were quite worried about going but the hotel is good and we were happy with the resort when we arrived. Some of the hotel buildings are older and need updating and look quite unloved from the outside and I can understand why that would put people off.

There were other improvements that could be made as well:

Our room had a cracked bath and one (of the 2) TV's in or family room was faulty. Not sure why these have been left un-repaired and this shouldn't have been the case for the price we paid.

Also a number of the free kids activities were cancelled during our stay - not great in the middle of the summer holidays and there was no public information given the this had happened. We just found out when we turned up. In addition, in our hotel the Spey burger restaurant was closed throughout and the bar didn't open on 2 nights during our stay.

Overall we had a good time here and would recommend it for a stay but I do feel the price we paid for our dinner, bed and breakfast package was high for the standard of the hotel. I would return but I would only consider it a better price. The other hotels on site (the Morlich and the Highland) have had significantly more improvements to their public areas done so perhaps if the 'look' of a hotel is important to you I'd choose one of these properties over the Aviemore hotel.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews